We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 2 June 2014

my wife grandaughter and myself have just spent 5 days here on a coach tour,its a nice hotel if only 2 star,the food is good the rooms are basic but clean and the staff are very helpfull,its near the town centre and bus stops,even if the bus drivers arn,t very nice,my bus pass had run out by 2 days i was told if i lived on the island i would get a month to renew it but as i didn,t i had to pay,yet the return journey i didn,t!!the hotel had a small heated pool which was nice,the hotel has no lifts and is a bit dated there was entertainment and bingo every night,the only problem we had was the room was very hot even with the windows open which stopped us sleeping,

Room Tip: there are no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

If you expect 4-5 star service book into those hotels
If you want an excellent 2-3 star
With good edible food and friendly staff this is the place for you
My only gripe was they charge £4 for a 75p can of Strongbow thou I was told the draught beers etc were reasonably priced
Would make this my 1st choice of hotel in Sandown

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank gp15treorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just to say what a lovely hotel went with family Staff was excellent our waiter matt was out standing made our stay enjoyable room clean beding very good also like to say thank to our coach driver mike from laser travel was so help full told us when we were on our trip out about the places we visited

Room Tip: Room56 was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yvonnecridwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel with National Holidays - 5 day break - B +B & Evening Meal. Excellent value for money, hotel bedrooms slightly dated but overall hotel was clean with comfortable beds and excellent choice of food served by friendly staff. The entertainment was very typical for a hotel of this type - bingo, plus cabaret singer (who were average at best), bar prices reasonable. Hotel in good location for small town centre and close to promenade.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

well i stayed here on the 19th may 4 night break and all i can say i enjoyed my stay... hotel was lovely food was brilliant rooms was clean staff was friendly... the only one negative thing iv got to say is the toilet down in the reception there should be more then one toilet each and the gentleman shouldnt be share the same room and i would like to thank.s to mike from laser travel for looking after all the time we was there

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is situated in a road Behind the main promanade, it is a short walk to get to the front. We had a large ground floor room, which was lovely, unfortunately there was no shower, not even over the bath. The bed and pillows are quite hard. The food was good.
Thanks go to Edwards Coaches for the organisation of this holiday.
Pam Pontypridd

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a coach party.The staff were very welcoming and friendly and tried to accommodate all needs.We had booked a ground floor room because the hotel does not have a lift.
The room was comfortable and clean but like the rest of the hotel it is very dated and needs a complete refurb.
There is a small swimming pool and the water is warm but again this area needs to be updated.
The food was a bit mixed ,some meals excellent others not so good and you have to order dinner at breakfast time.
Our room was on the front of the hotel and there is a very noisy pub opposite so if you open the window you are kept awake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PamJwIRRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.0 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £36 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burlington Hotel is one of Sandown's most established and reputable hotels. Ensuring the highest standards of personal care and attention, making your holiday or break relaxing and comfortable. Located in the stunning town of Sandown we are proud to invite you to join us for your holiday in the Isle of Wight. The Burlington Hotel is ideal for family holidays, short breaks and coach tour holidays to the Isle of Wight. Originally built as private dwellings, they have been joined to create the largest hotel near to the town centre and seafront with its beautiful sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing