We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
bridgnorth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have just returned from a 10 night stay in this hotel. As a businessman who spends a lot of time tied to a hotel room the Marina Bay ticked all the boxes. The room was clean, the cleaning staff were very helpful and asked every day if i required anything. The girls were most pleasant. The Owner, his Son and Wife were very pleasant and always happy to sit and have a chat. The food was always fresh, hot and with a good variety, i stayed full board which is something i don't useually do. The cost was very good, i have paid a lot more for 4 star and not got the service or the value i got at Marina Bay. The waiting staff were very attentive and always ask if everything is ok and do you require anything else. I can assure all at Marina Bay i will be back. The view from the decking is awesome and ideal for a pint and a place to relax after work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi,
Thanks for taking time to write a lengthy review for us.
We are pleased to hear you had a fab time at the hotel even though you were here for business.
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    112
    43
    21
    19
See reviews for
49
110
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We visited the hotel August bank holiday,for the scooter rally, we found the hotel, very clean, very welcoming.The hotel has an excellent location, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Manager at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for writing a positive review for us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us that you will be returning again next year.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Thanks for a short break in comfortable, clean, spacious room with lovely sea view. Service was friendly and efficient. Would recommend and hope to stay again.It was good to find this hotel to use as a base for meeting our friends and family who live on the Island and combine this with some time for ourselves. We also very much enjoyed our visit to Sandown Zoo.

Room Tip: Paid extra for sea view room. As we live in a city we found it worth while as we liked waking up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi,

Thanks for writing a lovely review, we are pleased to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us.
And thank you for recommending us to your friends and family.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the stay. Great location. Excellent value with groupon voucher and filling breakfast included. Son loved Amazon world which was included.

Only negatives, really needed heating to be on. The showers have very poor pressure, some mould and ceiling too. Room smelt musty to left window open which made it colder, hence need heating on.

Service good and very polite managers. Large room with clean well made beds and adequate size TV for some entertainment when not out and about.

For the price, perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking time to write a review for us.

We are really pleased to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us. It's a shame to hear that you would have liked the heating to be on. As if you had asked us during your stay then we are always happy provide you with a heater for your room.
We do have a refurb plan in place and your room is currently next on the list, that side of the hotel has now mostly been completed so I do appreciate your comments. However it does take some time refurbishing all the rooms throughout a busy summer period.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, we were only meant to stay for two but enjoyed it alot. The room was small but fine for just the two of us. The breakfast was VERY nice. Beds very comfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant at night but if the breakfast is anything to go by am sure it is nice. The hotel staff are very friendly and they even phoned and changed our ferry booking to accommodate our extra nights stay. The hotel is ideally situated on the beach front and we walked along the coast every evening before enjoying the hotel entertainment. We will almost certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 111claire666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for writing a review for us.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us that you ended up staying the extra night. You will be pleased to hear we have just completed a refurb for the room that you were in including the bathroom. So please do come back and stay again and check out the new room.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Pleasant stay. Make sure you book to the refurbished rooms. Helpful staff, family run. Large rooms which makes it useful with our toddler! Would stay again. Opposite the beach. Book a window room because there is nothing to see on the other side!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for taking time to write this review.

We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay with us. We are trying to refurb our rooms one by one and we have do quite a lot of work this year, just takes time with the size of the hotel. We are glad to hear the size of the room suited you well as you stayed with a beautiful toddler.

We hope to see you again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was the first time we had ever been on this type of holiday, on a coach with trips included. I had looked up the hotel before we went and had an open mind. All we want is a roof over our heads, clean conditions and polite staff. We received all these and more at the Marina Bay Hotel. Althoigh it is only 2 star, the location is 5 star!. Across the road was the best beach on the island and within walking distance of all amusements you could want.
Our double room was on the top floor of the hotel and we found it spotless albeit basic. The wall mounted T.V. was small but who goes away to watch T.V.? The bed was comfortable and was made every day. There was ample space for clothes etc. The bathroom consisted of shower but no bath but that was OK with us. The towels were replenished every day, personally I find unnecessary, but it happens in all hotels. The tea and coffee making facilities were stocked up daily. Although the hotel does not have air con (it is only 2 star) the room had a ceiling fan which we had to use each night as we were lucky enough to have very warm weather during our stay.
The meal times I found a little regimented, breakfast between .8.30.- 9.00a.m. and dinner 6.30-7.00p.m. Having said that, the menu was varied with a good selection of dishes, all home cooked and tasty. We always left the table feeling satisfied, never hungry.
I wasn't too bothered with the cabarets, a bit old fashioned for my taste.
Overall, we thought the hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were always pleasant and smiling, very helpful, and hard working.
I think it is sad that some people complain over every little thing. I never expect anyone to kowtow to my every need and am happy to have a holiday away from everyday chores, cooking and cleaning etc. We thought the hotel was ideal and enjoyed ourselves very much.Thank you to all concerned, hope to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JennyD1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review for us.
We are pleased your first coach trip to us was a good experience. We do try and provide and efficient service.
We very much hope you would consider another coach holiday to us again.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel

Property: Marina Bay Hotel
Address: 17 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing