We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel very friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from a National trip to Burlington Hotel Sandown. Had a clean spacious family room with shower. Good choice of meals served by helpful friendly staff.
We have stayed in many hotels, but the staff here are by far the friendliest we have come across.
Even all the Cinderella's (cleaners) went along with the fairy tale our grand daughter loves to play, when people are doing chores!!!!
The bed was also quite firm and a good sleep enjoyed each night.
Hope to return sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: We had room 40 and had no complaints about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks Your Granddaughter was delightful and
I know she was popular with Sue and the other staff. Sue sends her her love and hopes you
will bring her again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    111
    51
    23
    21
See reviews for
64
129
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just got round to putting a review on for the Burlington hotel isle of wight .We stayed in room 25 from Tuesday 30 -Saturday 3rd Aug we requested a bath and we got one, We went with family and enjoyed all the meals on offer more so the breakfasts porridge followed by a full English breakfast with bread and butter and that was followed by toast and marmalade and as much tea and coffee as we wanted three course meals on a night and they were just as good. We slept very well and went back to work on Monday feeling very refreshed ,hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Number 25 just at the top of the stairs handy for picking up your paper on a morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hello Rosemary
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us.
It is always good to hear our guests say they would like to return.
The staff and myself look forward to meeting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a National trip to the Burlington Hotel I O W and after reading some of the earlier reviews we were pleasantly surprised . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Our room was good,on the ground floor at the front [as we had requested] and although our window was open all the time we were there we had no noise from the pub opposite.We enjoyed all the food and the waitresses worked very hard as there were three coach parties in at one time.It was a bonus having newspapers on hand to save having to go out for one, and the quiet lounge was ideal for some peaceful relaxation.I never heard one complaint from any of our party. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor on the front are very convenient esp. for the elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMCOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us at the Burlington. All the staff work hard
to make our guests welcome and we would all be pleased to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Have just returned from a National Holiday (30 Jul - 3 Aug) and was very happy with everything. We had room 45 which was spacious (family room). Food was very good, if nothing on menu you wanted were happy to do an alternative. Would be very happy to stay here again. Five minutes to the beach. Bus stop just round the corner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24Noel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I went on a 5 day National Holidays break (18 - 22 July) for the first time to the Isle of Wight and despite a few minor quibbles, we really enjoyed it - helped no doubt by the glorious weather we had at the time.
The hotel was what we largely expected from a budget National Holidays break - they obviously are having to cut corners/economise to meet the low costs - with the essentials covered - clean rooms, hot water and clean beds/towels. However, the room was a bit tired and dated;- e.g. no spare sockets around the room, just the 2 being used by the TV (good freeview reception) and kettle, so stretch to use the hairdryer near the mirror; nicely tiled bathroom, but a dated avocado suite, with no shower, only a 3/4 bath (without shower hose attachment to the taps) and no other ventilation than opening the bathroom and bedroom windows to try to keep cool in the sweltering temperatures. Our other gripe was that our room (No. 25) was the first one up the short flight of stairs from reception, so was noisy on a night - we could have asked for a swap, I suppose, but persevered. I'm not sure if there was a lift for those with mobility needs, we only saw stairs.
The food was just about acceptable, with some issues - on the first night my wife's fish (although covered in batter) was raw - the waiter quickly changed this for chicken, but no-one from management/kitchen came to enquire or apologise. Bizarrely, at breakfast time, a plate of fresh sliced bread was on the table, although we soon got used to asking for toast straight away. Probably the poorest quality we have had with National Holidays, but again, obviously trying to meet budget restrictions.
The other main issue we had was that, although the dining room staff were great, the management/reception staff we virtually non-existent, with no interaction or engagement with guests - a major failing in our eyes.
The hotel is in a good location, near the beach front and the main street, so is convenient, despite the unfortunate run down properties next door - which looked like they were due for renovation anyway.

Room Tip: Don't get room No 25 - too close to reception and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is situated about 5 minutes walk from a lovely sea front. My room was a single, and although not luxurious, it had all the essentials. It was clean and well presented. I did however, catch a glimpse of some of the larger rooms at the front of the hotel, and these looked lovely. The meals were fairly good and the waitress was amazing, cheerful and efficient, even though she was extremely busy. There was a good selection of newspapers each day, which you could purchase from the reception area. The day before we left, we were able to order sandwiches to take on our journey. They were inexpensive, and I thought this was a lovely thought. These were waiting for us straight after breakfast. I felt this hotel offered very good value for money, friendly comfortable and well situated. The perfect ingredients for a good holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front seemed to have a better view, though you would be able to hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

think we must have stayed at a different hotel to what everyone else is describing!!!!!. we have just stayed at the burlington hotel in sandown with gb tours from thursday 18th july till mon 22nd july, and we couldnt wait to come home. first impression on the approach to the hotel was like being in a war zone as there were 2 large buildings next door and backing onto the hotel that were derelict, not a good start. the entrance to the hotel itself was not inviting, the canopy was filthy. we had room no 49 which in itself was only small, dated furniture but at least it was clean, and a bonus we had an outside door leading onto a small garden area, (one of 3 rooms with these doors), which was a big disappointment. the garden area was full of weeds, plastic pots full of dead weeds and cigarette stumps everywhere. the food was very disappointing, very bland, not much choice, all varieties of the soups looked and tasted the same, everything seemed to be out of a tin and all sweets were covered in squirty cream, we were offered cheese and biscuits every night but the other coach company that was in with us, national holidays, were not allowed a sweet and cheese and biscuits, but they did pay £90 per person less than us for the same holiday. breakfast was very sparse, you only got one rasher of bacon and if you wanted beans then you couldnt have tomatoe, this is the only time we have been on holiday and come home weighing less than when we went. the hotel should realize how bad their food is because there was a lot of food being sent back into the kitchen. avoid this hotel

Room Tip: if you must go here ask for a room away from the front as there is a noisy pub over the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.0 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Property: The Burlington Hotel
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing