We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday house on a lovely rural farm”

South Littleton Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairgowrie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Littleton Holiday Cottages
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday house on a lovely rural farm”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Hayloft is a Former weaver’s cottage located on a peaceful rural farm in Perthshire, Its' a great conversion combining original character features like wooden beams with high quality modern facilities.

Set in the farm courtyard, it’s a comfortable holiday house and ideal for families, especially horse lovers. Originally a berry farm, the fields are now mainly used as grazing for horses at livery, and rescue ponies, all keen for a pat and a treat. Located just outside the small town of Blairgowrie, the Hayloft lies in the heart of rolling countryside with superb views of the Sidlaw Hills and the StrathmoreValley. It’s a really peaceful spot, ideal for relaxing.

The Hayloft has super facilities and is really comfortable. The contemporary open plan kitchen is well equipped and includes a number of welcome touches, including a great selection of herbs, spices and local salad dressings. It’s also the dining area and can seat six. A fantastic raised deck to the rear of the cottage is the perfect sunny spot to enjoy breakfast or even a BBQ!

The Hayloft is a great place to chill out, or enjoy the superb local golf, fishing, walking, riding, or even cycling. It’s also a handy base for exploring the Angus Glens or even nearby Dundee.

see
http://coolcottagesscotland.com/the-cottages/family-fun/south-littleton-farm/

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have just returned from staying in The Bothy (us = 2 adults) & Hayloft (friends with 2 teenage boys) and we have to say both properties are wonderful. A great situation to explore the area, lovely welcome from Hazel the owner. Facilities in both were perfect, both furnished to a high standard, everything we needed. We would recommend these to others and would book again.

Room Tip: Description of both on their website covers everything. Worth noting no freezer in the Bothy but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittletonLass, Owner at South Littleton Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Kathryn, Now that I've figured out how to do it, I can respond to your wonderful review. Thank you, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The great weather for your days out certainly helped too. I appreciate your comments about the lack of freezer space and will put a note on the website to let people know. An under-counter fridge with larger freezer compartment may leave too little space in the fridge so I could put a small freezer in the store room beside the DVD collection. Which option would have been most useful for you? Look forward to welcoming you all back some time. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Hayloft is everything you would want for a self catering accommodation. A great location in the heart of Perthshire, just outside Blairgowrie in a very quiet and secluded location. Very comfortable beds, no noise and very dark - I haven't slept so well for years!! The cottage is very well appointed with everything you need for a short to medium stay. This was the second time we have stayed and there is no reason for us to look anywhere else when we return next year. The place is also excellent value for money and David was willing to do a deal for a slightly shorter stay (5 days) which made it even better value. Overall top class.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittletonLass, General Manager at South Littleton Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Steve, thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of the Hayloft. It's always a pleasure to welcome you to the cottage and if there was a review site for visitors you would be awarded 5* status for the way you always leave it just as you found it. Makes my job on change-over days so much easier :) I'm glad you liked this year's improvements on your most recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back for your next fishing trip. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our family stayed at The Bothy for a week in August, and while the weather didn't favour us, we enjoyed our holiday. The cottage was comfortable and had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable - the beds were comfy, towels were soft, there was an abundance of tourist information and maps of the area, and free wi-fi to search the internet.
The kitchen was stocked with everything you needed, all of which was good quality and in working order- none of the normal searching for a sharp knife, or the right sized pot/pan to cook a nice meal!
A great little place, which we would recommend to other families visiting the area!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittletonLass, Owner at South Littleton Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review, Patty, and I'm glad you had a good stay despite the weather. I try to equip the cottages with everything I would expect to find myself and when friends come to visit I join them to cook meals so then I know what's missing and what additional equipment might be useful. Suggestions are always appreciated. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Highly recommend , Very friendly, most welcoming, perfect for a lovely relaxing holiday or short break. Beautiful scenery and not far from lovely local shops, pubs,restaurants and parks. i will be returning back here again in the near future .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolminogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittletonLass, Owner at South Littleton Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thanks for the fab review, Carol,. Look forward to welcoming you back next week and hope this glorious sunny weather continues for your short break. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We have just spent a very relaxing and enjoyable fortnight in East Pearthshire, using the Hayloft at South Littleton as a base. The cottage had everything we could have asked for and was extremely comfortable and spacious The large, upstairs lounge was a great place to relax after a day out visiting the area's many attactions, or wandering the beautiful countryside. Hazel and David made us feel very welcome and were always on hand with ideas of where to go and what to see - if we needed it.
As seasoned self-catering holidayers, many of them in Scotland, we would not hesitate to recommend the Hayloft to anyone wanting a comfortable base in this part of Scotland.
Janet & Gordon - Whitlet Bay, UK

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetandGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have just retuned from a week's stay at the Hayloft. This is a well apportioned and exceptionally well equipped cottage set in a beautiful location. Our enjoyment was assured by David and Hazel who were on hand to provide as much or as little assistance as required by the guests. Nothing was too much trouble. Hazel is also a very capable masseuse who provided several treatments that were worth every penny. I can recommend this cottage to anyone seeking a relaxing retreat. Located in a beautiful setting approximately one mile out of Blairgowrie. There are so many interesting places to visit within easy travelling distance that you will never want for something to do but you could enjoy yourself simply by staying at the cottage. We will definitely be going back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_beardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blairgowrie hotels
1.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
729 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ericht Holiday Lodges
Ericht Holiday Lodges
#2 of 9 in Blairgowrie
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blairgowrie Holiday Park
Blairgowrie Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Blairgowrie
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosebank House
Rosebank House
#1 of 18 in Blairgowrie
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenshieling House
Glenshieling House
#2 of 18 in Blairgowrie
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Littleton Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Littleton Holiday Cottages

Property: South Littleton Holiday Cottages
Address: South Littleton of Rattray | Aylth Road, Blairgowrie PH10 7HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two delightful top quality holiday cottages in rural Perthshire. The location is fantastic for visitors who wish to see most of Scotland within 2 hours travel. Locally, walking Golf, Fishing and more extreme sports are all available. Above all - peace, quiet and relaxation - you will love it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Littleton Holiday Cottages Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing