We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff take a bow - for it is YOU who make the Angus special!”
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Staff take a bow - for it is YOU who make the Angus special!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from 5 wonderful days at the Angus. Our room was large, light, nicely decorated with a big flatscreen tv. The walk-in wardrobe was nice too, easier to hang our clothes and keep the cases out of sight. The beds are very comfortable, bedding crisp and the duvets soft and light, I slept like a baby! The bathroom was large with spotless white towels, soap and shampoo dispensers were over the bath. The shower proved a bit tricky to operate, went from cold to scalding hot. The tiles were badly in need of re-grouting. D.i.y. jobs were needed in the bathroom area, but it was clean and bright. I was told all rooms undergoing refurbishment. Being at the Angus on the hottest week of the year (so far) almost 29 deg each day, a fan would have been welcomed, but all were in use. We quickly discovered how to open the childproof locks and feel a gentle breeze. The food cannot be faulted. Selt service breakfast was excellent and evening meals are beautifully presented and tasted good. The haggis which accompanied some meals was just perfect! Blairgowrie is a lovely little place, river walks, quaint town, nice little park and friendly folks. There is even a Co-op and Tesco a stone's throw away. In all I enjoyed every minute, especially as the weather was so good. Last but not least, the Staff are the best I have ever encountered in any UK hotel, each one takes such a pride in their work, and cannot do enough to make the stay of their clients a wonderful experience. They are warm, friendly and a credit to the hotel. All members of staff and many are very young are true professionals. Whether they served in the bar, were at the reception desk did housekeeping duties or carried meals to and fro, they never lost their cheerfulness and smiles. It is they who make the guests feel special, so thank you Angus Hotel for such a happy 5 day break.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glamorgangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    256
    148
    68
    50
See reviews for
119
312
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Looks ok online but rooms somewhat inadequately maintained ( we found a false eyelash between two of our pillows!!!???) no joke. We used the spa happily the first day then suffered chlorine burns the next. Be prepared for Indiana Jones type journey through the hotels foyer, bar, dining room, laundry room, lift shaft, function suite (with guests in attendance!) then ski store finally to reach the security door. Having cracked the code you will enter the murky depths of a cloudy pool with questionable stains in changing rooms. Thankfully staff were friendly and helpful but it needs some basics updated and a thorough clean. Midget knackered ray tube TV with bi polar volume controls was not, in room entertainment. Thankfully the weather was beautiful and there was room in the car park for our quick getaway. Overall, we had a good laugh at our own interpretation of three star :) however, £80 per night wasn't value for money. We won't be back!

Room Tip: Not room 56, only book superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank angxx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blairgowrie hotels

comrie
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Glad we picked the Angus Hotel, for a midweek 3 night break with friends.On our arrival, we were offered help with our luggage, which was a nice gesture, not so common nowadays. Our friends were given a room with a lovely view of the river (No.55) while we were given room (no.54) with no view at all - in all fairness to the receptionist, on requesting similar room to our friends, we were given the key to room (No.53) with no hassle. The rooms we had were modern and clean. The Dinner in the evening, was exceptionally good, served by very pleasant staff, although obviously a bit harrassed having to deal with two coach tours (In a separate area) and people like ourselves. The buffet breakfast supplied everything you would expect - we felt it would have been easier on the waiting staff, had you been allocated the same table each morning/evening.
Adequate car parking is available to the front and rear of the hotel, and if you preferred touring the area on the local bus service, the bus stance was right outside the hotel. Blairgowrie, itself, is a good central point for visiting places, like Forfar, Kirriemuir, Coupar Angu, aberfeldy, etc.
we certainly enjoyed our stay very much, and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Opt for a side room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanComrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a lovely meal Saturday evening for four of us and drinks etc, we have been to the angus quite a few times now as it is walking distance for us.
Can,t comment on the rooms etc as have never stayed there but judging by how busy it is it must be pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. It is situated in the centre of Blairgowrie which is a lovely place to walk around. Has a nice bar which serves a range of drinks all with a reasonable price tag. Had an all inclusive type deal for the dinner which gave a surprisingly good choice. The only complaint I have was the lack of air con and a very warm room. This did cool down eventually.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham76G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Angus is in the centre of Blairgowrie and has excellent restaraunt facilities providing full meals or just snacks, Blairgowrie is in the centre of some outstanding scenery, We have not stayed there only eaten but am sure that all the facilities will be of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This isn't a 5 star hotel but for the location and price it's brilliant. Every year myself and some colleagues visit to hike the Cateran Trail and the hotel is reasonably priced, has all the amenities you might want and has some of the friendliest staff you could want to meet. Great hotel in a lovely part of the world.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Non-vernacular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
45 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosebank House
Rosebank House
#1 of 18 in Blairgowrie
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Property: Angus Hotel
Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing