We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from a National Holidays 5 day break. Had a nice hotel room at the back of the hotel, although you could hear the entertainment each night. Service was second to none, thanks to Sue especially for looking after us during our stay. Hotel was ideally located, just 2 minutes from the beach, and 2 minutes from the high street as well. Only problem was for our stay, that we only had a bath, not a shower. One of the cleaners especially brought us a hand shower, without us asking.

The day excursions were fantastic, a lovely little island indeed. Also, the hotel has free wi-fi for anyone who needed this facility, although this is only available in certain locations. For anyone wanting to attend, I would definitely recommend this hotel for the price that we paid. Would definitely come back to this beautiful hotel and very beautiful island.

Room Tip: Room 12a is above the entertainment that was on during our stay. Some rooms also will only have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamesh281197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words and I will pass them on to Sue. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope we may see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had a great holiday , hotel good, staff lovely, meals lovely and only 2 minutes from beach.
Lovely hard bed, hope I never hear Love is in the air again, used love it
Two complaints
Pillows too hard
4 nights, 4 singers same songs

Well worth the money

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hello
Thank you for your comments regarding the entertainers singing the same songs
it could be an idea for them to get together and discuss this and then they could try not to replicate songs. With regard to the hard pillows had you come and told us we would have had them changed for you so sorry about that. I am pleased to hear you did enjoy your holiday with us
and hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just returned from a National 5 day break. We had a spacious room at the front of the hotel, very clean, bathroom looked as if it had just been retiled. The food was amazing, all freshly cooked, and service with a smile.The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the sea front.There is a small pool and hot tub in the hotel, which was well used by some guests.Overall we had a great stay, thanks to all the staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are on a busy road, but that didn`t bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hi Jean
Thank you for your compliments and I will pass them on to the staff who I know will appreciate them. Also pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from a National trip to Burlington Hotel Sandown. Had a clean spacious family room with shower. Good choice of meals served by helpful friendly staff.
We have stayed in many hotels, but the staff here are by far the friendliest we have come across.
Even all the Cinderella's (cleaners) went along with the fairy tale our grand daughter loves to play, when people are doing chores!!!!
The bed was also quite firm and a good sleep enjoyed each night.
Hope to return sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: We had room 40 and had no complaints about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks Your Granddaughter was delightful and
I know she was popular with Sue and the other staff. Sue sends her her love and hopes you
will bring her again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just got round to putting a review on for the Burlington hotel isle of wight .We stayed in room 25 from Tuesday 30 -Saturday 3rd Aug we requested a bath and we got one, We went with family and enjoyed all the meals on offer more so the breakfasts porridge followed by a full English breakfast with bread and butter and that was followed by toast and marmalade and as much tea and coffee as we wanted three course meals on a night and they were just as good. We slept very well and went back to work on Monday feeling very refreshed ,hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Number 25 just at the top of the stairs handy for picking up your paper on a morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Hello Rosemary
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us.
It is always good to hear our guests say they would like to return.
The staff and myself look forward to meeting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a National trip to the Burlington Hotel I O W and after reading some of the earlier reviews we were pleasantly surprised . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Our room was good,on the ground floor at the front [as we had requested] and although our window was open all the time we were there we had no noise from the pub opposite.We enjoyed all the food and the waitresses worked very hard as there were three coach parties in at one time.It was a bonus having newspapers on hand to save having to go out for one, and the quiet lounge was ideal for some peaceful relaxation.I never heard one complaint from any of our party. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor on the front are very convenient esp. for the elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEMCOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us at the Burlington. All the staff work hard
to make our guests welcome and we would all be pleased to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Have just returned from a National Holiday (30 Jul - 3 Aug) and was very happy with everything. We had room 45 which was spacious (family room). Food was very good, if nothing on menu you wanted were happy to do an alternative. Would be very happy to stay here again. Five minutes to the beach. Bus stop just round the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24Noel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £37 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burlington Hotel is one of Sandown's most established and reputable hotels. Ensuring the highest standards of personal care and attention, making your holiday or break relaxing and comfortable. Located in the stunning town of Sandown we are proud to invite you to join us for your holiday in the Isle of Wight. The Burlington Hotel is ideal for family holidays, short breaks and coach tour holidays to the Isle of Wight. Originally built as private dwellings, they have been joined to create the largest hotel near to the town centre and seafront with its beautiful sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing