We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best”
Review of The Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I have been to many hotels in Isle of Wight and this one is my favourite. The staff are wonderful. The entertainment was good most nights. The food was lovely and plenty available. The rooms are clean and comfrtable. If i was to pick one thing it would be i had a room overlooking the co op which is fine with me but the noise after the pubs shut was awful. My family member who had a seaview had no problems like this but i this is out of the hotels control. The hotel is really aimed at the older generation but being only 35 i still enjoyed it. The pool is very clean and the grounds are spotless. I would love to stay here again

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
6 Thank mandimoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    94
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
70
114
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sutton coldfield, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel recently and had a wonderful time. My bedroom looked out onto the high st but the room was bright, exceptionally clean and warm. Complementary tea/coffee to make in room daily.The bed and pillows were one of the best i`ve slept on! The decor of the hotel was lovely. In the lounge downstairs ample loungers and a real fire! The hotel staff including waiters, reception and bar staff polite and helpful. Stayed on half board basis and could not fault the food. There was too much of it! The hotel has a large garden which looks out to the sea and has ample deck chairs and a swimming pool. Good entertainment each evening, If there was anything (and it isnt a complaint) it was where my room was situated. It was down a very long corridor off the reception then up a small flight of stairs then a very steep flight. This would not be suitable for someone with a disability/walking problems as it cannot be reached by lift.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgd2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The Ocean can be likened to an aged duchess enjoying reduced means. It is a fine old building in need of constant maintenance and clearly undergoing improvement over time. It must be a costly business, as it is a large hotel standing proudly in pole position overlooking the beach at Sandown. Its location is second to none. A quick glance along the esplanade will tell you immediately that the Ocean is better cared for than many other establishments. Within, there are open fires in a decent bar area and a dining room boasting chandeliers and proper table linen. In parts, the hotel is looking tired, with faded and worn carpets, but our room, number 23, was spotlessly clean - compliments to the housekeeping staff. The room was comfortable and had the benefit of french doors and a balcony overlooking the esplanade. There is an additional charge for this, but the enjoyment of your holiday will be very much enhanced by paying the extra. Other staff in the hotel are friendly and extremely efficient, particularly in the dining room. We were part of a tour organised by the extremely fine Ellen Smith's company and, as such, were timetabled for our first evening meal. Customers retain the same table for meals throughout their stay. The dining room is cosy when full. The food was of a reasonable standard with four or so choices for each course. All courses and breakfast are served at the table, making it a good option for the less mobile. The hotel had several coach parties in at the same time, but are sufficiently well organised to deal with this. If we were to stay at Sandown again the Ocean would definitely be first choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank planeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This is a beautiful place to stay. All being well this will be our 4th time in 2010.We do only do B & B but how can you complain about the food, the entertainment (it never bothered us) when you can leave either onto the beach or onto the High Street and go where you wish.Admittedly a sea view room may make a lot of difference but the gardens and bar areas are safe and next to none for views.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PewterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Don't bother. They bus in coach loads of people, provide mediocre food and less than mediocre entertainment, and heaven help you if you should ask for a different room. Our 'family' room was obviously just a double room with bunk beds squeezed in. The shower needed to be fiddled with in order to work. I did ask for a different room and met with what can only be described as a hostile reception. They made no effort to find us another room even though I offered to pay for something bigger. I could hear someone in the office behind reception saying 'it's a family room, tell her it's a family room'.

However, the hotel and it's communal spaces are fine. The swimming pool is ok too, though when I went for a swim at 8.30 in the morning, all the loungers had been claimed with towels though there was not a soul in sight.

The waiting staff in the restaurant are the best thing about this hotel. They work hard morning and night and nothing is too much trouble for them.

I wouldn't go again. Ever.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank widebluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

This is a hotel / retirement home full of busloads of pensioners on their annual jollee. They obviously don't want wifi or a decent shower or the hotel would provide it. Rooms have fantastic seaviews and the pool is great coz its always empty. Entertainment is dire - bad country and western and cheesy crooners. Staff not very friendly and have a distanced 'conveyer belt' feel to customers. I'm not entirely sure they like having children there and perhaps they should note that their target market is literally dying out and they need to broaden their appeal. Food is horrible, coffee the worst I've ever tasted. In great spot though and has wonderful potential.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank memyselfiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

The Ocean is one of several hotels that gives good views along Sandown beach to which you have to pay extra to have sea facing room. The Ocean along with the others also have a noisy road at the
back so getting a sea view is essential to me. Also the Ocean has a car park for around 25 cars on a first come basis and can get full quickly. Coach parties do help to reduce the impact. There is also parking on the seafront currently £6.50 per day. (see photo with rates). Also the hotel can issue visitors all Island public parking for £5 a day (Min 2 days).

If you wish to go by car, speak to the hotels first as they have favourable rates with the ferries and will absorb the cost if you stay with them.

For those arriving on an early ferry we found the Morrison's at Lake did a superb breakfast I can
recommend it was the best I had.

After a late booking at the Ocean hotel my wife and I were given a large clean and tidy family room which turned out to be a bit quirky, as a long time ago another floor had been put in to accommodate more rooms resulting in us having the top half of of two arched windows. One window was sealed and the other only opened a small margin restricted by 6 inch chains. The room was warm when we arrived and I asked if longer chains could be fitted but health and safety was quoted by maintenance. I was offer a fan instead which I turned down. In fairness the room did cool down as the sun went around and did not unduly bother me but I would have liked it cooler the bed covers were not used by me. The room was clean and tidy the décor was 60s wood chip paper recently painted, hiding lumpy walls. The bathroom, however, had been recently renovated with new tiles and new suite.

There is a lift to all floors for the elderly

The dinners were served in nice surrounding although a little cramped

The dinners were fairly standard seaside hotel meals but generous portions and we were always served promptly.

The entertainment for me was like going to a 1950's wedding reception with the entertainers still playing the same numbers but for some of the clientèle it could have been a nostalgia trip.

Beach charges 2009 deck chairs £2, chair bed £3.50, umbrella £2, and windbreak £2 per day (no half days). The Ocean hotel does have a garden and a swimming pool with lots of deckchairs for your use but the garden has a high hedge stopping a view of the sea.

A number of restaurants in Sandown have opened this year making it possible to eat out

Summing up The grandeur it must have had in the past is looking tired but it is a nice clean hotel perfectly situated for the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DelboyAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Hotel

Property: The Ocean Hotel
Address: 38-40 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sandown
The Ocean Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing