We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
110
121
53
25
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
121
53
25
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opposite the beach sea view family run hotel on arrival great weekend brilliant location coach party bar prices long weekend bed was comfortable choice of food thoroughly enjoyed our stay nothing is too much trouble high street entertainment island pint
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We've just returned from a weeks holiday staying at the Marina Bay Hotel.
The staff were warm and welcoming from the moment of booking right up to departure. They could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We have a daughter who is under a year old and needed little extras like a high chair and things heated which were never a problem for the staff.
We enjoyed our breakfast every morning and also dined in the restaurant one evening too.
The hotel is ideally located on the beach front in Sandown and has lots of local attractions such as the isle of white zoo.
This hotel is clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandrews32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to post this review for us.

We appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We do try to ensure that we do offer the best customer service to all our guests and I'm glad you felt that during your stay.

We would love to see you again in the near future with you beautiful little girl.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our wknd break at IOW. We were a young couple staying at this hotel on a groupon and found this hotel clean and tidy. The staff were cheerful and helpful. We found the entertainment was aimed at the older generation which didn't worry us as we went off out to explore the island. We would return to this hotel at this price without a doubt...excellent location and a nice breaky to start our day :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jaylo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would consider staying with us again.

See you both soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

The owner part peolple by different races. When we had breakfast, we set in a dark corner with other Asian, and we can not choose the table. The breakfast time is short ,just half hours. The facilities are old and not very clean. They change the towel every 7 day and when we arrived I found faeces left in toilet. The location is perfect. Overall, it is a good place to stay if you want save money, but this experience is unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aurora0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for your comments. Firstly we do not part our customers by race. We seat them by party and meals they are having. During your stay we had a party of 50 that arrived before you and hence there were no seats at breakfast time in the main dining area however the annex part is not dark and is perfectly situated for just breakfast. The reason you can not choose where to sit is because you may choose someone else's table during their 7 night stay.
Secondly we are a two star hotel and hence are not required to increase the time slot for breakfast. We offer a cooked breakfast and not buffet. Again for a two star hotel we are not required to change towels daily during your two night stay.
Our public toilets are cleaned several times a day and find it surprising that if you had found it in such a state then you failed to inform us at the time.
We intend to look after all our customers and provide a friendly customer service as per the previous comments from other guests.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here last week with our two daughters during half term week. We bought as a Groupon and had two adult zoo tickets in with the deal too. We had seen the hotel on a previous visit to the island as it has a prime location right on the beach with a few free parking spaces outside. We arrived and were taken to our room and bags carried for us. The room was large enough for the four of us, clean and had enough storage. Twin beds fairly ok. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a hair dryer. There is only a small shower in this room which did make bathing our 3 year old a challenge when washing her hair. The room had a small window overlooking the back of the hotel and as the walls were painted blue, it did make the room a bit dark.

We had breakfast both mornings which was very nice. We were not able to choose our own table and were sat in the alcove. I would have preferred by the window, but I'm assuming we were sat there so the children would not disturb the other guests which was understandable. Our serving staff was excellent with the children. Breakfast and dinner is served at set times from a set menu. For dinner, the orders are taken at breakfast time.

There was entertainment on one of the nights which was good, but clearly aimed at the hotels clientele of more mature patrons.

The location of the hotel is fantastic with great views across the sea. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thanks for writing this review following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us and found our location perfect for the children to make most of the beach opposite.

We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast too.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Our son and daughter bought us a Groupon deal for Marina Bay for Mother's Day, we found a very friendly, attentive staffed hotel which was excellent value for money considering the cost of the Groupon deal. We had a lovely clean sea view room and found the hotel to be in an excellent location, and would particularly recommend the location if you are a beach holiday loving family. (IOW weather permitting) we went in April and couldn't complain. Food was good home cooked food and we enjoyed what we had. Would revisit either on a Groupon deal or on a normal rate holiday. Thank you to all at Marina Bay for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank C1areC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review for us.

We are glad you have a lovely stay. We do try to ensure our food is of good quality and well cooked. Our seaview rooms are lovely as they are larger than the others and I agree with great views.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews