We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of The Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife an I spent four nights as part of a coach trip. Both of us having mobility problems we were told everything was on one level with a lift from reception to all floors. No one told us threre were a flight of stairs to climb before getting to reception. Despite advising our tour operator of our wish for a ground floor room and my wifes dietry needs we were allocated a fourth floor room at the end of a corridor in what we can only describe as a box room overlooking the High Street. The room needed a good lick of paint and the carpets were threadbare and torn. On the first night we were refused entrance to the dining room as we were five minutes early, ten minutes later we still couldnt gain access so walked across the road from the hotel to Bellamy's Bistro where we well looked after with an extesnive menu. In fact we ate there every night of our stay. My wifes dietry needs were catered for at breakfast with a box of gluten free cereal and soya milk. Apart from the dining room experience we found the majority of staff friendly and helpful. The hotel would benefit from a makeover and an update.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lodgealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    94
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
70
114
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Ocean Hotel on the sea front at Sandown is a wonderful place to stay - the sea in front, and the shops right behind. On arrival the hotel seemed slightly old fashioned, it was built in Edwardian times and much of the interior is original. Our week's stay couldn't have been bettered. The staff are friendly and helpful, the room was huge and comfortable, the food delicious and everything that could be done to make us feel welcome had been considered. The meals are served in a light and pleasant dining room, plenty of choice and cheerful waitresses. Evening entertainment is provided. You can sit in the gardens on swim in the outdoor pool, all very relaxed. This is not a cheap holiday, and there seemed some difference between prices paid by coach parties and private guests, which maybe should be considered. However it was worth every penny and I should love to go back again one day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy in the mornings. Rooms in the front have wonderful views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colduk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were booked into the Ocean Hotel, Sandown with Shearings and the experience was somewhat unique.
Remember woodchip wallpaper? All over! The creaking floors were more than a match in volume for my arthritic knees, and the ill fitting and rattling doors on room 90 were worthy of a haunted house. The creaking floors made the rooms burglar proof I would imagine. Might be worth a patent application?
The (very expensive) 8 day holiday, (Shearings dropped the price by £167 per head right after we booked), was saved from disaster by the very friendly staff at the Ocean. Nothing was too much trouble, and the position of the hotel, about twenty yards from the beach, couldn't be bettered. Our 'premier' room (Shearings description), overlooked the Main Street, and if you like an early morning call I guarantee the traffic noise will have you up with the larks. We also, according to Shearings, enjoyed 'premier' dining, although as we ate with everyone else, from the same menu, I'm still not sure what this means?
The Ocean Hotel is just a 'two star', and certainly lives up to it, but we still enjoyed our seven night stay which was worth every penny of £334 pounds. Shame we paid £500 plus.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must here. Rooms overlooking the High Street are very noisy and because there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deadeye202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went to The Ocean Hotel Sandown Isle of White early May with my husband. Everything about this hotel was excellent. The staff were so helpful and courteous nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was clean and very spacious. Large en suite. Plenty of tea and coffee. The food was lovely and a very good selection also waitress service not buffet which makes all the difference. The view from our room overlooked The Solent it was amazing. Even the weather was good.

Room Tip: Choose room with sea view well worth the extra few pounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A fabulous hotel located in an idyllic setting,beach and shops right on your doorstep.spotlessly clean inside and out,staff friendly and very helpful and a massive hi to phil and martin for being great barmen.food was great,hot and delicious and well served.We had a seaview room but when we return hopefully we will get a balcony.Thanks for making our holiday brilliant

Room Tip: seaview a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights we had a sea view room the views over the sea and beach where worth every penny .The room was bright and spotlessly clean the food in the restaurant was very good the gardens and the outdoor pool where an absolute joy to be in .Apart from the fantastic location of the hotel what really makes it are the staff,they are so happy and helpful and a massive thankyou to Phill ,Chris and the lady from reception for getting my dialysis equipment up to our room .We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Sea view 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUDLEY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed 30/6-4/7/14.Travelled on an escorted tour with husband.Payed a little extra for a seaview room and it was worth it.Overlooked pretty gardens pool and the English Channel.Some of the carpets and decor are a little tired away from the main reception rooms but our bedroom was more than adequate.Food was fine but not cordon blue.What made this place so nice was the staff,every single one worked so hard and always with a genuine smile on their faces.Thank you all.Entertainment also good every evening.Sandown quite small but an excell ent base for the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Opt to pay for a seaview room.Street side could be noisey in high season.Ours was no.83,lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Hotel

Property: The Ocean Hotel
Address: 38-40 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sandown
The Ocean Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing