We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill”
Review of Marina Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Here with gee-vee coaches. Very welcoming staff and all very helpful and friendly. Meals have been excellent and a plenty of choice. At breakfast even if you want something that is not on the menu the staff are very helpful and will do their upmost to give you what you require, had a brill waiter who you could have a laugh with. The hotel has been very warm even with the weather we have had. The hotel is very clean. We have had some kind of entertainment every night.And we will be back judith and Ruth.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for taking time to write a review for us.
We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely stay.
And we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Marina Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here with a coach party and had a great time. The hotel was warm and cosy despite the very stormy weather outside. The room was clean and serviced daily, the towels weren't changed during our stay but we were quite happy about that as it wasn't necessary. There was a limited choice of food but plenty of it. The waitresses worked very hard and looked after us well.
Entertainment was provided each evening, all singers but all very different with a great choice of music to get a few of us up and dancing.
The Marina bay is just across the road from the beach and within easy access to other parts of the island by bus. We went to Shanklin which is only 15 mins away and Ryde 30 mins away.
This break with Just Go was exceptional value for money, would definitely consider returning.
Many thanks to all at Marina Bay, hope to see you again...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which was fine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks for writing a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My mum & I have just returned from a weekend break at the Marina Bay (14th-17th Feb). We found the room to be very clean & warm. The staff are welcoming and very helpful. Alway got time for a chat. The food was nicely presented and cooked well. The drinks at the bar are very reasonable. The entertainment was excellent. Especially Jules on Saturday night. Her Shirley Bassey impression was fantastic. I would recommend this hotel and I will stay here again on my next visit to the Isle of Wight. Thank you for a great weekend Marina Bay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FananneEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks for taking time to write this review.

We are pleased to hear you had a lovely time and glad you enjoyed our entertainment too.
We are a family run business and do try to make customers feel at home so thanks for recommending us.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

came by coach with gee-vee agreat crowd we where welcomed very well and i was in room 5 the service we recieved was first class as was the food my room was cleaned every day and even the bins were also put new bags in every day which you do not find in many hotels the room is spotless when you came backthe room is so nice and warm after being out in the weather ? also the food was served by a very nice and polite girl she was also first class my stay 100% and i hope i will be going back in the near future many thanks to you and your staff J L Sisson

Room Tip: all rooms are first class no problems
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

It was lovely to see you again. We are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our service.
We do try to maintain a high standard of hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just got back from a visit to Sandown and the Marina Bay Hotel. This was our 4th visit in as many years, and once again clean rooms, comfortable beds, decent food and good service. We visited during some of the worst weather 10th - 14th Feb but the hotel was warm and welcoming. Extra blankets and an electric heater in our room. The chocolate heart on everyone's plate at breakfast was a nice touch on Valentines day.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We aware so pleased to see you again. Thanks for your kind comments and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us again. We are glad you enjoyed the valentines chocolate treat.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is very good value for money.On a holiday with Just Go Coach Holidays this was the chosen hotel and it was excellent in every way.The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and efficient.The menu was basic but well cooked and plenty on the plate.The bedrooms were very comfortable and cleaned every day.My wife and I could find no faults and would definitely return on another holiday on the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chjendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks for your writing a review.

We are pleased to hear you had a fab stay and would return again.
Personally I don't think the menu is basic when we are offering a couple of starter choices, two hot choices and salad for mains and hot pudding, cold pudding, cheese and biscuits and Icecream for desserts all followed by a tea/coffee. We have had a look at other hotels menus for this time of year and the price customers pay and feel our menu is very reasonable.
We look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a 'Just Go' 4 night trip to the Isle of Wight. We were placed in the Marina Bay Hotel, Sandown, which we found to be very clean, food tasty, adequate
and well presented, ( don't expect 4 star dining at price paid), with exceptional fast service by a wonderfully attentive waiting staff.
My only problem was that we were in Room 32 -a family room on the ground floor.Sadly there is no outside window in this room - one curtained glass partition, high on the wall looks into the Restaurant and is, therefore, internal and a very small window with opaque glass is on the building external wall, but only about12 - 18 inches away from the wall of the nextdoor Hotel, which was obviously built later, practically butt-up to ours. I have never stayed in a Hotel where there is no natural light before and will not again. Light and air flow are an important necessity to life. Also, when the evening cabaret started, the singer could have been in the room with us, as it was so loud we could hear every word. The partition between the room and the restaurant requires , at least, triple glazing!
Every other aspect of the hotel is fine and probably deserving of a higher rating particularly the wonderful staff.
I recommend the hotel, but avoid Room 32!
Chris C

Room Tip: If offered Room 32 ask for a change, otherwise it will spoil your experience of this hotel
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Bay H, Owner at Marina Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks for taking time to write a review.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and found our hotel clean.
You mentioned you weren't happy with your room, firstly you requested a ground floor room, secondly you didn't mention you weren't happy with your room upon arriving. We couldn't obviously control how far away the hotel next door has been built to our wall. Again you didn't mention the entertainer bothered you the next morning or that evening, probably as they had finished singing about 11pm and not early hours of the morning.
We would have been more than happy to shown you a different room had you informed us. Without knowing there's nothing we could have done. You resulted a ground floor room and this is what we provided. (One with a brand new bathroom fitted too). We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
344 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel

Address: 17 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £46 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing