We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We found Arden House quite by accident, and what a lovely surprise! After a friendly telephone chat with Norrie to book our room, we had a very warm welcome with the offer of whisky or sherry. Very friendly, knowledgeable hosts, who obviously enjoy welcoming people into their homes. Spotless room, excellent breakfast, and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We stayed in Drumguish, at the front of the house. Very comfy, thought we might be disturbed by una...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallowfieldjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
145
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

After a long journey what a delightful welcome we received which was then followed by the offer of a glass of whisky or sherry which made it even better. What makes a good Guest House stand out from an excellent Guest House are the unexpected little extras which started off with the whisky and sherry and then they continued. We had the larger Tomatin room which I would recommend if available which was comfortably furnished and in our opinion better furnished than some 4 star hotels we have stayed in. The local knowledge was very helpful and I have no hesitation in recommending Arden House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentravellers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just returned from a perfect break in Kingussie. Took the train to save the planet. Arden house just a few minutes from station. Fine dining a stroll away at The Cross if you have a special occasion to celebrate and the food at the Silverfjord just down the road is also superb. Arden House itself is the perfect base - super clean, super friendly great breakfasts and comfortable beds in lovely house with nice garden too. Small hotel really rather than a B&B.
Will recommend to friends and will be back. Pay £1 for good walking leaflet at Tourist Info. Walk to Newtonmore via Loch Gynack - lunch in Glen Hotel then home via Folk Musem. Golf course circuit also 5 star walk.

Room Tip: Twin room is just a bit on small side but bathroom good and space to spread out toiletries which I l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelMeldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A Victorian house with various size rooms, outfitted with everything you need. Norrie greeted us with the choice of a sherry or whiskey which was lovely after a long drive. Helpful with information and a good breakfast in their dining room, set-up with all sorts of extras for your breakfast. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papillon2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Norrie and Jenny made us feel really welcome as soon as we arrived. We were a little earlier than expected but we werent sent away and were soon in a comfortable room with a dram of whiskey.
Kingussie has some amazing countryside nearby and Arden House is a great place to use as a base for discovering this amazing landscape.
We had a really good breakfast to set you up for the day, a great location to go walking, a big bath to soak in when you get back and a comfy bed so you are rested again for the next days walking.

Room Tip: Ask for Tomatin if you'd like a nice deep bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was on business and solo.
What a beatiful place! very clean and the owners are really friendly.
On arriving the owner showed me my room and gave me a dram of whisky, just what you need after 7 hours drive. You really can't go wrong in this wonderful B&B. I'll be taking my wife here very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncletravellingMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Beautiful place and the owners made us so welcome. They were also very knowledgeable of the local area including how to find the estate that "Monarch of the Glen was filmed. Bedroom was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was first class. We will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: Arden House Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing