We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - a must stay !”
Review of Ruthven Steadings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruthven Steadings
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic - a must stay !”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in The Old Tractor Shed room for three nights in June 2012 and it was superb. You couldn t have wanted more comfort from a 5 star hotel and we were made to feel extemely relaxed and welcome by Julie and John. Breakfast was fabulous with a great choice and everything was very fresh, including the bread from Julie's breadmaker. Our parents recommended this B&B and as soon as we arrived, we could see why. We have stayed in many and varied B&Bs over the years and really couldn t fault a single thing. From location, to decor, comfort, surroundings, hospitality and food, this place is first class and great value for money.

Room Tip: Both rooms are very spacious and of equally high standard. The Old Tractor Shed is the bigger / gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
115
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

In bitter weather (even for Scotland) Ruthen Steadings provided us with warmth and comfort in a spacious room!

"The Old Tractor Shed" may not appear to be an auspicious name for an en-suite room of huge proportions, but it provides fabulous comfort with a well-thought-out touches.

We were made very welcome, the breakfasts were excellent, and the advice concerning local restaurants for evening meals was accurate and useful.

A thoroughly recommended b&b.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Jacqu... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

It has all been described by previous visitors to this superb Bed and Breakfast accommodation. My wife and myself have stayed at numerous properties and this is one of the best. Julie and John work hard to make sure your stay is first class.

Room Tip: There are two rooms for B&B. We stayed in the Old Tractor Room. Another couple were staying in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ruthven Steadings for 5 nights in May. It lived up to all the glowing reports here on TripAdvisor. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and welcoming and our hosts, Julie and John, were unfailingly attentive, cheerful, helpful, and kind. I fear that Ruthven Steadings has spoiled us for all future BnB stays! Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajerosRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My partner and I stayed at Ruthven for the weekend middle of May 2012 and it was fab, there are two rooms to choose from The Tractor room or the Dairy room, we were in the Dairy room and it was so spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a great bathroom all earthy and with great character, everything was natural wood and reminded you of a traditional farmhouse, comfy bed flat screen tv and dvd player with choice of dvds to watch.

There is loads of places to eat in Kingussie for dinner, the owners had a folder with local places and menus to choose from with recommendations, plus some of the places had 10% off if you mentioned you stayed at the Ruthven, we had a great dinner.

We had a lovely breakfast all local and fresh produce couldn't ask for more.

The owners were very attentive, friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

Definately going back already organising to stay later on in the year.

If you are touring round Kingussie and the Cairngorms this is the best place to stay and tour the amazing countryside from, there is so much to do and see.

Highly recommended.

Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The Dairy room is great, the owner let us see the other room the Tractor room and that also looked g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyCrookston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This Bnb is superb - Julie has thought of everything. We stayed in the Tractor Shed room - huge bathroom with deep full size bath and separate shower with great unending hot water. Bedroom has huge bed which is very comfortable and lots of comfy pillows. Good couch to sit on to watch TV and a good supply of DVD's. A fruit bowl is a lovely touch. Coffee and rea making. Excellent easily adjustable heating which is a plus in this area of lovely Scotland. Julie's breakfasts really are a highlight with everyone's tastes catered for - try the pancake with fruit and cooked apple and a swirl of maple syrup. My husband went for the full Scottish cooked breakfast. Good off street parking. There are 2 shallow broad steps between bedroom and bathroom. The other thing - this BnB is absolutely spotless !
Julie has excellent suggestions for eating out but do go to the Silverfjord just up the road - excellent restaurant with imaginative cooking with regional produce - mains between 12 and 16 pounds - also has a cheerful bar with a different menu which is cheaper. Whilst Kingussie is a great centre to tackle all the outdoor pursuits we are rather less enthusiastic about this but we found heaps to do - try the Highland Folk Museum, take the Cairngorm mountain railway up to the top - great exhibition on geology and flora of the region as well as a good cafe. Dalwhinnie Distillery, the Strathspey steam railway, Tomintoul and Dufftown specialist whisky shops,the wet lands and bird hides of the Insch Marshes, Ruthven barracks. We loved this BnB and this part of Scotland,

Room Tip: The old Tractor Shed is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Ruthven Steadings over Easter Weekend this year. From the moment we arrived Julie was welcoming, attentive and proved a fantastic host throughout our stay. We were accommodated in the Dairy Room and it was of an excellent standard, extremely clean and very comfortable. Breakfast continued the high quality theme with a wide choice of local and home made produce.

The positive reviews of this bed and breakfast are in no way exaggerated. The standard of room is excellent and provided at an extremely competitive price. Well worth a visit and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
17.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthven Steadings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthven Steadings

Property: Ruthven Steadings
Address: Ruthven Steading | Ruthven, Kingussie PH21 1NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthven Steadings 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful cottages in the Cairngorms national park each sleeping 4 in 2 bedrooms: Double with en-suite. Twin with shared bathroom. Superb mountain views and visiting wildlife. Within walking distance of Kingussie, RSPB Insh Marshes, Ruthven Barracks. Close to Highland Folk Museum, Loch Insh Watersports and the Highland Wildlife Park. Well equipped kitchen, spacious open plan lounge-diner, sun deck and lawn with bbq & furniture, hall/drying room with generous hanging. Free Wifi, Free-sat TV, DVD. Free use of table tennis & 2 shopping bikes. Free use of Washing machine & tumble drier ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing