We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel?”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel about 2 years ago but I am afraid I would never stay there again. My mother was put on the 1st floor without a lift and when I queried why after having requested a room downstairs I was given the brush-off. The staff were pleasant enough but the food was awful.. Nothing had been seasoned at all and the choice was very poor.. When requeted about having brown bread for toast it was an effort for them. The tea and the coffee were no better.. Whilst there others guests were complainng of the same things..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teifimiss435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed with your holiday and that you thought the food was poor as we have had the same chef's for several years and usually the feed back on the choices and
quality of the food is very good.The dining room staff are also very helpful and I am sorry if they gave you the impression it was to much trouble to get you brown bread toast. When the coach company makes a request for a ground floor room it is only a request and while we do our best to accommodate everyone in these rooms due to the amount of requests we get it is not always possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    119
    55
    25
    22
See reviews for
67
139
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed with my wife 4 nights. It's true this hotel is ready for some TLC but service and cleanliness where excellent. We where served at every meal by the same waiter he was friendly always cheerful and very helpful. Needed some heat in room as weather was starting to turn to normal British trend, hotel staff said the heating was not on yet but they would provide a heater. Went out for the day returned to find heater as promised.
Would I stay again,YES

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augpjmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put a review on tripadvisor and will pass on your
comments to the staff ref cleanliness and attention in the dining room. The hotel will be starting on a refurbishment programme
in January but as you will understand that with 68 bedrooms this is going to take time
Hopefully you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit concerned, but what we found was a pleasant surprize, On arrival staff were very welcoming with our luggage taken to our room. The room was spotlessly clean, with plenty of storage.
All of the hotel was clean and welcoming.
The food was a pleasure, good home cooking with plenty of choice on menu,( the steak and kidney pudding was best we have ever tasted), all staff very quick and polite, special thanks to Sue, who made a comfortable stay that little bit better.
Will hopefully return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy147773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. Your positive comments
are very welcome and I have passed on your compliments to the chef re-the steak and kidney pudding and also your thanks to Sue. Look forward to having you visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed at the Burlington for a short break with National Holidays. Was misled by some of the reviews which paint a bleak picture of the hotel. Having said that, yes it is a little bit dated but our room was clean, the shower was good as was everything else. The room was on the ground floor, facing the front and we had no disturbance from inside or the outside.
Meals were fairly good and served very quickly. The staff gave excellent service, especially considering the number of customers they had to serve.
Evening entertainment was provided and this was of a club-like standard. It was basically reasonable.
For the price we paid National Holidays it was a steal. I honestly do not know how it can be done.
I ally, one previous review mentioned neighbour hotels / buildings being in poor condition. One seemed to have had a fire so needed a lot of work. This is not within the remit of the Burlington and is really irrelevant when reviewing this hotel......in my opinion

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review am pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday.
We as a hotel are dong all we can to remedy the situation in Sandown regarding the
empty buildings but hopefully the guests who come to stay here will like yourself see
beyond them and have an enjoyable stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Helen is obviously overworked but continually upholds a brilliant standard of service. The staff are excellent, friendly, and make you feel more than welcome on arrival. The Burlington Hotel is worth more than its official 2 stars. The food was of a very good standard and well presented. Overall I had a nice stay and would reccommend the Burlington to enyone whos looking for a pleasant stay with nice food and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. At the Burlington we are very proud of our staff and the way they al work as a team for the benefit of our guests to make their stay enjoyable..As explained we are at the top end of the 2 star ratings unable to get to 3 star because we do not have phones in the bedrooms. I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Best wishes Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

On arrival at hotel, checking in staff where not very friendly. Hotel is tried and badly needs updating. The seats in the entertainment area are most uncomfortable. There is no lift in this hotel so anyone who has walking or breathing difficuitlies should book a ground floor room, but not all rooms have showers only baths in the en -suite. Food was good and the menu was varied and the Lyn who was our waitress for the stay was great. Also you have to make it very clear before hand if you have a diet restriction, but don't bank on it being taken seriously. I personal cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You can hear people in the second floor rooms walking around so sleep can be disturbed,both at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwraig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I am sorry you feel that our reception staff were not very friendly as we get a lot of positive feedback as to how friendly all our staff are. Should there be a problem with the room not having a shower we are usually able to change the room for you although with so many ground floor rooms being requested especially on the coach you were on it meant someone had to have a bath. The staff will always work within the menu for special diets. I am sorry you feel that this hotel was not to your liking and that you enjoy your any other holidays you have booked in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

On arriving the staff behind the hatch didnt say hello or any greeting just asked our name and gave us our key.Our room quite pleasant but dated the furniture was scratched, not enough coat hangers, however overall a nice stay, food was lovely a varied menu, the restaurant staff was very nice and helpful,also had live artists if you wanted to spend time in the evening after your meal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipper38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your comments and points you have raised ie lack of coat hangers has been noted although if you had asked either at reception or your chambermaid more could have been found for you. Also were you maybe on a coach that arrived late and the staff in reception were anxious to get you into dinner that you felt they were not friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.0 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
308 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Property: The Burlington Hotel
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing