We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a fantastic time we have had, excellent hosts, excellent food and service, excellent entertainment and what a welcome our border collie, Luiz, received. Everyone including the staff made a fuss of him and he even joined in with the carol singing!! We couldn't have wished for a better Christmas and even managed some sunshine too.

Room Tip: The room at the front was a bit noisy opposite the pub but other rooms are well away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    114
    53
    24
    21
See reviews for
66
133
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed there for 5 days with a coach group and experienced great service, great food, a very friendly environment with good parking.

its a shame that there aren't more hotels of this calibre in the UK

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diggerssenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Burlington for four days on the 4th November-8th November. We found the hotel warm and freindly and very comfortable, good food and spacious room. We will definitely be going back next year.

Room Tip: We have had a front room and was very pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

A pleasant hotel, clean throughout, food good and waiting staff speedy and efficient, perhaps the rooms could be a bit more up to date but all in all the stay was favourable. Entertainment most evenings was fair, some of the older generation enjoyed the daily bingo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed here with my friends for four nights last week. The hotel is a little dated but I couldn't fault anything at all. The room was very clean and bed comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble when I had a couple of problems. My window would not open and that was immediately sorted. Also I found it very warm as my room was next to the swimming pool so the reception staff gave me a fan.
The food at breakfast and evening meal was very good every day. Always hot, good selection and plenty of it. Would like to thank Sally, Sam and Martin who did such a great job of taking our orders and bringing our meals. Always had a cheerful smile and very good attitude.
We went to the entertainment every night and couldn't say a bad thing about any of the entertainers. Would stay again if I was in Sandown.

Room Tip: My friends stayed in the front of the hotel on the ground floor and the only complaint was when thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent Staff in this rather Olde Worlde Hotel
(some refurbishment required in the bedroom we occupied and also in the public areas.) However the Lounge has lovely proportions and it was a pleasure to sit therein. There was also Entertainment each night in the Bar area.

We enjoyed our meals, the breakfast Menu was standard each day but the Dinner one was varied. Very pleasant, cheerful and informative Staff who served with great speed and agility within a somewhat restricted dining area and time.
( Perhaps the Burlington would consider extending it's mealtimes by at least 15mins, we were quite rushed each evening and 6.00p.m. is very early for Dinner.)

Although not on the sea front the Burlington is well positioned 2 mins walk from the Promenade, close to all amenities and the main shopping street in Sandown, Isle of Wight, where there are several rather nice Shops.
There is also a Sports Bar and General Newsagent with Cash Machine just accross the road, which is highly convenient.

We thought we were well positioned for criss crossing the Island to view all the attractions and would recommend the chair lift at the Needles (Alum Bay) and the Ice Cream, although the rest of the development there was a bit disappointing. Yarmouth is most attractive and less "tourist".
Osborne House is well worth a visit and if you can, walk down to the bay. Godshill is very pretty and the "Lily" Church we thought, delightful. The Sun was out so we enjoyed our wine in the back garden of the Griffin, a nice Pub, just over the road from the Carpark. The Coastal Drive from Sandown is quite lovely, we made our way to visit the Ventnor Botanical Gardens (best Raisin Scone & Butter ever), Wight Pearls (prepare to spend), Rosemary Vineyard and the Steam Train. In fact we really had a most enjoyable sojourn on the Isle of Wight !

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms to the front would be larger and with better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I cannot compare The Burlington to other hotels, as this is the first hotel I have stayed in, I am merely commenting on my own experience.

The staff were wonderful, the food was excellent for the most part with good variety, although mealtimes seemed a bit rushed, the waiting staff were very quick, pleasant and worked hard. (Thank you Lynn)

I do have mobility issues, but not a wheelchair user, I did not specify in the booking, so not the hotels fault, but I was put in an upstairs room and there is no lift. (Maybe an idea to put that in the brochure) Even going up/down stairs once a day is enough to cause me problems.

My room was OK, very clean but a bit dated, nowhere comfortable to sit except the bed (Not good for Arthritis sufferers.)

I had to stay in some days due to my not being able to move well, and I’m afraid it was very boring! Daytime programmes on a very small TV, no DVD player (take your own!) wireless in reception only, so no Internet surfing unless I hobbled down the stairs. Only 2 sockets, 1 for the TV and 1 for the (very small, old, slow and noisy) kettle, so take an extension lead if, like me you need more than 1 socket at once) My room was at the front and was very noisy if you had the window open, so ask at reception for, (or take your own) fan if you like fresh air.

My first hotel and my first review, I hope it helps and that there will be more to come.

Room Tip: room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RICEYtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.0 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Property: The Burlington Hotel
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing