We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed recently at this hotel to attend a wedding, and given the cost was low, all of the staff did a great job and as someone else mentioned breakfast was great. The only criticism I would have is that the rooms are looking a bit tired and as it was a busy weekend the staff at times were struggling to cope, but that is the way of the world now all trying to cut costs to survive.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'normal' room which is fine as in the end of the day most folks use a hotel j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    30
    19
    10
See reviews for
18
63
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed one night in Royal Hotel at start of May over bank holiday weekend.

Had booked a Superior Double room but told mixed up with house keeping so was given a Superior Twin room with beds pushed together. First thing I noticed was duvet was placed at across the bed with fastening at side on bed instead of bottom...... turns out duvet was to small for both beds pushed together Room was adequate but wardrobe shelf was thick with dust. that bad that I could write it in.
Overall room was comfortable but it need of a good clean. also crack floor tiles in bathroom and no toilet lid and this was there top rated Superior room.

Booked for dinner that night during check in, but restaurant had no record of booking when we arrived.

We had to wait about 30mins for meal order to be taken.
staff were at panic stations since an unexpected large party had arrived.
Meal itself was OK but after taken drinks order waitress went of and server other people queueing at bar so drinks took a long time to arrive.

When the bill arrive and I queried wine prices, and was told wine list had a misprints,
but after debating this point they did agree to charge price on wine list.

Very disappointing would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blairgowrie hotels

Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The local football team had a function on the Friday night but we were not disturbed by noise, however the following morning at the rear enetance of the hotel and to the side there were several large patches of vomit - not what you wanted to see on the way to the car after breakfast. I would have thought that any half decent manager would have checked the premesis after a function.
On this basis I could not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel at least once a year since 2006, when I was in the area for a relatives wedding.I do agree with some of the comments in relation to the bedrooms in the 'annex' part of the hotel, having stayed in this type of room on one occasion back in 2006, however since then I and my wife have always stayed in a Superior room which are spotlessly clean, comfortable and as previous reviewers have stated with excellent showers.
This is a lovely little hotel, situated in a nice town which is a great base for exploring Scotland.All of the staff I have met over the last 5 years have been excellent, friendly and nothing is a 'chore' for them.The freshly cooked breakfasts in the morning are second to none!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed overnight as we were going to see Dougie Maclean at the town hall.
I phoned to ask if there was a function on the night we were due to stay.Morag informed me that yes there was and when I explained I was a light sleeper,she assured me we would be given a quiet room.On arrival,we got checked in early (a bonus),and were delighted to be upgraded to a superior room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet indeed!
Our room was a good size with a very large comfy bed,modern neutral decor,flat screen tv, Bathroom was nice & bright with an excellent shower.Everything was very clean & spotless.
We ate our evening meal there which was very nice.The menu had a good choice.
Breakfast was also good,hot & tasty.
All staff were pleasant & friendly and we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squidgitmidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed in the Royal for a week whilst fishing the Tay. On the positive side the staff were friendly and helpful, the public areas of the hotel bright and well furnished and the food, with a Scottish orientation, of good quality.

Where this hotel let's itself down is in the poor condition of the bedrooms. Myself and a friend were staying in separate rooms. Both had stained carpets, worn and stained furniture and mouldy showers. We also had a problem with noise from late night drinkers and smokers who congregated outside the side entrance of the hotel which is overlooked by many of the bedrooms and which has wooden tables outside where smokers would sit. The owner needs to rethink this arrangement

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at The Royal over the last four years and only do so for practical reasons. The room I had was called "superior" to what I dread to think. However the towels were fluffy and the shower (no bath) superb: a really hot and powerful one. So things are looking up on the bedroom front. The food is very good standard fair, served quickly and cheerfully by the very helpful staff. The bar is pleasant and would be more to my taste if it didn`t have the telly on the whole time. The main reason that I keep coming back is the staff who are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. "Nay bother" is their answer to any request. I shall probably be back next year and look forward to more improvements.

Room Tip: ask for a "superior", and check that you can open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugglesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing