We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strathclare House

View of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of House
Entrance to House Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View of House
Entrance to House
Hall
Hall Entrance
Hall Balcony
Open plan living and dining
Dining
Kitchen
Ground Floor Bedroom One (Double with En-suite and River View)
En-suite
River View
Ground Floor Bedroom Two (Twin with shared bathroom)
Shared Bathroom (note that there is no bath)
First Floor Master En-suite (with river view)
River View Master Bedroom
The River with Trout Fishing Rights
River View Master Bedroom
En-suite Double Ground Floor
First Floor Double with En-suite
First Floor Double
Kirkmichael Village
Garden Patio with Dining for eight people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Darcabdn
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful home, beautiful garden everything you could possibly need for a lovely relaxing break. We were made most wellcome by the owners and a lovely welcome basket was left for us. Would certainly recommend this holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Liked everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thankyou so much for your kind comments. Much appreciated that you would recommend our holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon-We...
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
“A great place for a family vacation, one of most relaxing places to stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Your every need has been thought of by the owners. Strathclare house is one of the most comfortable holiday properties I have stayed in. We particularly enjoyed waking up to the lovely garden views from the master bedroom. The bag of local goodies I thought was a really nice touch, coffee pads also included for the machine. The house is very spacious, big TV, which kept teenagers occupied with movies, well kept garden was enjoyed by all. I would certainly book again.
Kirkmichael is a great location, lots do around this area, lots of nice walks. I enjoyed both meals we had at the Strathmore inn, which is about 10 mins walk from strathclare.
The only issue we had was that sometimes in Kirkmichael it is not always easy to pick up a mobile connection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and tranquility
Liked least: nothing negative to say
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnjohns...
Valldemossa, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thank you for our lovely holiday ! Everything was perfect right from the minute you welcomed us a lovely personal touch and thank you for the welcoming basket . We were six family members age ranging from 94 to 14 . It was perfect for my dad who struggles to walk he easily managed to move around and loved to sit in the conservatory and look out on to the garden . We went on some lovely walks and once got caught in a hail storm we were soaked but when we came back the house was so warm the log fire was blazing it gave the house a lovely atmosphere . The bedrooms were amazing so clean and the bathrooms too lovely hot showers . We loved the kitchen / lounge area so spacious we were always together but also we had our own space . The cooker was a dream and we loved the ice machine and wine cooler . We visited Pitlochry and also went on to the House of Bruar which we enjoyed . We also loved the sound system and tv plenty comfy seats to sit in and at night we enjoyed playing cards . The wifi worked perfectly in all rooms which kept us all happy especially my 14 year old daughter which often skyped her friends . We throughly enjoyed every bit of the week we stayed and time flew past and we were all sad to leave . We will be back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our house. We would welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house exceeded our expectations in terms of the quality of furnishings etc
Liked least: Nothing to comment on
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. This is very much appreciated and we are delighted you had a relaxing holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tracy B
Lilley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning Accommodation”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a fantastic choice we made to stay at Strathclare House. Every detail was thought of by the owners Kenny & Kim, cleanliness was exceptional, the house was comfortable, warm and gave a real homely, welcoming feel. The welcome hamper was also a thoughtful touch and I would not hesitate to book again or recommend this property. We also had a great 4 days ski-ing/boarding up at Glenshee with powder snow and blue skies, we were very lucky and then coming back to this little gem at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything and having 4 en-suite bathrooms.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Tracy, many thanks for your comments. Kim and I are so glad that you all had a fantastic holiday, especially with the snow coming at the right time for your stay. We would welcome you back anytime.

Kenny and Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stdboy
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As soon as we drove into the drive way we could see we had made right decision on renting this beautiful place. We were wowed even more once we stepped inside the house.
We were met by Kenny and Kim and they had prepared a lovely welcoming basket of goodies which topped off our arrival.

Nothing to really be negative about and if you decide to rent this place i am sure you wont be disappointed. I just wish the weather could have done the place justice (the river flooded but fortunaetly its along way from the house), my wee boy loved the garden if only the rain would stop..
Have to apologise to K & K but in our haste in leaving i hadnt left the rubbish out and hope it wasnt too much of a inconvenience. Hope to go back in the future.

Cheers..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Weather :-(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
17hab
Selkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent holiday home”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Strathclare House was all we could hope for and more. Superb décor and furnishings, with all mod cons. The space both inside and outside the house was plentiful for our family of six adults and four children. The children especially enjoyed the large garden.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing