We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont go to this hotel unless you are 70yrs old or older”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dont go to this hotel unless you are 70yrs old or older”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

we went to this hotel with national express. Breakfast was ok, Evening dinner was dreadful. cold ham, fried egg on top and frozen chips. We ended up going out for evening dinner for a couple of nights. My sister's son is head chef at a pub near us and he would have threw it in the bin, if he had seen the evening meal. There wasnt the choice stated in the menu on the hotel advertisement. My room was very small and dark and very hot. Old fashioned decoration and furniture. It was clean, but our towels were not changed in all the time we stayed there which was 5 days. We had the doors banging all the time. The place was packed with mostly elderly people, probably they were easily pleased with the facilities. We had to get up at 5.30am on the day we left and had to put our bags on the coach at 6.30am and then have breakfast, I felt it was all a rush. The staff at the hotel were very nice, but there was only three staff serving a packed room of people.I felt sorry for them as they were rushing around. Would go back to Isle of Wight, but not to this hotel. Our Hotel was next to derelict buildings and looked downtrodden.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JEAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay here, You state your room was hot but as the weather was very good during your stay all the bedrooms would have been the same. you could have asked at reception for the use of a fan, The menu you were offered was within the guidelines of our contract with National Holidays to provide a 3 course meal with choices which is what we did considering what we are paid by National I think we give good value for money. The night you are referring to with Ham,Egg and Chips did have other choices on the menu. As for having to leave early that had nothing to do with hotel your driver had an early ferry to catch and requested breakfast at this time It meant the staff had to start work at 5--30am to provide you with a cooked breakfast. Also on the information card in all bedrooms it states that should you require your towels changed at any time that you should leave them in the base of the shower. The hotel deals mainly with coach parties who are usually older people and I can assure you they are not easily pleased and accepting of lesser standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    114
    54
    25
    21
See reviews for
66
136
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We visited Isle of Wight for the 1st time in July. Hotel was very clean, lovely comfy bed, food was good. The staff were very helpful especially the lady who was our waitress for most of our stay. She was always happy & smiling what a great start to our day, we missed her when it was her day off!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hello
I am pleased our dining room start gave you a good start to your day. The dining room staff are all very friendly and conscientious to the needs of the guests that we are very proud them.
Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here with Family. Was very good, Food was home made, not frozen!! Staff very friendly, especially Sue,who served our food, nothing was a problem. The rooms were a bit dated, but spotlessly clean. Ideal location, close to all attractions and nearest bus stop just 2mins. away.

Would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks especially the one regarding Sue your waitress
she will be pleased when I tell her. If you should come again and be allocated a room with
a bath please come to see us and we will do our best to change you to a room with a shower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from a National Holidays 5 day break. Had a nice hotel room at the back of the hotel, although you could hear the entertainment each night. Service was second to none, thanks to Sue especially for looking after us during our stay. Hotel was ideally located, just 2 minutes from the beach, and 2 minutes from the high street as well. Only problem was for our stay, that we only had a bath, not a shower. One of the cleaners especially brought us a hand shower, without us asking.

The day excursions were fantastic, a lovely little island indeed. Also, the hotel has free wi-fi for anyone who needed this facility, although this is only available in certain locations. For anyone wanting to attend, I would definitely recommend this hotel for the price that we paid. Would definitely come back to this beautiful hotel and very beautiful island.

Room Tip: Room 12a is above the entertainment that was on during our stay. Some rooms also will only have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamesh281197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I will pass them on to Sue. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope we may see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had a great holiday , hotel good, staff lovely, meals lovely and only 2 minutes from beach.
Lovely hard bed, hope I never hear Love is in the air again, used love it
Two complaints
Pillows too hard
4 nights, 4 singers same songs

Well worth the money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments regarding the entertainers singing the same songs
it could be an idea for them to get together and discuss this and then they could try not to replicate songs. With regard to the hard pillows had you come and told us we would have had them changed for you so sorry about that. I am pleased to hear you did enjoy your holiday with us
and hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just returned from a National 5 day break. We had a spacious room at the front of the hotel, very clean, bathroom looked as if it had just been retiled. The food was amazing, all freshly cooked, and service with a smile.The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the sea front.There is a small pool and hot tub in the hotel, which was well used by some guests.Overall we had a great stay, thanks to all the staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are on a busy road, but that didn`t bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi Jean
Thank you for your compliments and I will pass them on to the staff who I know will appreciate them. Also pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from a National trip to Burlington Hotel Sandown. Had a clean spacious family room with shower. Good choice of meals served by helpful friendly staff.
We have stayed in many hotels, but the staff here are by far the friendliest we have come across.
Even all the Cinderella's (cleaners) went along with the fairy tale our grand daughter loves to play, when people are doing chores!!!!
The bed was also quite firm and a good sleep enjoyed each night.
Hope to return sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: We had room 40 and had no complaints about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks Your Granddaughter was delightful and
I know she was popular with Sue and the other staff. Sue sends her her love and hopes you
will bring her again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.0 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 52 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Property: The Burlington Hotel
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing