We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELCOMING AND WELL MANAGED HOTEL”
Review of Marina Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Marina Bay Hotel the beginning of September on B&B basis- our first visit to the IoW. The hotel is very welcoming and comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent, good quality food, very well presented, and served with a smile. We stayed in room number 20 which had a nice sea view. The room was spacious and clean (although is awaiting re-decoration which we were told is ongoing), with a well equipped and modern shower room en-suite. The entertainment each night was a bonus we didn't expect and very enjoyable. Another bonus was the bar prices and the service. MANY THANKS TO ALL AT THE MARINA BAY FOR MAKING OUR STAY A PLEASANT ONE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Have just returned home after spending a week at this hotel and for the first time I don`t feel like I need another holiday to get over this one. First impressions are very important and the staff at this hotel pride themselves on this. The rooms although basic were very comfortable, en suite although small was adequate and all clean. The food was tasty and portions were substantial and the staff were always smiling and very helpful. Location very good for busses and with the beach across the road its an ideal place to stay .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The service was professonal and polite. Our room and ensuite was clean and modern although I did hear from another resident that their shower was dirty but was cleaned once reported. There was a good selection of meals including a childs menu and a vegetarian option which was great for me. The food was nice and served hot. They had entertainment in the evening which was mostly loved by the elderly residents, some of which got up and danced and my 7 year old daughter danced with them. They had a wide selection of drinks at the bar and was reasonably priced. We had a nice experience there. :)

Room Tip: The rooms with bath and shower tend to be cleaner than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I returned to visit the Marina Bay Hotel after a gap of about 4 years was dissapointed .on our previous visit so was very dubious but there was no need to worry. We were greeted off the coach by the owners son Manish who welcomed us we were given our keys to the room and they brought up our case for us.The room was nice and clean with lovely clean bedding and towels I had a word about the shower cubicle and was told it was to be replaced. When we went down for our meal it was served very quickly on arm plates and it was piping hot and there was plenty on the plate the waitress was brilliant, there was entertainment on every night except Thursday but they did play piped music and the drinks were resonable in price.
You just had to cross the road and you was on the beach which was cleaned each day.
i would recommend that you pay a visit if you are thinking of visiting the Isle of Wight in Sandown. Our 8 day trip was through Gee Vee Travel of Hillsborough.

Room Tip: The Sea View Rooms are excellent we had one one Christmas when we visited
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Went here with my mum and kids for a 3 night stay in June half term. The best thing about this hotel is the proximity to the sea. We had a lovely sea view room, it was clean but basic. The worst bit was the shower, although clean if more than one of us tried to have a shower it turned cold halfway through the second shower! Breakfast was ok, what you expect from this kind of holiday hotel. There was quite good entertainment in the evening and bar prices were reasonable. The staff were lovely and it's nice that it's a family run thing. There was a large coach party when we went and they were quite noisy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I had to write a review to say a big thank you to all the staff at Marina Bay!! The location of this hotel is amazing!!..On the beach front, next to sandown high street and lots of attractions! Service was absolutely tremendous, staff was extremely pleasant and handled both small and large requests with a smile. Room was perfect size for my family and are very comfortable and clean! In my opinion this is the perfect hotel for a break in the Isle of Wight!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This hotel did not disappoint, our stay at Marina Bay was very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was very clean and the live entertainment was great. I would highly recommend Marina Bay to anyone thinking of staying in Sandown. I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel

Address: 17 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £43 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing