We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but they do have a cat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden House
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely but they do have a cat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

I know that is weird title but am allergic to cats and didn't know there was a cat until we arrived.

Owners are very friendly and were kind enough to rearrange our stay when we couldn't make original date.

We stayed in the family room which had a double and two singles. One single was in a sort of alcove bit which you had to walk through to get to the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cr1mson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
135
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Arden House in Kinguissie for 2 nights, 29 and 30 July 2013. Norrie and Jenny were perfect hosts, lovely and friendly, excellent service with Norrie knocking out a wonderful and tasty breakfast (poached eggs to die for)! The bedding and towels were soft and so lovely. Bed was comfy and the whole place was perfectly clean. Both Norrie and Jenny could not do enough for you, but at the same time, respecting ones privacy. Both my husband and I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone wishing to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

It is as good a B&B as you will find. A beautiful large house with good size rooms (we were in Tomatin). We were given a very warm and friendly welcome. Our room had a huge bathroom and was very clean.

Could not fault the breakfast, all you need and plenty of it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneNote11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a beautiful old house with a nice garden at the front and ample off street parking for guests. The whole place is well maintained.We stayed in the room called "Speyside " which is very comfortable with a nice en suite, lovely decor and clean.
Norrie and Jenny are the perfect hosts who have thought of everything to make their guests feel welcome. The breakfast was fantastic , with plenty choice - you must try the scrambled egg with smoked salmon - it the nicest I have ever tasted mmmmm!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

When looking for accommodation for our annual family Golf Day at Kingussie Golf Club, we look no further than Arden House. This was our third visit and this year our extended family occupied all of the the rooms. As in previous years, we found the same high standard, the warm welcome with a wee dram, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms and high quality breakfasts cooked to perfection.
Norrie and Jenny are the perfect hosts, ensuring any requests that we had were catered for. Any
young children visiting will not feel left out, as young Nathan( Norrie and Jenny's young grandson) provides the same kind of welcome for them. It goes without saying, this will continue to be our base for any future visits to this area

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We recently stayed at Arden House for 3 nights in two rooms, and really enjoyed our time there. The rooms were ample in size and very clean (we had rooms called Strathspey and Glenfiddich) both having the usual assortment of drinks, biscuits etc. and a welcome bottle of water.

Jenny and Norrie have a great sense of humour, and are genuine warm hosts, in fact Norrie offered a wee dram after showing us to our rooms.

They have a family room on the ground floor with adjoining single bedroom which is ideal for people who maybe cannot handle the stairs. This is the room that we’ll probably have when we next stay. The front garden is lovely and the car park adequate for the number of rooms.

Breakfasts are really nice, and you must try the Scottish Pancakes, which come with warm maple syrup, fruit and plain yoghurt. Simply wonderful.

Kingussie is a stone’s throw away from the A9 which is a good arterial route to other parts of Scotland and just 2 or 3 miles from the Highland Wildlife Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This guest house was of an excellent standard in all areas. The owners were very friendly and upon arrival gave us drinks of whisky and fruit juice. The room itself was spotless and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the breakfast room overlooks a pretty garden in which we were fortunate enough to see a red squirrel pass by whilst we were enjoying our breakfast. There was ample car parking and plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby for an evening meal. A very pretty part of the country to stay in and I would well recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.5 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sutherlands Guest House
Sutherlands Guest House
#3 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: Arden House Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing