We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hermitage Guest House
Ranked #7 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my partner last year. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. Unfortunately we didn't have any breakfast as we were setting off for the second part of our journey early but the owners offered to make us a packed lunch. No complaints here!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we're always pleased when Guests enjoy their stay
We would love to welcome you back to The Hermitage some time in the future when hopefully you will have time to enjoy Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for three nights and left this morning. It was so nice we would have liked to stay longer.

The room was clean and nicely decorated, with an obvious attention to detail. The bed was comfy and the shower excellent.

Breakfast was delicious and over the course of our stay we tried out the cooked breakfast, salmon and egg on oatcakes and pancake options. All of them were brilliant and the owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to sample the different items on the Breakfast menu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everything about tis B&B is outstanding. Host were fantastic, nice to have interaction with Shelby the lab and his soccer ball. Location was great, beautiful views, and the weather was good to boot! Breakfast selection was very good, nice and hearty before embarking on our journey.

Room Tip: Room 5, full bathroom, beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your "fabulous" comments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and the "Hearty Breakfast". Shelby says "thank for playing football"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed for 5 nights in this excellent B & B. Andrew and Pauline were friendly and welcoming, the room was immaculate, beds comfortable and the breakfasts perfect. Kingussie is a small town and has facilities to match, however for those seeking a quiet location within easy reach of the area's amenities, this is a very good place to stay. We would not hesitate to recommend or to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your lovley comments, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back to The Hermitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

An unexpected stay at the delightful town of Kingussie led us to the Hermitage where we experienced a wonderful relaxing stay .The room was immaculate, spotlessly clean,comfortable
and tastefully decorated . Andrew and Pauline are great hosts,welcoming interesting and very
helpful .Their suggestion to dine at Silverfojd proved to be a winner. Breakfast was excellent,a
great selection to satisfy all tastes very well presented, yummy and generous. Our only regret is we could only stay one night as we would love a month of this comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review it was nice meeting you both
Have a great time in Scotland and have a safe journey back to Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as we were attending a friends wedding in Kingussie. Andrew and Pauline were great hosts. The breakfast is a delight, even if it is a bit restricted to being served from 0800 - 0900. Our room whilst not the biggest was fine for our short stay. The only thing that was disappointing in the B&B was the bed or to be precise the mattress. It was the most uncomfortable mattress I think we had ever slept on and did spoil our stay a little. This would sadly mean we wouldn't stay here again - I'm sure other people would find the mattress to their taste though!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpackernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We think we know which Guest is the reviewer here and which room you refer to but cannot be sure due to your Pseudonym and no room reference.

However, we are sorry you found the Mattress uncomfortable but as you do appreciate it is impossible to find a mattress to suit all sleeping preferences. We do have a replacement policy and the Mattress we think you refer to has been replaced within the last 12 months when the room was refurbished

We wish you had mentioned something on your first morning. Andrew always asks at Breakfast (after Guests’ first night), “did you sleep well?” Had you mentioned then that you were not happy with the Bed we would have gladly changed the Mattress as we do have spares

With reference to Breakfast Times, when our Guests Check in we advise them of our normal Service Times and always ask if that is acceptable as we are happy to provide earlier or later Breakfast if required. As we recall, some of the wedding party took up this option and we were therefore still serving Breakfast until well after 10:00am (all our rooms were occupied that weekend for the wedding)

We are puzzled by your comment of "our room was not the biggest", some of our rooms are bigger than others but our smallest room is 15 x 12 (180ft2)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is our 10th year staying at the Hermitage and once again we have a fabulous time.
Cannot faulty anything. Andrew and Pauline made us feel welcome for the 2 weeks we stayed there the rooms are spotless and clean the food is wonderful. Fantastic place to stay and unwind and relax, well recommed you to stay there
We will be returning next year carn't wait
Steve and Michele

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it's always a pleasure to welcome you back to The Hermitage even if you do make our faces ache with laughter!!!

We enjoy having you to stay and consider you our Friends rather than Guests. We look forward to seeing you all again later this year - Cottage Pie at the ready
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Guest House

Property: The Hermitage Guest House
Address: The Hermitage Spey Street, Kingussie PH21 1HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing