We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel From Hell”
Review of Marina Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Gloucester, united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel From Hell”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Went to this hotel on 14th October, owners unfriendly, rooms dreadful, meals awful and had to be told where to sit, breakfast at 8.30 evening meal at 6.30, no leeway had to wait for bell to be rung before we could sit down, towels only changed once a week. Asked for a quiet table as my friend is diabetic and has to inject herself, they put us in the middle of the restaurant. I asked to change my room but no assistance was given although I had to go up a flight of stairs. My advice do not book their. M.Kerry - 14th Oct to 18th Oct 2013

Room Tip: Pay extra to upgrade to a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    112
    45
    21
    22
See reviews for
51
113
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have just come back home after spending 3 nights at Marina Bay Hotel, Sandown. Very friendly, family-run hotel, warm and comfortable, excellent food and plenty of it. Excellent service and value for money and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable three-night stay at Marina Bay Hotel and we are quite happy to have been there. Very many seaside hotels need renovation work, and this one is no different; yes, it is a bit 'tired', however the Marina Bay has a good staff and a good basis of infrastructure. Yes, the rooms could be more spacious; yes, some paintwork was flaking in the en-suite, but hey, we paid a very good price for an absolutely excellent stay. Staff helpful, food reasonable and entertainment good - especially the wonderful Amy Louise; a natural entertainer and someone at BBC Light Entertainment (or whatever it's called this week) should spot. It was great value and the coachload of ol' codgers we were with all had a good time. If you are a reasonable person on a budget, I recommend a stay at this hotel. If you are a sour-faced ol'moaner with champagne tastes and beer money, don't go there and expect The Grosvenor House standards. Thank you to everyone at the Marina Bay, you did a good job. We hope that you didn't mind putting up with us noisy lot.

Room Tip: Front rooms are nicer if you you want to gaze out of the window. Be nice to the staff and they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

i take a coach party of friends and we have had the most brilliant time family run with a lovely home from home food excellent and entertainment too if you want to take a coach party they were ace welcoming and absolutely great we have just got home and we cant praise them enough and if you think im gushing why not go there yourself great with a capital g

Room Tip: they all said how comfortable they were
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Groupon deal which was an excellent price. on arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner,went with friends, sea view room and the view was excellent,clean rooms,run by young family,very helpful.evening meals average,breakfast good,very good location,would go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Binda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just got back from a 5 day trip to the Marina Bay Hotel with a coach trip so I cannot say exactly what it cost. However, what I can say is whatever it was , it was too much!I cannot believe how inacurate the other reviews have been for this hotel.First the good points: it has a commanding position overlooking the beach in Sandown, the waiting staff in the restaurant are very hardworking and professional with a charming manner, the bedding and towels were of good quality and clean.Breakfasts were pretty good, hot and as ordered. Unfortunately I have now run out of good things to say. If I hadn't been with a large party I would have left after the first night. The whole hotel is very tired and 'done up' to a minimal standard with poor painting and repair. When we arrived in our very pokey double bedroom the towel rail was on the floor, the wardrobe was only standing because it was leaning against the wall, there was rust and mould in the bathroom, the net curtains had holes in them, the hairdryer was melted in its wall socket.The fire doors in the upstairs corridor which should have been shut were pinned open.Evening meals are best described as adequate for nutrition but lacking in flair or flavour. I suspect they were boil in the bag with packet soups and custards made with water. Cheese and biscuits consisted of 3 biscuits with a small slab of prepacked cheddar still in its little wrapping- the sort you would give a child in his lunchbox.Our friends fared even worse with a broken cold shower for 3 nights. Another lady had the ceiling falling in. I could go on but you must get the idea by now. The owners, listen to complaints and make meagre attempts to put it right without actually doing what is required. There are much better places to go in the I of W.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sanwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Myself and my boyfriend booked a 2 night stay through a Groupon deal which was an excellent price. on arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner, all times of the meals were explained to us. i was pleased with the room, we had paid extra for a sea view room and the view was excellent. the room itself was fine, had everything you needed, the mattress could have done with updating as it was quite uncomfortable. The only thing that was a bit strange was the room itself was quite dated whereas the bathroom was very modern with a brilliant shower, if the rest of the room was up to that standard i would have nothing to moan about.

Breakfast was lovely! quite a short window to get up in the morning between half 8-9 but that wasn't a problem. service was quick and the breakfast was very nice with a good selection and the staff were more than happy to alter any dish to suit.

really haven't got any major complaints at all. i think its a perfect hotel for a short getaway and its location couldn't be better! right on the beach front, a stone throw away from the Sandown Pier.

All in all, we had a great time! thank you very much!

Room Tip: I would recommend a sea view room, beautiful sounds of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roxyandjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for your review.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and loved your seaview room.
I'm not really sure what you found dated in the room, as the rooms had just recently been painted white with a modern wall paper put only on one wall.
Glad to hear another person commenting on how our breakfast service was fast and how it tasted lovely. We would love to see you both again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel

Property: Marina Bay Hotel
Address: 17 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing