We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of Glengarry B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glengarry B&B
Ranked #11 of 23 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed one night at this wonderful b&b and that is all we needed to know its quality. Janet & Roger are great hosts who provide a beautiful and clean place for the visitors. The breakfast was excellent with good conversation among the other guests. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Kingussie area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MooseTrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Over the years we have stayed at many B&Bs throughout Great Britain. Glengarry is simply one of the best! Janet and Roger Crawford are the epitome of perfect hosts. They welcomed us upon arrival to tea in their garden. They offered advice on places to eat in Kingussie and attractions to include during our visit. Breakfast was superbly cooked by Janet and served by Roger who engaged us in pleasant conversation. Our room was very attractive and faced the Cairngorm Mountains which we visited during the trip. Attention to detail is evident throughout the house, from the comfortable room to information provided for visitors to breakfast offerings. The B&B is close to town allowing one to walk to restaurants for dinner We stayed three nights and enjoyed the town. We highly recommend Glengarry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We made a last minute booking at a VisitScotland office and their recommendation of a 3-night stay at Glengarry B&b in Kingussie was excellent. Janet and Roger put their hearts into the B&B and it showed in the delicious hot breakfast cooked to order by Janet, the warm and personal service of Roger at the breakfast table, the beautifully-displayed fruit tray, the different homemade jams, the list of 20+ things to do/visit in the vicinity, compete with a hand-drawn map, little luxuries in the bathroom, the tray for the footwear, the decoration of the bedroom, etc. etc.. I've stayed at other B&bs in different countries but am totally impressed with the thoughtfulness, care and effort put into Glengarry by Janet and Roger.
The VIctorian property has a beautiful garden with quiet nearby walks. The only Chinese takeaway in town serves delicious king prawn chow mein with fresh prawns, crunchy beansprouts and flavorful chilli, its cooking more authentic than the average Chinese takeaway. We also had great fun dancing at the Duke a dorm Hotel with live music and affordable drinks. Kingussie is a good alternative to Aviemore as a base for the Carigorm Mountain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeeeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A quick search on the internet lead us to Glengarry B&B and it was a wonderful experience from the moment we reached. We reached quite late and yet Janet and Roger were all enthusiasm to receive us warmly.Mornings started with delicious breakfast and followed by some special relish with tea.Really looking forward for another wonderful experience.Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My visit to Glengarry B&B was the result of a recommendation of a friend and it did not disappoint! We arrived on our motorcycles after a long ride down from John O' Groats and Roger and Janet were on the threshold to welcome us. My room was superbly appointed with a magnificent view towards the snowcapped (in May!) Cairngorms. We were given excellent recommendations (and discount vouchers!) for local restaurants in Kingussie and enjoyed great conversation with Roger (no stranger to elderly motorcycles himself!). After a very comfortable night's sleep, breakfast was a joy. Great quality food, especially the home made jam and marmalade. Most impressive was Roger's willingness to help out when we discovered that one of the bikes had a damaged tyre. He located a supplier for us in Inverness (on a Bank Holiday Saturday) and later on that day took the trouble to phone us to make sure we had arrived safely at the garage and obtained the replacement tyre. I would thoroughly recommend the Glengarry B&B in Kingussie to anyone looking for a base to tour the Cairngorms area or as a stopover when heading north or south.

Room Tip: Great views towards the Cairngorms from the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GatodeElCallao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at the Glengarry b&b in March of this year and could not of asked for anything better from this b&b and the wonderful proprietors, Janet & Roger.
We arrived a few hours earlier than expected and in the first real snow Scotland had seen this year, we were welcomed with tea and biscuits and showed to our immaculate room, which had been recently decorated.
After warming up, Janet showed us around the b&b and gave us details of local restaurants and things to do, including the recommendation of the local tea room at the nursery that many reviewers have enjoyed, which we did too the following day!
We ate in the Silver fjord restaurant just a short walk away which was a very good recommendation.
The following morning after a beautiful breakfast, Roger gave us a print out of the weather forecast for the day which was a lovely personal touch that we never experienced anywhere that we have stayed in the past.
When leaving the b&b, Janet kindly gave us an Easter gift for our 2yr old daughter who we had left for the first time to enjoy this great trip. We both agreed this was a wonderful surprise and a real demonstration of the personal and friendly service you can expect from the Glengarry b&b.
We will definitely return and recommend to anyone.
Thanks to Janet & Roger
PS we thought the trays in each room for our wet, snowy shoes was a lovely idea and should be adopted by more hotels

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at Glengarry for 3 nights, and were delighted with the place right upon arrival as it looked as nice in real life as it did on the website.
But the reason why Glengarry stands out is the owners Janet & Roger.
They welcomed us with a nice tea and very good cake, and had all the information we could ever need throughout the stay.
To start with, as probably happens a lot for people on such trips, we arrived around 7pm, and were ready to navigate the net to find a nice place to eat.
In this case though, there was no need, in the information compiled for us by Janet & Roger you had your choice of local restaurants, all very close to the place, and some at walking distance. with good description of the menus. and some recommendations based on our desires (style, price, ...).
Out of the list of restaurants they had talked about, one had struck our fancy and we had planned to go to it the last night. The morning in question, I simply asked Janet if booking at noon for the evening would be reasonable enough ... no need, as she offered to do it for us.
By the time we came by in the afternoon, everything had been taken care of.

They also provided us with a map of many activities available in the region, and some personal favorites of theirs, like the alpine nursery and they lovely tea room and cakes.
We went and sat there looking at all the birds and red squirrel for 2 hours (and 2 cakes each ...).

Our trip to Scotland included 3 stops, all very nice, but this one really standed out, this felt like "the right way to do it".

Really an amazing place, and lovely people that make it so your stay is as enjoyable as can be.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.2 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 23 in Kingussie
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Silverfjord Kingussie
The Silverfjord Kingussie
#20 of 23 in Kingussie
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
497 reviews
0 mi away
Sonnhalde
Sonnhalde
#10 of 23 in Kingussie
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry B&B

Address: Glengarry East Terrace, Kingussie PH21 1JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing