We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful”
Review of Ossian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ossian Hotel
Ranked #22 of 23 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stopped off here with our two dogs on our journey south following the A9 being closed. Host was friendly and although the rooms were all booked he assured us that if the road didn't reopen he'd be able to sort something out for us. The road opened in time for us to continue on our journey so didn't stay over, would certainly stay here if looking for somewhere in the Aviemore area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Considering that they are in the process of major rennovations, this was a very pleasant experience. Although there was no hot breakfast available, the cold selection more than met our needs. I am sorry that future guests will be going self catering but this will not put us off visiting again. Many thanks Tony, for your hospitality and good luck with the new venture.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Charming bnb with a very friendly host. He knows everything about where to go and what to do in the surrounding area. It will be an even better place to stay at after the new rooms are done. Stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callegyllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The room smelt, the decoration was very shabby and the bed was squeaky and lumpy. I could not stay here and they have refused me a refund. I was advised at the door that there would be no hot breakfast and the restaurant is closed. Not up to the standard one expects when paying £47 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suegrayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have just returned from a weekend at The Ossian Inn with friends, we stayed in the quad room and have no complaints. Tony was very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a VERY early start in the morning and he ensured that we did not leave hungry, we had a selection of items to choose from before heading off for a long day.

We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Tony was a great host and couldn't have helped us out anymore than he did, he booked us a table at the pub up the road and they let us down so he printed off a takeaway menu then had a friend deliver it to the b&b which was greatly appreciated after a 15 mile walk. He then heated up some plates, set a table and cleaned up after us. The decor is in need of updating but that wouldn't put me off staying there again. The cold breakfast choice was huge and a refreshing change from a fry up! Thanks Tony

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybe1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We came up for the children to see snow for the first time. It was -3oC and snowing outside so it was great to have a cosy room to sleep in.The beds were comfortable and warm, plenty of hot water, and the breakfast was great. Very close to the Cairn Gorm Mountain (by car) for skiing.There would be plenty of activities close by during the summer too. Not too far a drive to Loch Ness, if you wanted to look for monsters. We would stay there again if we were up that way.

Room Tip: We wanted the room for 6 persons + cot, as we are a large family with small children. This was unava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123JTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
10.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Insh Hall B&B
Loch Insh Hall B&B
#1 of 1 in Kincraig
81 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Silverfjord Kingussie
The Silverfjord Kingussie
#20 of 23 in Kingussie
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
282 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sonnhalde
Sonnhalde
#10 of 23 in Kingussie
46 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossian Hotel

Address: The Brae, Kingussie PH21 1QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range: £52 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ossian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ossian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing