We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B Ever ”
Review of Gilmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gilmore House
Ranked #5 of 19 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful little hotel. The owner is delightful, the breakfast was amazing and the rooms were marvellous - possibly the best fried breakfast I have eaten. Will stay again and recommend to anyone in the area. Wonderful wonderful wonderful

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank robjohn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Visiting friends in the area so the booking was made for us. We did have a quick look on the internet but otherwise just trusted local knowledge.
We were not disappointed. Pleasant house on a main, but not too noisy, road so easy to find. The lady of the house showed us to our room which was a total delight, pretty without being frilly. Spotlessly clean and with so many special little touches, every little detail really had been thought of. Huge bed, comfortable and warm. Fresh milk in a mini flask, instead of the UHT pots, good quality biscuits, teas & real coffee. The Guests book in the room contained so much information about the local area, places to visit/walk/eat etc it was fantastic for anyone touring. The bathroom was huge, with a full size bath and large shower cubicle. Excellent quality of towels and toiletries too.
Breakfast was perfect too. Where possible local produce was used and the Black Pudding was the best ever tasted. Hot, fresh and plentiful, what more could we ask?
This really is the perfect B&B and we certainly recommend it and will use it again on any future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having chosen Gilmore on recommendations we found Jill and her guest house exceeded expectations. Very comfortable room, with a huge ensuite bathroom. Jill's attention to detail is a marvel and this really impressed me. Large choice at breakfast which was delicious.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back and you will have a wonderful view, and no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I totally enjoyed my stay at Gilmore House. The bed was very soft and comfortable and the chairs in the bay window nook made a great place to sit, read and watch the sun set. There was also an upstairs sitting room available to relax in where the WIFI connection was very good, unlike some of the places I stayed at. Jill was very nice and cooked terrific breakfasts. I particularly enjoyed her egg and bacon on a roll. Every morning she had fresh berries; she also made some berry compote that tasted great on her home-made scones. Overall, the stay was comfortable and relaxing. I would definitely stay at Gilmore House the next time I visit Blairgowrie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Jill does a marvelous job. We stayed four nights and enjoyed every one. The beds were great and amenities were extensive. A wide variety of fresh fruit accompanied every breakfast and her cooking and baking was superb. The eggs come from her own garden.Good parking was available and we completely enjoyed ourselves.

Denis C

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

What can I say other than this place is excellent value no one could say otherwise. The room was lovely and the bathroom had everything you expect and more( face wipes, eye make up remover, shaving gel ) as well as all the usual. The breakfast was wonderful, very good choice of fresh fruit, home made scones and preserves and an excellent cooked breakfast. Jill puts in a lot of work and is very helpful, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the first and last day of the Cateran trail and Jill was kind enough to pick us up from the Perth bus station. Just from the outside it looks like a normal house/bnb, but the rooms are much more impressive. Both rooms we had were extremely comfortable, clean, cosy and well-made, although one was significantly larger than the other. I appreciated the detail put into the rooms such as face wipes and make-up remover, and there was a nice selection of teas and biscuits. The breakfast was excellent, offering a choice of cold breakfasts (yoghurt, scones, cereal, fresh fruits) as well as delicious hot scottish breakfast - which prepared us well for a long day of hiking! The location is also just a short walk from the town centre so food, whether one of the restaurants or supermarkets, is very convenient. Would return and recommend to anyone visiting Blairgowrie!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J1707L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blairgowrie hotels
4.4 mi away
Rosebank House
Rosebank House
#2 of 19 in Blairgowrie
291 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glenshieling House
Glenshieling House
#1 of 19 in Blairgowrie
221 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
774 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alyth Hotel
Alyth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Alyth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore House

Address: Perth Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range: £75 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional detached late Victorian family home, offering bed and breakfast in 3 en-suite rooms. Comfy, homely and warm ambience. Well situated to explore Perthshire and beyond. Within walking distance of town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gilmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing