We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place”
Review of Slemish B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Slemish B&B
Ranked #4 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really good quality B&B, high standard of everything from the room, the breakfast to the helpful advice on where to go in the area. Run by a great couple who obviously enjoy what they do. Good location just off the high street, happy to welcome soaked travellers and send them away dry and refreshed.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, one double and we had a triple (3 singles)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review...Guests like yourselves make it easy for us to enjoy what we do.
Drying room always available...Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kingussie and the highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
86
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

John and Lorraine,

We cannot thank you enough for our wonderful experience from the moment we arrived at your beautiful guest house.
Your attention to detail, quality linens and toiletries, a beautifully appointed room with that enormous luxury ensuite were more than one could expect from a hotel of any grade.
A sitting area and dressing area added to the feeling of spaciousness.
You ensured that we had all that we would require and it was a joy to chat with you both.
Breakfasts were amazing with an extensive menu cooked to order and a daily selection of home made breads.
Absolutely faultless from start to finish and we wish you both well and continued good health.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at Slemish. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay at Slemish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our stay in Slemish in July 2014 with our daughter really was fantastic. The owners were very friendly, welcoming and willing to look up the answers on all our questions including making prints of the information we wanted. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, comfortable, with a terrific eye for details and very clean. Apart from the standard continental breakfast breakfast (homemade bread, serveral kinds of fresh fruits, rich choice of cheeses, marmelades and teas, coffee, milk, orangejuice) a lovely, comprehensive vegetarian or Scottish breakfast can be served on a beautifully set table. Both the host and hostess have pleasure in creating a warm home for their guests and are genuinely interested in them. With "old fashioned" dedication and zeal they proudly maintain not only (almost completely) their house themselves, but they also make the stay of their guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible. We hope to come back some day!

Nico and José Ohlenbusch, Zaandam, Netherlands.

Room Tip: The B&B is perfect for a family. There's a spacious double room with ensuite and a 3 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marjolein856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,
It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience at Slemish. Your wonderful feedback is incredibly motivational to us and is greatly appreciated.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had an excellent stay here. The property is perfect, as is the food (amazing home baked bread). We were travelling using public transport and John was very helpful in providing us with a lift to the train station when required.

We would love to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brrd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience at Slemish. We are always happy to collect our guests from local transport stops and as you appreciate travel in the area is simple by bus or train.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you on your next visit to Kingussie and the highlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked both rooms for our group and John and Lorraine made us very welcome.
They gave us expert advice every morning and we wouldn't have had such an amazing holiday without their incredible knowledge of the area.
The breakfasts were some of the best we have had away from home - especially the haggis which was delicious!
It's also close enough to the town to wander in for dinner which we did every night.

Room Tip: The larger King-sized bedroom is lovely - especially the very large bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taraandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay at Slemish. We are glad you found our haggis to be so delicious. It, of course like all our produce is locally sourced for your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

To borrow from Mary Poppins, this stay was practically perfect in every way!

Excellent service, fully equipped room, bathroom. We wanted for nothing.

Food was a wide choice and professionally prepared.

Very quiet location but handy for the village, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: My wife and I are quite tall so we need a king-sized bed. This was our choice at Slemish. It had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for choosing to stay at Slemish and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We could not fault this lovely B and B, and the extremely pleasant, helpful and attentive John and Lorraine. The bedroom and its en suite bathroom were spacious and beautifully appointed, and we were made to feel very much at home. Breakfast was memorable, with lots of fresh fruit and home baked breads. Yes, not just one sort but 3 different ones. And the whisky marmalade was delicious. Then there was a huge choice of cooked breakfast dishes. It's a good job we had our bicycles with us to burn off some of the calories. It was an excellent place to stay, and we would highly recommend this great place and people. John was also very thoughtful, helping us to plan our cycle route for the day, and he is obviously very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkIslandwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your time with us. We are happy that you found kingussie as an excellent base for your cycling excursions. Remember that our garage is always available
to store the cycles when not in use. We hope to see you again in the future to set you off on new
routes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slemish B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slemish B&B

Property: Slemish B&B
Address: Slemish Dunbarry Road, Kingussie PH21 1JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing