We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for money paid”
Review of Marina Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good for money paid”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay here and might I say I was mighty surprised.
We got a two night stay on Groupon for two for a mere £59 with breakfast.

We did try to check in an hour early and we're unable to but staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Our room was lovely and clean with crisp white sheets and by the look of it newly renovated. We paid the extra for a sea view room and this was money very well spent to be able to lay in bed and look out the windows to the sea.

The hotel manager gave us a key to gain access to hotel as all the staff leave at 11:30 so we were able to let ourself in and wasn't pushed for time as we found some lovely local pubs off of the seafront.

The hotel in general was very clean and tidy. Staff were friendly and the room we were in was adequate for myself and my husbands long weekend for our anniversary.

There is not a lot to do in Sandown itself but the beach is absolutely beautiful. The zoo and dinosaur island are just up the road from the hotel but this is more for children.

Only a few negatives that I picked up on. One being the towels are only washed once a week but I always take towels with me anyway but had I forgotten I wouldn't have liked sharing a towel with God knows how many other people.

The food range isn't very much and is very basic. We only ate breakfast which was very small you are offered cereal as well as full English (1 egg 1 bacon 1 sausage 1 half fried bread and beans) which wasn't to high standard but edible and the portion size is tiny children's size.

Lastly the evening entertainment that's advertised it isn't much to listen too... so you may want to find a local pub rather than staying in the hotel using their bar.

These things are the only negatives I have to raise and really aren't much to worry about as there are a lot of food outlets to eat and places to sit in the evening and have a drink along the seafront.
The only thing I would say to the manager is for the towels to be washed after each guest as this is very unhygienic.

Overall a good stay and we would return on the same Groupon voucher if available in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    112
    47
    21
    24
See reviews for
52
115
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel over early may bank holiday, the location is superb and we upgraded our room to a sea view and the view is excellent - you can see out into the sea from the bed which is a nice thing to wake up to. Perfect if want to be close to the beach.

The beds are a bit uncomfortable and the shower we had wasn't very powerful which was a bit disappointing.

The staff are very friendly and the breakfast in the morning is good although it would be better if it was served for a longer period than 8:30-9:00.

We would stay here again so all in all we are happy with our stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieMuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel with friends who love the island. We found a fab offer on groupon and booked up. From the first point of contact the staff were very helpful and friendly and in arrival greeted us like old friends.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice.

We will be returning as had a lovely experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I spent a night at the Marina Bay Hotel at the beginning of April 2014. It is a charming family owned hotel with exceptional service, good food and excellent views of the beach.

The owners advised me that they are in the process of refurbishing and upgrading a lot of their rooms, which is great as I will definitely be staying here the next time I head to the island.

Room Tip: Ask for beach facing room...may cost more but well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We've just returned from a long weekend break at the Marina bay. Had a family room number 18 very nice with great views. The hotel staff were very friendly and the service at Breakfast was excellent. The only thing I was a little disappointed with was the lack of soap in the room which I had to ask for as there was none on arrival along with needing to ask for an additional toilet roll which wasn't provided when the room was cleaned. However that said it wouldn't deter me from staying again in this very well run family hotel.

Room Tip: Always worth a sea view when by the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Literally just back from the best 5 day break to the Marina Bay. Travelled with Gee Vee travel and had the most laid back cool driver ever...Paddy is very knowledgable about the Isle of Wight and pointed out lots of interesting facts without rambling on too much.
The Marina Bay Hotel is in a great location in Sandown directly opposite the beach and just a short walk to shops and the pier. Our room at the top had a sea view and was basic but comfortable, the shower was small with nowhere to put toiletries but had plenty of towels and was nice and warm. The bed was comfortable and there was a small freeview TV. Tea & coffee making trays are also provided along with an hair dryer.
Now the food..... Breakfast....good......dinner hit & miss. The poor girl who was serving did her best but with so many people she was run off her feet trying to get everyone served so their food was hot but unfortunately ours was cold most of the time, and the vegetarian options left a lot to be desired.
Entertainment every night was good and the bingo before hand got everyone in the mood for a good time.
Overall we had a great time at the Marina Bay and met some great people who we will keep in touch with.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room, plenty to see day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoreenandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at marina bay hotel for two nights break in march. Had a great time,The room and bedding were very clean.Though furnishings were basic.Breakfast and evening meals are cooked to a good standard and very well presented.staff very friendly and welcoming.an ideal place to stay that's cheap and chearfull.Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenB609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
340 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel

Property: Marina Bay Hotel
Address: 17 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing