We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - perhaps some customer service training needed?”
Review of Kinloch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinloch House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel with four other friends earlier in January. The hotel is lovely and warm and welcoming with lots of soft sofas and log fires. Our welcome from Paul was excellent and we enjoyed fantastic shortbread, fruit loaf and lemon drizzle cake with our afternoon coffee. Rooms are really nicely appointed with lovely bathrooms and all the extras you would expect from a Relais & Chateau member. Dinner was also fabulous but I have to say I was a bit disappointed in the service from all except Paul. It was very stiff and formal totally lacking in any smiles or friendliness which was a great pity. While it didn't really detract from the experience at dinner, breakfast the next day was a different matter. Sunday breakfast is available only from 8.30 until 9.30 which was a bit of a surprise however Paul told us provided we were there at 9.30 it would be fine - unfortunately he wasn't on duty and the some of the staff made it abundantly clear that they weren't best pleased at us taking a leisurely breakfast by standing behind our table with arms folded and faces like thunder..... If this could just be sorted out by the hotel owners (who were away that weekend) it would get an excellent rating from me. Perhaps we just got the staff on a bad day - I hope so as the "hardware" and the food were really good. It is pretty good value for money given the quality of the rooms and the food and in a beautiful setting an easy drive from Edinburgh & Glasgow.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Kinloch House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

What a lovely experience- From the atmosphere walking in and being served tea and shortbread on comfy sofas, to the perfect and personal service and the gorgeous food, not forgetting the generous rooms (rather hot though!) Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Delightful setting, warm luxurious hotel. Great view of countryside and horses grazing. Food and service was five star. Paul went out of his way to make us feel welcome and to suggest places for us to visit that were still open in mid November. He also makes a great martini!

Room Tip: Room 2 has wonderful views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Came here with my partner on our anniversary and we had a great time. We had champagne and canapés in the lounge before dinner which was lovely and really gave us time to relax more. Dinner was amazing. The pigeon for starters and the guinea fowl for mains were cooked perfectly. After dinner we had coffee and petit fours back in the bar lounge which was a nice treat to the evening. The only fault I can give is that there was no partridge left for the main course which I would have ordered. Nevertheless we were the last to eat and the guinea fowl sure made up for it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElGuapo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Kinloch House recently as we had an event to attend in the area, what a beautiful country house hotel with log fires burning, just so relaxing and welcoming. Excellent service with fantastic food and a quality extensive wine list which was not too pricey. Only one negative for us was that there is no background music, you find yourself whispering, worrying not to make too much noise! We were lucky that one of the other guests was a wonderful pianist which helped hugely with the lack of atmosphere. I would suggest background music as a minimum with a resident pianist playing in the conservatory after dinner.

Room Tip: Not all en suites have a shower.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan_cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I had DBB here and I have to say this hotel sets the standard for country house hotels. Peaceful, beautiful views, excellent staff, elegant rooms - feels like you're at home not in a hotel.
The restaurant is excellent and the wine list extensive without the silly prices similar places charge.

Room Tip: If the budget allows try and get the suite - very nice place to be.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked this stay very last minute based on the good quality of two previous stays at R&C properties, one in England and one in France. I wasn’t disappointed with Kinloch House. Although not as grand as the properties south of the border or over in France it was very pleasant and suited the landscape quite well.

The Hotel is an old hunting lodge with all of the associated paraphernalia, stuffed animals etc – including a bear! There is a large drawing room and ante-room for relaxing by the numerous fire places with a wee dram and the paper. Dinner is excellent, with local game specialities and fairly reasonably priced. The wine is a bit punchy in truth and is more than I’d pay in London but it has had to travel a long way I guess.

We booked a standard room and it was more than big enough for the two of us. The room was in the main house overlooking the farmyard. We took a walk into the walled garden and the view from up there was great, you could see all the way to Kinloch.

Staff were fine, the usual Scottish mix of a majority of Eastern Euro’ workers and a smattering of locals! Haha. My wife is Polish so I think I’m allowed to comment on that. Good whisky selection that is also well priced. You could of course go to one of the many distilleries and BYO!

All in all, very quiet, very relaxing, an excellent way to escape London and reconnect with Scotland.

Room Tip: Standard Room in the main house was more than large enough IMHO
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruski_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
5.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
783 reviews
14.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,998 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,303 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch House

Address: Kinloch Kinloch By Blairgowrie | Perthshire, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range: £178 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kinloch House 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of glorious Perthshire, famous for its stunningly beautiful countryside with lochs, rivers and trees, Kinloch House is the ideal base from which to explore the area while staying in a family-run Scottish country house providing a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. Dating from 1840 the charming house offers bedrooms and public rooms individually appointed with fine fabrics and furnishings and a stunning entrance hall with log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kinloch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch House Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing