We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb trail”
Review of Cateran Trail

Cateran Trail
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb trail”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We walked the 6/7 miles from bridge of cally to blairgowrie, really lovely walk (wear boots and don't be afraid to get dirty). Also try out the blue bell wood walk, ardblair trail and knockie path/trail. All are a few miles each in length around blairgowrie and lovely.

Helpful?
2 Thank danieldavidpaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    35
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A great trail we walked about 6 miles on it, its easy to follow and very scenic we will be back to complete the rest of it at some point.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LandJMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wow, do it in Autumn!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a great hike in mid-September. However, at this time of the year make sure you book early as we'd left it to a couple of days before and due to the pub in Glenisla being closed there was nowhere to stay. We had to get our B&B in Glenshee to shuttle us back and forwards for a couple of days.

The colours of the trees (specifically on the shorter route back from Alyth to Blairgowrie) were amazing!! You'd think you were in Eastern Canada. Best to leave early in the mornings so you're not arriving in the dark. We brought a Thermos with us and had soups during the day, there is a huge Tesco in Blairgowrie to buy whatever you need.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A new experience”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had not heard of the Cateran Trail until we booked a break at Bridge of Cally Hotel. The hotel had information about mountain-bike and walking routes and we selected an 11km. circuit which started on the Cateran Trail at the hotel, branched off through forest and moorland, and then rejoined the Trail between Blairgowrie and Bridge of Cally. This latter part of the Trail was a bit boggy in parts (late October after all), but overall this walk was one of the best we have done for some time. So the Cateran Trail is likely to be on our agenda for the future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A walk in the hills and valleys.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A beautiful walk best taken over four to five days. Travel light and don't expect to re supply. The traditional route starts at Blairgowrie , a town with lots of options for accommodation and supply. Next up is Bridge of Cally ( where we started. ) No official parking but the hotel is happy to let you park there. No village shop so you're going to be eating at your hotel. Kirkmicheal next, a few hotels ( we stayed at the Strathardle Inn ) and a village shop. Next day over to Spittal of Glenshee. Not much there , no shop or restaurant so you'll be cooking food you carried or eating at the Glenshee Hotel. We were warned off it but the food we had was fine. We stayed at the Gulabin Lodge ( sort of a hostel ). Small room but comfortable. Tey had a great kitchen and two nice lounges. No shop as precviously mentioned so youll have to cook what you carried in. Next day a long walk to Glenisla. One small hotel and no shop. We had a local B+ B pick us up (Purgavie ) and drop us off. At this point after 30 miles of walking through glorious Scottish country side my wife had foot failure so we were dropped at Alyth , a small town with a few hotels, B+B and shops. A days rest did not help so next at a taxi back to Bridge of Cally to get the car and so home.

A couple of pointers. The official brochure is badly out of date, shops closed , B+B s closed etc. on the plus side I found out pretty much every hotel and B+ B will do some form of shuttle for you for free. So I suggest asking and then planning on staying in a hotel for two or three nights using the shuttle and then moving to the next one for the next few legs. That way you'll only have to carry your pack on two days. Call the hotels and B+B and ask them about shuttles. Read up on midge season. It's worth avoiding the little biting insects if you can time your trip right. August worked for us but it can be midge ridden. Www.midgeforecast.co.uk can help.

The path is well marked but do take the time to look for way markers when in doubt. They are there, you might not just see them at first if they are at a corner. Take a good map. Most of the hiking is on reasonable paths and tracks but some sections will be boggy in wet weather. We were lucky it was very dry but one could see where the mud had been.


As always in Scotland, the weather can change at a moments notice so never travel without your space blanket, some food, water proofs etc. cell phone reception is very spotty. Even on a good day take a day pack with your emergency kit and some food and cooking kit. Besides it makes lunch nicer with a hot meal and tea.

My wife was concerned that the 12 and 14 mile days might be too long but if it hadn't been for the blisters she would have been fine. It's just not that strenuous. In short. Make sure your boots and sock are good, have good water proofs, call and book your hotels etc in advance and ask about shuttles. It's a great easy walk through some of the finest rural scenery in Scotland. It's not the wild moors and uplands , mostly farmed valleys but beautiful nonetheless.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LeighR412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cateran Trail also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cateran Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing