We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the highest rating”
Review of Gilmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gilmore House
Ranked #3 of 15 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Jill does a marvelous job. We stayed four nights and enjoyed every one. The beds were great and amenities were extensive. A wide variety of fresh fruit accompanied every breakfast and her cooking and baking was superb. The eggs come from her own garden.Good parking was available and we completely enjoyed ourselves.

Denis C

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

What can I say other than this place is excellent value no one could say otherwise. The room was lovely and the bathroom had everything you expect and more( face wipes, eye make up remover, shaving gel ) as well as all the usual. The breakfast was wonderful, very good choice of fresh fruit, home made scones and preserves and an excellent cooked breakfast. Jill puts in a lot of work and is very helpful, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the first and last day of the Cateran trail and Jill was kind enough to pick us up from the Perth bus station. Just from the outside it looks like a normal house/bnb, but the rooms are much more impressive. Both rooms we had were extremely comfortable, clean, cosy and well-made, although one was significantly larger than the other. I appreciated the detail put into the rooms such as face wipes and make-up remover, and there was a nice selection of teas and biscuits. The breakfast was excellent, offering a choice of cold breakfasts (yoghurt, scones, cereal, fresh fruits) as well as delicious hot scottish breakfast - which prepared us well for a long day of hiking! The location is also just a short walk from the town centre so food, whether one of the restaurants or supermarkets, is very convenient. Would return and recommend to anyone visiting Blairgowrie!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J1707L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms are much better than the exterior suggests. Large rooms with quality furnishings. Public areas could be modernised but the quality of the breakfast more than makes up for this. Will return

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovehols K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at this bed and breakfast in June 2011. It is beautiful and is extremely luxurious. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast was absolutely delicious (being mainly local produce). It was conveniently set in the town and is within easy walking of the shops, local restaurants. The only downside that I would point out is that it is incredibly expensive. Sadly I cannot justify that amount of money for an overnight stay. I tend to stay in a luxury hotel a few miles away these days that is around £20.00 per night cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review and the many positive words about the B&B. I am unsure if your stay was in 2011 or 2012. Rates for 2012 were between £35 - £37.50 per person and in 2011 between £32.50 - £35.00 for Bed and Breakfast, based on 2 in a room. Single occupancy rates are variable dependant on time of year. My rates are in line with every other 4 star property in Blairgowrie. Unfortunately being a 3 bedroom B&B which is very seasonal I cannot justify the heavy discounts that many larger hotels can offer as I am not in the position to increase my GP by F&B profits as many hotels can. My prices are clear on my website, online booking or clarified on telephone or e-mail, so any prospective guest can make an informed decision before booking as to if the B&B rates are too pricey.
Thank you, Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed in the "deluxe" room, which is a spacious room with a large bed, small seating area, desk, and enormous bathroom with separate bathtub & shower cubicle. The in-room facilities were excellent: cafetiere coffee, a flask of fresh milk, lovely biscuits, a selection of teas, and comprehensive toiletries. The bed felt bouncy to the touch but was actually really comfortable and I slept like a log. Breakfast was wonderful, with loads of choice - cereals, fruit, toast, homemade scones, and a full cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelcotterill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have stayed here twice and found it to be amazingly quiet, the bathroom is very spacious with a huge deep bath perfect for relaxing. I really like all the extra touches within the room and bathroom a real home from home. It has a beautiful sitting room again perfect for relaxing in, breakfast is lovely with plenty of choice. The Gilmore house offers great values for money Gill makes wonderful homemade scones and offers a really warm welcome. I would recommend a visit to anyone and can't wait to return again in August with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
134 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
793 reviews
4.2 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
6.2 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 5 in Blairgowrie
301 reviews
4.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#5 of 5 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore House

Address: Perth Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range: £76 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional detached late Victorian family home, offering bed and breakfast in 3 en-suite rooms. Comfy, homely and warm ambience. Well situated to explore Perthshire and beyond. Within walking distance of town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Gilmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing