We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful holiday from the start....”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kateofsca...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday from the start....”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived to be greeted by a welcome hamper of local goodies, a dozen eggs from the owners chickens and milk, from then on we were completely at home. Our party made use of the three double bedrooms all with en-suite which in my experience of rental properties is uncommon. Our party were all grown ups but we so enjoyed the different animals that the owner keeps, goats, alpacas, donkeys, chickens etc etc, children would love all this.The icing on the cake was when we were offered a lift to the local pub where we had booked a meal, meaning all our party could enjoy the evening. The cottage is well placed for visiting the area, we particularly like nearby Dunkeld, lovely community garden and good shopping.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner both friendly and helpful, made her guest feel very much at home
Liked least: The rain and leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you had a great stay at Muir Iosal, thank you for taking the time to share your experience there with us. That welcome sounds wonderful, what better way to settle in than with local treats and a great place to call home! We certainly hope that you return for another holiday very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strawberr...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended *****”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just completed a week's stay in Muir Iosal cottage, 4 miles outside Blairgowrie and Rattray and cannot recommend this cottage enough.
Spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable and well-stocked with every item you could possibly need on a self-catering holiday, also a compendium of games and playing cards and bookshelves full of reading for all ages. There are three, good-sized, double bedrooms here, all en-suite (great showers, downstairs bath) and televisions in each room. The largest is easily a family-room with an extra bed in it. Before you arrive for your holiday, Ailene will contact you to ask how you want the rooms made-up, either as doubles or twins. As doubles, the beds are large king-size and very comfortable indeed. You will also find fresh milk (your choice) and eggs upon arrival and a welcome hamper of treats is also generously provided. There is a basket full of brochures and suggestions for places to visit in Perthshire and beyond, as well as maps to help plan your itinerary. There is also a gas BBQ and large table for outdoor eating in spacious, enclosed area outside the front door. Swings for children of all ages, too. Four of us (and two dogs) stayed here, although we were originally meant to be a party of six. We were very comfortable and happy at Muir Iosal and would certainly return to stay here. Recommend a visit to the lovely, little towns of Pitlochry and Dunkeld (both within 30 mins drive), scenic walks at The Hermitage (within 15 mins), a visit to The Famous Grouse distillery and Crieff town (within 45 mins) and shopping at the House of Bruar, (within 60 mins, northwards up the A9.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipx69
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A cosy, quiet and luxurious retreat!”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (3 adults, 3 kids + 3 dogs) booked Lon Cottage (one of the three cottages that makes the Muir Iosal courtyard) for my sisters 40th birthday. We chose it over others as the accommodation was based over 3 rooms instead of a lot of others that were only 2. Also it has hard flooring which we always look for when travelling with the dogs so that we don't have to worry about muddy paws!

Despite having excellent directions to get to the cottage we still managed to get a bit lost in the country lanes but our host Ailene was more than helpful and we eventually found our way! (HINT: if you're arriving in the dark look for the Scottish Tourist Board sign, as that shows up better than the Nether Kirkton one) Ailene came to greet us and show us around - the cottage was lit and the heating was blaring which was a wonderfully warm welcome, and then we found a luxurious welcome hamper and bottle of wine on the table, and even better - freshly laid eggs in the fridge! The cottage is absolutely HUGE - much more spacious than it looks on the photos, and everything was spotlessly clean and comfortably furnished. There was nothing we wanted for during our stay - even things like spare light bulbs were in a drawer.

We didn't want for anything whilst we were there - the beds were comfortable, the showers were hot and powerful and everything was well equipped. Blairgowrie is close enough to provide pub meals and cafes, whilst the cottage is rural enough to provide ample walking opportunities on your doorstep or close by (we walked in Bogles Field mostly on the way into Blairgowrie - very popular with dog walkers).

The highlight of our stay was going to Action Glen at Crieff Hydro too, which is not far from this cottage and offers a wealth of things to do for all the family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterhesk...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“There are not enough superlatives to describe this cottage adequately.”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived, until the time of our departure, we were delighted with the property.
We were welcomed by the owner, who gave us a quick tour and explained all we needed to know. The welcome pack was a thoughtful touch and much appreciated.
The cottage is well appointed, roomy and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
Blairgowrie and Dunkeld are easily reached as is the A9 for travelling further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your fabulous review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will book with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing