We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hermitage Guest House
Ranked #7 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect B & B”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed for 5 nights in this excellent B & B. Andrew and Pauline were friendly and welcoming, the room was immaculate, beds comfortable and the breakfasts perfect. Kingussie is a small town and has facilities to match, however for those seeking a quiet location within easy reach of the area's amenities, this is a very good place to stay. We would not hesitate to recommend or to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your lovley comments, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back to The Hermitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

An unexpected stay at the delightful town of Kingussie led us to the Hermitage where we experienced a wonderful relaxing stay .The room was immaculate, spotlessly clean,comfortable
and tastefully decorated . Andrew and Pauline are great hosts,welcoming interesting and very
helpful .Their suggestion to dine at Silverfojd proved to be a winner. Breakfast was excellent,a
great selection to satisfy all tastes very well presented, yummy and generous. Our only regret is we could only stay one night as we would love a month of this comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review it was nice meeting you both
Have a great time in Scotland and have a safe journey back to Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as we were attending a friends wedding in Kingussie. Andrew and Pauline were great hosts. The breakfast is a delight, even if it is a bit restricted to being served from 0800 - 0900. Our room whilst not the biggest was fine for our short stay. The only thing that was disappointing in the B&B was the bed or to be precise the mattress. It was the most uncomfortable mattress I think we had ever slept on and did spoil our stay a little. This would sadly mean we wouldn't stay here again - I'm sure other people would find the mattress to their taste though!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpackernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We think we know which Guest is the reviewer here and which room you refer to but cannot be sure due to your Pseudonym and no room reference.

However, we are sorry you found the Mattress uncomfortable but as you do appreciate it is impossible to find a mattress to suit all sleeping preferences. We do have a replacement policy and the Mattress we think you refer to has been replaced within the last 12 months when the room was refurbished

We wish you had mentioned something on your first morning. Andrew always asks at Breakfast (after Guests’ first night), “did you sleep well?” Had you mentioned then that you were not happy with the Bed we would have gladly changed the Mattress as we do have spares

With reference to Breakfast Times, when our Guests Check in we advise them of our normal Service Times and always ask if that is acceptable as we are happy to provide earlier or later Breakfast if required. As we recall, some of the wedding party took up this option and we were therefore still serving Breakfast until well after 10:00am (all our rooms were occupied that weekend for the wedding)

We are puzzled by your comment of "our room was not the biggest", some of our rooms are bigger than others but our smallest room is 15 x 12 (180ft2)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is our 10th year staying at the Hermitage and once again we have a fabulous time.
Cannot faulty anything. Andrew and Pauline made us feel welcome for the 2 weeks we stayed there the rooms are spotless and clean the food is wonderful. Fantastic place to stay and unwind and relax, well recommed you to stay there
We will be returning next year carn't wait
Steve and Michele

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it's always a pleasure to welcome you back to The Hermitage even if you do make our faces ache with laughter!!!

We enjoy having you to stay and consider you our Friends rather than Guests. We look forward to seeing you all again later this year - Cottage Pie at the ready
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently decided to stay in Kingussie and use it as a base to explore the surrounding area. We had purchased a groupon offer for one of the local hotels. To cut a long story short the groupon offer hotel was so bad we could not stay and immediately started to look for somewhere else to stay. We found the hermitage and as soon as we walked in it was like gong into a different world. In reviewing the hermitage I can only say good things, clean, comfortable, good food very nice hosts all in all you could not want for anything more and it is truly an excellent place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments it is always gratifying to know our Guests have enjoyed their stay and that we/The Hermitage have met their expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night for an anniversary weekend away and the owners were lovely. Unfortunately we had to leave very early the next morning due to our other plans and missed out on the highly reviewed breakfast. However we were offered a packed lunch etc instead which was kind but we're not morning people so we graciously declined. For dinner that night the owners recommended the silverfjord hotel but it was far too fancy for us so instead we ate at the tipsy laird on the main st and it was delicious! Thanks again for a lovely stay.
John and danielle

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmulraney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments, we're gald you enjoyed your stay
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to The Hermitage at some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a superior king size room. The sprung mattress was a bit tired and noisey, but the room was a decent size. The ensuite shower room was OK, but the water didn't drain totally in the right direction, but there were plenty of towels to mop it up! The breakfast was average. The coffee was good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for your comments however we are dumfounded by them!

The Superior Room you stayed in has a Kingsize bed which is only about 18 months old, it was replaced when the room was totally refurbished

The En-suite is a “Wet Room” installed to cater for all Guests including those who may be less mobile – the floor does get “Wet” it is designed with a gentle slope so the water drains away without causing problems

With regard to your comment about Breakfast – we are at a loss as to what you were looking for!
Our Breakfast consist of a selection of 7 cereals including freshly prepared porridge, 3 fresh fruits and 3 tinned fruits, a selection of fruit juices and yoghurts. On the menu is a “Full Scottish” consisting of 8 items, a fish option of Scottish Oak Smoked Salmon plus a Pancakes option. We also provide toast and a selection of Jams, Marmalade and Honey
All our Breakfast items are Quality Local Produce all cooked fresh to order
Our Breakfast Menu is designed hopefully to cater for all tastes whilst at the same time considering our commitment to reducing Waste
It also states on the Menu “if there is anything else Guests’ would like please just ask”, in addition Guests are always asked verbally if they would like anything else
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Guest House

Property: The Hermitage Guest House
Address: The Hermitage Spey Street, Kingussie PH21 1HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing