We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
108
121
50
24
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
121
50
24
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gee vee isle of wight opposite the beach sea view family run hotel on arrival great weekend brilliant location coach party bar prices long weekend bed was comfortable sea front excellent value for money choice of food thoroughly enjoyed our stay my mum
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently returned from a lovely time of the Isle of Wight. We stayed at the hotel as part of a groupon deal.
After reading the reviews I was nervous! I had booked this for my boyfriends birthday, his last birthday was a spa hotel in Newquay and fantastic so going by what others had written made me worry this worry was for NOTHING!!! The hotel is clean! The staff are nothing but lovely, courteous, friendly and attentive!! We spoke to them to find out good places to visit and would chat about what we had seen and done and they were all attentive enough to remember and ask us if we had enjoyed it!

We are a young couple and admittidly the hotels guests while we were there were predominantly older, however this was no problem to us since we only stayed in the room to sleep and the rest of the time we were out at the beach or exploring.

The location is great, we had a sea front room which was lovely (I will attach pictures) when we came off the beach we were allowed to wash off the sand from our feet and store out inflatables (we wanted a dingy, but settled for ring lol) in the hall way out of the way of everyone.

There are some lovely restaurants walking distance.

We had a car and so were able to get out an explore, the staff were helpful with interesting places to visit and directions!

On my boyfriends birthday everyone remembered and wished him happy birthday which was lovely and they even brought us up some rose in an ice bucket before we headed out for a meal!!

Using the groupon voucher this was a fantastic deal and we would certainly return! If anything had not been to our liking we felt confident enough in the staff to have voiced our concerns to them and are sure they would have helped us out! You get what you give, the staff are lovely so we were honestly shocked to read what some people have written! The hotel was clean, our room especially! I enjoy writing reviews and must say this is one I have looke forward to writing the most because we had such a different experience to the majority that I felt it was important to write about what we experienced to give a more balanced view!

The only possible problems- The telly is small - but has freeview and we certainly don't go on holiday to watch the tv! However when we did watch a film it was fine!!! The food wasn't the best on the island but when you go somewhere its fun to explore...plus, its a 2 star hotel so you cant expect 5 star food, also, we're not the sort of couple that stays in the hotel and visits the same places.

Other than those two issues neither my boyfriend nor myself have anything negative to say.

A holiday is what you make it, and we had a great time!

Thank you to everyone at the hotel for having us and being so lovely!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thanks so much for writing an honest review for us.
We are so happy to hear you both had lovely time on the Island. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate a special day. By the way the cake was so yummy so thank you again.

We do try our hardest to look after all our customers and ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us. We would love to see you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We've just returned from a weeks holiday staying at the Marina Bay Hotel.
The staff were warm and welcoming from the moment of booking right up to departure. They could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We have a daughter who is under a year old and needed little extras like a high chair and things heated which were never a problem for the staff.
We enjoyed our breakfast every morning and also dined in the restaurant one evening too.
The hotel is ideally located on the beach front in Sandown and has lots of local attractions such as the isle of white zoo.
This hotel is clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandrews32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to post this review for us.

We appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We do try to ensure that we do offer the best customer service to all our guests and I'm glad you felt that during your stay.

We would love to see you again in the near future with you beautiful little girl.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our wknd break at IOW. We were a young couple staying at this hotel on a groupon and found this hotel clean and tidy. The staff were cheerful and helpful. We found the entertainment was aimed at the older generation which didn't worry us as we went off out to explore the island. We would return to this hotel at this price without a doubt...excellent location and a nice breaky to start our day :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jaylo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would consider staying with us again.

See you both soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

The owner part peolple by different races. When we had breakfast, we set in a dark corner with other Asian, and we can not choose the table. The breakfast time is short ,just half hours. The facilities are old and not very clean. They change the towel every 7 day and when we arrived I found faeces left in toilet. The location is perfect. Overall, it is a good place to stay if you want save money, but this experience is unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aurora0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for your comments. Firstly we do not part our customers by race. We seat them by party and meals they are having. During your stay we had a party of 50 that arrived before you and hence there were no seats at breakfast time in the main dining area however the annex part is not dark and is perfectly situated for just breakfast. The reason you can not choose where to sit is because you may choose someone else's table during their 7 night stay.
Secondly we are a two star hotel and hence are not required to increase the time slot for breakfast. We offer a cooked breakfast and not buffet. Again for a two star hotel we are not required to change towels daily during your two night stay.
Our public toilets are cleaned several times a day and find it surprising that if you had found it in such a state then you failed to inform us at the time.
We intend to look after all our customers and provide a friendly customer service as per the previous comments from other guests.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here last week with our two daughters during half term week. We bought as a Groupon and had two adult zoo tickets in with the deal too. We had seen the hotel on a previous visit to the island as it has a prime location right on the beach with a few free parking spaces outside. We arrived and were taken to our room and bags carried for us. The room was large enough for the four of us, clean and had enough storage. Twin beds fairly ok. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a hair dryer. There is only a small shower in this room which did make bathing our 3 year old a challenge when washing her hair. The room had a small window overlooking the back of the hotel and as the walls were painted blue, it did make the room a bit dark.

We had breakfast both mornings which was very nice. We were not able to choose our own table and were sat in the alcove. I would have preferred by the window, but I'm assuming we were sat there so the children would not disturb the other guests which was understandable. Our serving staff was excellent with the children. Breakfast and dinner is served at set times from a set menu. For dinner, the orders are taken at breakfast time.

There was entertainment on one of the nights which was good, but clearly aimed at the hotels clientele of more mature patrons.

The location of the hotel is fantastic with great views across the sea. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thanks for writing this review following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us and found our location perfect for the children to make most of the beach opposite.

We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast too.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews