We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Ivybank Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ivybank Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
horbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Warm welcome, cyclist friendly (place to lock bikes away), comfortable and clean rooms (there is a bath!!!! A definite must for cyclists!). This place is very well run and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJD23743777, Owner at Ivybank Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
45
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

A well-run, clean and homely B+B. The owners were friendly and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJD23743777, Owner at Ivybank Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levanger
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Excellent service, warm helpful people, certainly will be back if we are in that area. Highly recommended. The packed luches were wonderful when we were out walking: nourishing, large, tasty!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norwaybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, Northamptonshire, England.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

A rather dated guest house, over priced in my opinion. Simply just 'Adequate' for the purpose and no more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawsonsofcorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I were one of four couples who stayed at this guest house for only one evening. I do not speak for the others in the party. The room allocated to us was at the top of the house up a flight of narrow steep stairs. The shabby room was small and poorly funished with a mis-match of bed linen. There was a layer of dust on the skirting board and the en suite 'cupboard' was grubby. There was not only no hot water there was no water at all from the hot tap. The toilet seat was broken and when I mentioned these facts to the proprietor as we left I was informed 'They were alright yesterday'.
I trust if you read this review that you noticed the dark hair I found under the egg at breakfast time and left on the side of my plate?
On the plus side, the residents' lounge appeared to be comfortable although we did not use and there was off road parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We booked a 2 night stay at this guest house, but were disappointed with the room. The only room I could book on the internet was a room with a four poster bed, we thought this would be nice as it is difficult for us to get away from work commitments and felt we were booking something special......big mistake !!!!
The room was clean and tidy but dated, the bed was just awful, it was very very creaky, hard and uncomfortable. The towels were not changed for our second night. At £85 per night we felt it was a bit over priced.
On the plus side, the breakfast was very good, freshly cooked and plenty of choice and the couple were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleDragon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Good clean and comfortable accommodation in a very well maintained house.
Our host was friendly and helpful and breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianwatt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
3.0 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivybank Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivybank Lodge

Property: Ivybank Lodge
Address: Boat Brae | Rattray, Blairgowrie PH10 7BH, Scotland (Formerly Ivybank Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivybank Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management from July 2016 A warm and relaxing atmosphere awaits you at Ivybank Lodge, a magnificent Victorian house, built around 1850 and set within an acre of mature gardens. We are located just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Blairgowrie, a picturesque market town in the heart of beautiful Perthshire. The area offers easy access to championship golf courses, excellent salmon rivers, and some of Scotland's finest skiing and snowboarding resorts. The city of Perth is 16 miles away, whilst Dundee (19 miles), Pitlochry (24 miles), Glenshee (24 miles), St. Andrews (32 miles), Edinburgh (59 miles), Glasgow (74 miles) are all within easy reach. The nearest international airport is Edinburgh (56 miles). Breakfast (complimentary), afternoon cream tea and dinner are served in our stylish dining room. There is a comfortable lounge available for guest use. Wi-Fi available throughout the house. Secure storage for bicycles and motorcycles. We look forward to making your stay in Scotland truly memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ivybank Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivybank Lodge Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing