We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay to visit a relative.”
Review of Glenshieling House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenshieling House
Ranked #1 of 15 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Beautiful location ideal for the highlands, Rosemary and Katherine are wonderful hosts and make you feel completely at home and offer great advice on the area. A lovely place to stay, i will be going back. Paul K.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

On our roadtrip through GB, my boyfriend and I also stopped at this beautiful B&B "Glenshieling House". I booked everything in advance as I have Celiac Disease and some other intolerances like cows milk and eggs (etc) and so it is usually difficult for me to find a nice place which can also care for my food. However, this nice stay was perfect. Rosemary and Catherine welcomed us and showed us our room which was very very nice and the bathroom was ensuite which was just perfect. You can tell form the house house and the garden that they two love their place. The breakfast in the morning was just perfect! I had everything I needed and wanted and even could think of! :-) It's definately one of the best places to stay in Scotland! I think I will come back this summer with my Mom when we will be driving through Scotland! I can only recommend this place to everybody!!!
(It was August 2010)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny-Gei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed for 4 nights with my sister whilst tracing some family roots. Rosemary and Catherine are superb hosts, great breakfasts, porridge to die for!!! They are both so helpful. Room was spacious, clean and lots of lovely touches. Could have stayed for weeks. Lovely setting and so close to lots of beautiful spots. Hope to make it back again one day!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was my second visit to Glenshieling, and while ownership has changed, it is as lovely as ever. Rosemary and Catherine were welcoming and friendly hosts, and if we are ever in the area again, it would definitely stay there. The room was clean and comfortable, with huge windows that let in lovely light and the sweet songs of birds. The bathroom was ensuite and just the right size. Lighting in the room was excellent, and there was a hot pot, tea and biscuits provided. Breakfast was prepared by Catherine, and while she calls herself just the "cook" it was delicious. She does have the best porridge in Perthshire!

I have only one suggestion - it would be helpful to have wi-fi. I do a lot of Internet travel searching, and that was not available at Glenshieling.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KDRaknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Fantastic hosts, B and B is a credit to Catherine and Rosemary, fantastic location, room superb.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I booked my parents into the Glenshieling House for a weekend break after speaking to Rosemary who was very friendly and helpful.
Both Rosemary and Catherine are charming and you got the sense that they would do anything to help if asked - although what they provide does not leave you wanting anyway. The bedroom was spacious with en suite and had lots of little extra touches which makes staying in a B&B so much nicer than a hotel.
Breakfast is cooked to order by Catherine and the 'Full Scottish' gives you a very satisfying start to the day. Guests also have use of a residents lounge and conservatory with board games and a good selection of books provided.
The 3 acres of grounds are well looked after and the position is quiet and away from the main roads which ensures a great nights sleep.
All in all a GREAT find which ticks all the boxes for a relaxing break in a beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We came across Glenshieling house after taking a major wrong turn after leaving Glenlivet. Instead of getting back onto the Grantown on Spey road we found ourselves driving south through Lecht and Glenshee. This turned out to be one of the best wrong turns anyone could possibly have made as we were privileged to experience some of the most fabulous views possible to be witnessed in the entire world. Spectacular doesn't even come close. However, we had no accommodation booked in the area and hadn't packed the camping gear so were beginning to contemplate spending the night in the car! By the time we found the Glenshieling we'd been driving for 10 hours and just wanted a bed for the night. It was after 8pm when we pulled in yet despite this being outside the usual check in time we were greeted with great hospitality by Catherine who showed us the room to make sure it was ok for us before registering. She explained everything we needed to know about our stay and gave suggestions about places to get an evening meal. The room was immaculate with excellent amenities. The bed was very comfortable with top class bed linen which afforded us a well needed rest! Breakfast was ordered the evening of arrival and we were able to specify what time we would be eating. Consequently everything we had ordered was delivered quickly and efficiently. Breakfast was beautifully presented and went down a treat, with Rosemary keeping everything flowing excellently. Fresh coffee was offered throughout the meal and delicious home made preserves were presented on the table. Additionally we were lucky enough to be amused by hilarious in house entertainment provided by a couple of rabbits and a particularly persistent red squirrel. All in all an exceptional experience. We have experienced many hotel, guest house and B&B visits in Scotland over the past couple of years and this sits easily in the top 5!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biffcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.6 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
757 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.0 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blairgowrie
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenshieling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshieling House

Address: Hatton Road, Blairgowrie PH10 7HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenshieling House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenshieling House, a magnificent Victorian villa built in 1893; peacefully located within its own private gardens and woodland of three acres and set amongst the rolling Perthshire hills yet only a fifteen minute stroll to Blairgowrie town centre and all its amenities. Blairgowrie lies in the Southern Highlands of Scotland and is an ideally situated base. Whatever the purpose of your visit to the area you will find a wealth of activities and places to visit. You will find Glenshieling House just off the A93 road, which leads directly to the ski slopes of Glenshee and then onto Braemar and Royal Deeside. We are also only a short car journey to Perth, Dundee and St Andrews. We are perfectly situated for sightseeing, golfing, cycling, shooting, fishing, walking, adventurous sports activities and shopping. Glenshieling House offers its guests a peaceful haven in a beautiful location, well away from the noise and bustle of everyday life. A warm welcome awaits you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Glenshieling House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenshieling House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing