We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality with comfort and great location”
Review of St Michaels Hotel

St Michaels Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Michaels Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hospitality with comfort and great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Recently stayed at St Michael's and had a brilliant time - owners, Amanda and Neil, gave us advice on where to go and what to do. Really comfortable accommodation with a very filling breakfast and able to relax in the evening in their bar. The hotel is really close to the main street in Sandown and a short walk to the beach - Sandown feels like 'old english holidays' (makes you want to get the bucket and spade out!!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonSarah36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

A great discovery! Neil and Amanda are friendly, hospitable, helpful and respectful of your space, and the hotel is PERFECTLY located: quiet and peaceful, just a few minutes walk from all the action of the pier, the beach, restuarants and shops. Fresh, clean rooms; warm, inviting lounge room; and a great breakfast :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

After years of visiting the island, my wife and I have spent the last four visits, a total of 8 weeks, with Neil and Amanda at St. Michaels . The hotel is lovely and clean with plenty of space and a nice relaxed atmosphere. It’s in a perfect and very pleasant location, with private parking at the front of the hotel and just 5 minutes walk to the beach. We see the same faces there each year, so they can’t be doing much wrong. When we arrive there’s always a warm welcome with coffee ,tea and biscuits. The bedrooms have always been bright clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities plus television, hair dryer, and a good easy to regulate shower. Breakfast sets us up for the day, cereals, juice or grapefruit, followed by full English and plenty of it ( superb fried bread ) follow by toast. The bar opens about one hour before the evening meal, it’s not for me but plenty of people seem to enjoy a drink before dinner. We wait in the lounge which is warm and friendly, and watch TV until dinner is served. With a good choice throughout the menu the evening meal is always delicious and well presented in ample portions, Neil is definitely a quality chef. The day after we arrived our daughter-in-law gave birth to a lovely little girl, Chloe . Using the Hotel laptop, which is available to everyone, and Neil’s expertise, we were able to view lots of photos of her over the internet. Most evenings we spend some time in the bar where the drinks are very reasonably priced. It’s a really friendly atmosphere where the days outings are usually discussed. If your interested in course fishing the island is a perfect place and Neil, who’s a competent angler, will tell you where to go and how to bag 100lb. of carp, easily. We’re already booked in for next year, many thanks to Neil and Amanda for some lovely memories.
John and Jean…. Sheffield

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishermanwithwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2009

my family and i find St Michael's to be a home from home every time we go. the owners Neil and amanda are very friendly who go out of their way to make sure all is as it should be. as soon as you get there your made to feel at home and welcome, the rooms contain everything you need to enjoy your stay with regular cleaning by the staff your room is always fine. the menu is tailored so anyone can find something they like! the meals are good sized portions with good taste / flavour.
the cost of the hotel board/meals are very competitive and very hard to beat!! (very cheap bar too for the adults!!)
all in all i would suggest a stay here to anyone after spending many years going abroad to lots of places i have never been made to feel so looked after and welcome.
fantastic job neil and amanda keep up the excellent work
phil gemma and family

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngblood69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Upon arrival you are instantly made to feel welcome as you are greeted by the friendly faces of Neil & Amanda who took over the running of the hotel a little over two years ago. After a long journey down from Leeds, we were offered a much needed hot drink and juice for the kids (14yrs & 12yrs) while we relaxed on the very comfortable sofas in the lounge area as we chatted with Neil & Amanda. We have stayed at this hotel many times and find it suits our needs perfectly, a real home from home experience especially as we usually meet up with other residents who have become good friends over the years. The hotel is literally 5mins from the beach (one of the best and safest beaches on the island) which is perfect when you have kids in tow. The bedroom we stayed in is a family room and was more than adequate, with tea and coffee making facilities, television and even a hairdryer provided. We only stayed bed & breakfast but on two occasions we decided to stay for evening meal and which was just added on to the bill at the end of our stay, as long as you give them fair notice if you intend to do this they were more than willing to oblige. The breakfast had a good range of options and good portions too and the two evening meals we had were excellent, good home cooked food. The bar itself is cosy and welcoming, drinks can be ordered from 5o'clock for a pre-dinner drink. We enjoyed a relaxing drink in the bar most evenings (very reasonable prices) chatting with old friends and new, everyone gets to know each other (something you don't get in larger hotels) and even the children are welcome, games are available for them, a large television and even a laptop provided. One of the nice things as well is the fact that either Neil or Amanda would join us in the bar for a good old natter and a giggle. Nothing is too much trouble for them, a nicer couple you could not wish to meet. It is always sad when we have to leave at the end of the holiday, but we know we will definitely be returning again the following year, even our 14yr old daughter said she wanted to come again next year rather than one of the larger hotels with a pool so they must be doing something right.
I hope i havn't made this sound too good or there will not be any vacancies left for us!!

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere, comfortable surroundings, easy access to beach
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank misslilaccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michaels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michaels Hotel

Property: St Michaels Hotel
Address: 33 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run B&B in Sandown. Off Street Parking and a few minutes walk to the Beach. A relaxed place to stay where your not just a Room number. We like to think that we go that little bit extra to make your stay relaxed and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Michaels Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing