We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could have been a good time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Burlington Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
loughborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“could have been a good time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

excellent hotel plenty to do in sandown and in the hotel on a evening excellent service especially by our waiter darren nothing was to much trouble for him and never laughed as much as i did while we was there in fact was a joy to go for our meals and the chef is excellent at what comes out of the kitchen

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinitwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    112
    51
    23
    21
See reviews for
64
130
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

On entering the Burlington hotel you are greeted with a stale air stuffiness and an underlying smell of urine. And instantly conjures up a feeling of an old peoples home or hospital. The hotel is very dated (as you may expect from the resort) with an avocado bathroom suite without a shower but with a non slip mat to help you get in and out of the bath. The room itself also smelt of stale urine although generally seemed reasonably clean. It is a hotel for coach trips of pensioners and not for families or anyone that was born post war.

The resort (and town especially) is somewhat run down, nice beach if the weathers nice if not hopefully you'll have a car!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We took a seven day break with Paul James Holidays at the Burlington at the end of May which we thuroughly enjoyed due to a great holiday company and a good hotel.
The staff were extremely efficient and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The bedroom whilst not large was comfortable and clean. The dining room is quite large but the waiting staff are so well organized that you are never kept waiting for anything and we would give special thanks to our waitress Sue who was delightful and very friendly. The choice of food on the menu is very good and the meal is four courses and coffee.
There is a comfortable quite lounge to sit in or there is a bar were there is entertainment and dancing every night. All in all a good hotel for a short holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip_Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

We stayed at the hotel for a twixmas break for 3 ngts. We had a really lovely relaxing time. On arrival in reception lovely big xmas tree,with choclates, nuts and sugared almonds courtesy of the hotel.
The food was very good, with a good variety of choice. Rooms were cosy, not deluxe but certainly adequate for our stay, and exceptionally warm, as it was so cold the particular time we were there.
There was entertainment each night, along with bingo and a quiz etc.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel had a small pool and jacuzzi which we all enjoyed.
Overall we had a wonderful break.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mitsieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2007

We visited this hotel with our bowling club from hampshire. The food, service and rooms were all excellent and all of our members would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay there.
The location of the hotel was just off the sea front, so therefore quiet, but still only a stones throw away from the sea- front and the pier. Every evening there was something to do at the hotel, whether it was dancing or just enjoying a quiet drink at the bar.
We look forward to returning there as soon as possible.
Highly recommended.

Janet Giles
Secretary
St Mary Bourne Bowling Club

Helpful?
10 Thank smbHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.0 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Property: The Burlington Hotel
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing