We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed with groupon deal in July”
Review of Marina Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently returned from a lovely time of the Isle of Wight. We stayed at the hotel as part of a groupon deal.
After reading the reviews I was nervous! I had booked this for my boyfriends birthday, his last birthday was a spa hotel in Newquay and fantastic so going by what others had written made me worry this worry was for NOTHING!!! The hotel is clean! The staff are nothing but lovely, courteous, friendly and attentive!! We spoke to them to find out good places to visit and would chat about what we had seen and done and they were all attentive enough to remember and ask us if we had enjoyed it!

We are a young couple and admittidly the hotels guests while we were there were predominantly older, however this was no problem to us since we only stayed in the room to sleep and the rest of the time we were out at the beach or exploring.

The location is great, we had a sea front room which was lovely (I will attach pictures) when we came off the beach we were allowed to wash off the sand from our feet and store out inflatables (we wanted a dingy, but settled for ring lol) in the hall way out of the way of everyone.

There are some lovely restaurants walking distance.

We had a car and so were able to get out an explore, the staff were helpful with interesting places to visit and directions!

On my boyfriends birthday everyone remembered and wished him happy birthday which was lovely and they even brought us up some rose in an ice bucket before we headed out for a meal!!

Using the groupon voucher this was a fantastic deal and we would certainly return! If anything had not been to our liking we felt confident enough in the staff to have voiced our concerns to them and are sure they would have helped us out! You get what you give, the staff are lovely so we were honestly shocked to read what some people have written! The hotel was clean, our room especially! I enjoy writing reviews and must say this is one I have looke forward to writing the most because we had such a different experience to the majority that I felt it was important to write about what we experienced to give a more balanced view!

The only possible problems- The telly is small - but has freeview and we certainly don't go on holiday to watch the tv! However when we did watch a film it was fine!!! The food wasn't the best on the island but when you go somewhere its fun to explore...plus, its a 2 star hotel so you cant expect 5 star food, also, we're not the sort of couple that stays in the hotel and visits the same places.

Other than those two issues neither my boyfriend nor myself have anything negative to say.

A holiday is what you make it, and we had a great time!

Thank you to everyone at the hotel for having us and being so lovely!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thanks so much for writing an honest review for us.
We are so happy to hear you both had lovely time on the Island. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate a special day. By the way the cake was so yummy so thank you again.

We do try our hardest to look after all our customers and ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us. We would love to see you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We've just returned from a weeks holiday staying at the Marina Bay Hotel.
The staff were warm and welcoming from the moment of booking right up to departure. They could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We have a daughter who is under a year old and needed little extras like a high chair and things heated which were never a problem for the staff.
We enjoyed our breakfast every morning and also dined in the restaurant one evening too.
The hotel is ideally located on the beach front in Sandown and has lots of local attractions such as the isle of white zoo.
This hotel is clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandrews32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to post this review for us.

We appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We do try to ensure that we do offer the best customer service to all our guests and I'm glad you felt that during your stay.

We would love to see you again in the near future with you beautiful little girl.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our wknd break at IOW. We were a young couple staying at this hotel on a groupon and found this hotel clean and tidy. The staff were cheerful and helpful. We found the entertainment was aimed at the older generation which didn't worry us as we went off out to explore the island. We would return to this hotel at this price without a doubt...excellent location and a nice breaky to start our day :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jaylo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would consider staying with us again.

See you both soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

The owner part peolple by different races. When we had breakfast, we set in a dark corner with other Asian, and we can not choose the table. The breakfast time is short ,just half hours. The facilities are old and not very clean. They change the towel every 7 day and when we arrived I found faeces left in toilet. The location is perfect. Overall, it is a good place to stay if you want save money, but this experience is unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aurora0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for your comments. Firstly we do not part our customers by race. We seat them by party and meals they are having. During your stay we had a party of 50 that arrived before you and hence there were no seats at breakfast time in the main dining area however the annex part is not dark and is perfectly situated for just breakfast. The reason you can not choose where to sit is because you may choose someone else's table during their 7 night stay.
Secondly we are a two star hotel and hence are not required to increase the time slot for breakfast. We offer a cooked breakfast and not buffet. Again for a two star hotel we are not required to change towels daily during your two night stay.
Our public toilets are cleaned several times a day and find it surprising that if you had found it in such a state then you failed to inform us at the time.
We intend to look after all our customers and provide a friendly customer service as per the previous comments from other guests.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here last week with our two daughters during half term week. We bought as a Groupon and had two adult zoo tickets in with the deal too. We had seen the hotel on a previous visit to the island as it has a prime location right on the beach with a few free parking spaces outside. We arrived and were taken to our room and bags carried for us. The room was large enough for the four of us, clean and had enough storage. Twin beds fairly ok. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a hair dryer. There is only a small shower in this room which did make bathing our 3 year old a challenge when washing her hair. The room had a small window overlooking the back of the hotel and as the walls were painted blue, it did make the room a bit dark.

We had breakfast both mornings which was very nice. We were not able to choose our own table and were sat in the alcove. I would have preferred by the window, but I'm assuming we were sat there so the children would not disturb the other guests which was understandable. Our serving staff was excellent with the children. Breakfast and dinner is served at set times from a set menu. For dinner, the orders are taken at breakfast time.

There was entertainment on one of the nights which was good, but clearly aimed at the hotels clientele of more mature patrons.

The location of the hotel is fantastic with great views across the sea. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thanks for writing this review following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us and found our location perfect for the children to make most of the beach opposite.

We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast too.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Our son and daughter bought us a Groupon deal for Marina Bay for Mother's Day, we found a very friendly, attentive staffed hotel which was excellent value for money considering the cost of the Groupon deal. We had a lovely clean sea view room and found the hotel to be in an excellent location, and would particularly recommend the location if you are a beach holiday loving family. (IOW weather permitting) we went in April and couldn't complain. Food was good home cooked food and we enjoyed what we had. Would revisit either on a Groupon deal or on a normal rate holiday. Thank you to all at Marina Bay for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank C1areC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review for us.

We are glad you have a lovely stay. We do try to ensure our food is of good quality and well cooked. Our seaview rooms are lovely as they are larger than the others and I agree with great views.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We found this as a cut price deal on Groupon. We were very impressed with the welcome and the attention of the staff. Room was spatious warm and clean with a sea view. Food and drink were of a good standard, plentiful and reasonably priced. This is a proper 'old fashioned' seaside hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BobJargesStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are glad you enjoyed your meals too. And also found our seaview rooms spacious.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel

Address: 17 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing