We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply in one word, quality”
Review of Marina Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 26 December 2009

We have been to this hotel many times both as a large group and as a couple, and we have never been given reason to complain at all, on the rare occasion there has been slight problems like a broken bulb etc. It has been attended to instantly. Some people expect too much from hotels and in my opinion for the price the family charge for your stay you get very good value for money. If i were to criticise this hotel it would be the price of the bar other than that. 10 out of 10. see you next year guys!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegrockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

Where do I start?....maybe at the most serious point.....the Fire Exit in the dining room was chained and padlocked from the inside which is illegal and deadly!

The food is shocking, and I mean shocking. Everyting is done on the cheap and is pre-cooked. The fried eggs must have been cooked way in advance as they had a wierd rubbery film over the yolk which was disgusting. The toast is also pre-cooked as it comes to you cold and soggy. There is no attention to detail whatsover, the chef must be a muppet. My wife ordered a jacket potato and it came rock hard and was raw in the middle. When she asked for another it was absolutely pefect. Surely the chef checks whether they are cooked or not when he cuts them in half.

The family that runs it are very rude and they watch you like children all the time. It is a right episode trying to get a front door key if you want to go out. The lager was warm and flat and cost £2.90. They close the bar rapidly and dim they the lights in the lounge area to encourage you to hurry up....how rude!

On the positive side, it is clean and tidy, although pretty basic. The 2 young girls serving the meals were pleasant and very helpful although they were frustrated with all of the negative comments.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HonestViewMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I can't understand why so many are slating this hotel. We got brilliant value for money here as we travelled as a coach load. Clean and bright paint work and very tidy, yes the towels were changed daily and the staff even peeled the toilet roll so you didn't have to fiddle gettting the first bit started!!! Food was great and we were given a choice of menu, but the chef and waiting staff were excellent. The other staff were there to help you only had to ask. The downsides are hardly worth mentioning. The light had a ceiling fan but was broke, the fan worked when the light was on so I took the bulb out so we could have the fan running all night(the room was very warm) The bar was expensive and entertainment was pretty dire, but a 100 yard walk to a pub round the corner called "the tap" meant we could buy real ale for £1.80 a pint and on Friday, Saturday and Sunday they put on great live bands. Don't know what people want from a hotel of this price but is deserving of whatever star rating it is.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udgywudgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yalis_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IOWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
349 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel

Address: 17 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £38 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing