We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and happy experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hermitage Guest House
Ranked #6 of 23 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The charming owners of this B&B made us feel very welcome, the house is beautiful and immaculate, breakfast was fresh and delicious. We were given an excellent dinner suggestion: a pub that was in easy walking distance. We would go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

We arrived after a long dark drive from Fort William and were impressed with the Hermitage straight away. Outside was well lit and welcoming with a good car park.
The owners Andrew & Pauline are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Inside the guest house is immaculate - very clean and comfortable. Our room was very well presented with quality bath towels, toiletries and even Wedgwood china in the room. Breakfast which was served in the counservatory overlooking the garden was the best ever, particularly the bacon and the free-range egg.
A cosy guests' lounge with log fire completed the experience. We'll be back !

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapamaclmach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I picked this guest house because I was impressed with the reviews already submitted, and decided to give it a try with about 3 hours notice. I'm so glad that we did, as the whole stay was a joy.
Easy to find, easy to park, beautiful large room (we stayed in the Premium room), lovely views, great breakfast, comfy bed, wonderfully clean, good value for money.
What really added to the experience was how lovely Pauline and Andrew are, and how kind and generous they were in their efforts to make our stay enjoyable. I look forward to staying there again, and it would almost feel like returning to see good friends! I'd absolutely recommend the Hermitage Guest House.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamF_Entrepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hermitage which was so peaceful and quiet cannot wait to return.
The Hermitage is so convenient for the railway station and local shops just 2 minutes walk.
Everything is provided for and the rooms are clean and very comfortable.
Pauline and Andrew the new hosts are friendly and cannot be faulted on their service.
Breakfast was excellent and plenty.
Hope to be back soon.
.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweeper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had a nice time at the Hermitage. New owners Andrew and Pauline were very friendly, as was their dog Benson. (If you have allergies you may want to stay away, because Benson really does enjoy greeting the guests, but if you love dogs, it's a plus). Andrew was very helpful with providing maps and offered to pick us up from one place if we decided to go there, which we didn't, but it was very nice of him to offer. The garden is a lovely place to sit and enjoy the rabbits and the great views.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mols2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Stayed for one night with my 5 year old son and there were unexpected bonuses for the travelling single parent. In the twin room we had (which was a great size) there was a DVD player and on the landing a great selection of cartoon and child friendly films he could choose from. A bit of Indiana Jones made the evening and pre breakfast morning fly by. Good recommendation for evening meal from the owners and best of all many rabbits in the large garden who don't overly object to being chased. Plus for the Guardian reader in all of us the chance to have green/herb/fruit teas in the room rather than just PG Tips. Very handy for the Highland Wildlife Park and Landmark Adventure Play Centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I stayed here just for one night with my husband and in laws on the way up to Wick.
My in laws had the downstairs bedroom which had a huge bed and was a lovely lovely room.
Breakfast was good and Pete was very helpful with his local knowledge and suggesting things to see and do. Would like to have stayed longer but hope to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaycShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 23 in Kingussie
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sutherlands Guest House
Sutherlands Guest House
#3 of 23 in Kingussie
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Guest House

Address: The Hermitage Spey Street, Kingussie PH21 1HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing