We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wighthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wighthill Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We love this Island and will be sure to visit soon, so quaint. Only stayed there the weekend and wish we had longer before we flew home. The hotel is very close to the little town and the beach so we did not really need the car, not a great deal of nightlife but we have little ones so not an issue for us. The hotel is fresh and everything looks new, we had a family room which was quite big, similar to the one in the photo but with bunk bed and a cot which we had asked at the desk for and was in the room before we were. Big bed, Flat screen tv, nice furniture and linen. We only had breakfast which was nice, staff are real freindly. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definately come back, a little pricey but worth it.
Dale

Room Tip: If you have small children ask for ground floor family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nuneaton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed over the August B/H scooter weekend . Owner Heidi was very accommodating when we changed the booking details at late notice and very welcoming when we arrived .
The double room was basic, but clean and tidy . The en suite toilet/shower was compact and bijou, but functional, although the shower did take a while to heat up.
My travelling companion was allocated the single room opposite which had no shower ( he used mine) but was also clean and tidy.
Cannot fault the breakfast , filling and served quickly . Some other guests questioned the breakfast hours ( 08.30-09.00) but not a problem for us .
Car drivers may find on street parking at a premium , but owner Steven had made a ramp to allow scooters to park on the front lawn.....Good man himself !
All in all a basic family run B&B but at £35pppn inc breakfast we had no complaints

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickymidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peachie12345, Owner at Wighthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
This is not a review for this my business The Wighthill Hotel did not exist until 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just like to say that the owners Steve and Heidi pulled out all the stops when we organised our Christmas party at the hotel.Our disco guy let us down on the day but the owners were very resourceful and were able to help with music and lighting.They were very friendly and very welcoming.We have just held another evening at the hotel and that was just as good as the Christmas party.We are a youth football team trying to raise money for a summer tour and the owners have given their hotel to us for free.

We will certainly be holding more events at the hotel as it is an ideal venue for a party for say around 80 people.It has a bar area and also wireless free internet which has paid an integral part for the events we have helkd thus far.

This is a family run hotel and I would recommend it highly for the personal service you will get.

Room Tip: All I will say is that if you hold your events at this hotel you can also take advantage of their ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adstristar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peachie12345, Owner at Wighthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
This is not a review for this my business The Wighthill Hotel did not exist until 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

we booked a short break over christmas at the westhill i have to say we were suffering with flu but the hosts were very kind to us our room was nice clean very quiet food ok unfortunately i cant say much more due to our illnesss location is about 10 minute walk from the sea and shops would we stay again yes

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buster099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peachie12345, Owner at Wighthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
This is not a review for this my business The Wighthill Hotel did not exist until 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We booked 2 rooms for 4 members for a night stay at this hotel and below are the Pros and cons

PROS:

1. Good welcoming by the lady at the property.
2. Location is near to sea, amazon world and isle of wight zoo.

CONS:

1. Plates on the dining table smells very bad with egg odor.
2. One of the bedrooms mattress is in very bad state and unusable (Springs are completely worn out) for which we both ended up in back pain.
3. Wardrobe Shelves are with dust.
4. Shower head was just pumping very little water (may be from 5 or 6 holes)
5. Here is the most miserable bit -- No hot water after applying soap and ended up shivering in freezing bathroom and finally had to boil some water in kettle and complete the shower.
6. Kettle was full of rust.
7. The guy who served breakfast in the morning was very rude just because we were late by 15 min.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend even for a nights stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKTraveler0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peachie12345, Owner at Wighthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
This is not a review for this my business The Wighthill Hotel did not exist until 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslmere, Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed with my two children and found the standard, particularly calling itself a 'hotel', to be poor -quality of room (e.g. lack of towel changes over 4 night stay and room left open during day) and quality of food poor.

The staff, though, were helpful and friendly, and location great for visiting Sandown/access to buses around the island.

If you are staying away on a low budget, then this hotel would be fine, so long as expectations appropriate and only paying at this end of the market.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dangermouse1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peachie12345, Owner at Wighthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
This is not a review for this my business The Wighthill Hotel did not exist until 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed with my wife and two children and from the great warm welcome on arrival I knew we had chosen well. Heidi and Steve looked after us all week and the rooms were excellent and breakfast superb.The hotel has a great family atmosphere and our kids loved it. The bar was great for a relaxing evening with no need to venture afar. We will be back soon.Michael and Jenny

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillyavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peachie12345, Owner at Wighthill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
This is not a review for this my business The Wighthill Hotel did not exist until 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmore B&B
The Belmore B&B
#3 of 30 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wighthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wighthill Hotel

Property: Wighthill Hotel
Address: 2 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 9DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wighthill Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished family run Bed & Breakfast hotel. Located in a quiet area just minutes from the beach front and shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wighthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wighthill Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing