We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The dram on arrival was a nice touch”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The dram on arrival was a nice touch”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed only one night but were made most welcome by Norrie who gave advice on where to eat and the area. This Victorian house is all in very good condition and the bedrooms provide all the comfort one needs. The breakfast gave a good choice and was a delight to eat. If I am in the area again I will certainly stay at Arden House

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestburySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
140
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just as good if not better than the last time we stayed. Superb rooms, great hosts. Excellent recommendation of the Silver Fiord for dinner. Looking forward to our next visit. Thanks again for the bubbly and card much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncleTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This B&B, just 4 years old is run very well by the friendly hosts Norry and his wife.

Bedrooms spotlessly clean. You are presented with a tick list for breakfast items the day before.

Excellent location for going on nice walks through the Highlands.

Take Norry's suggestion and eat at the nearby Silver Fiord. The food was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend we travel from Greece we have stopped in many hotels . Arden house it was the most friendly and cosy out off all ! I will recommend this to everyone ...

Thanks for your lovely hospitality x

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited Arden House for 2 nights on 23rd and 24th of May. We have stayed here on a few occasions and have nothing but praise for Norrie and Jenny in the way this guest house is run. There is always a friendly warm welcome accompanied by a dram. The rooms are always warm and clean with quality towels and comfortable beds. Despite having an extensive menu selection for breakfast, after my fruit or cereal I always opt for the full Scottish, cooked to perfection, while my wife loves the pancake and fruit option. If you are lucky, Nathan, the hosts young grandson, may pop in for a chat. It goes without saying Arden House will always be my first choice when staying in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnBDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Not a lot to say - everything you'd expect from a good B&B, such as a clean and spacious bedroom and bathroom, comfortable bed, soft towels, good toiletries, decent breakfast with properly brewed coffee, and in addition a genuine welcome and a willingness to go a bit further than necessary (my wife's vegan, so they got in things like soya yoghurt, vegan margarine etc). And all at a decent price. I usually manage to find some small fault, even with really good places - but not here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We got married in Kingussie and chose to stay in Arden House for 5 days - before and after the celebration. Norrie and Jenny, our hosts, could not have been more thoughtful - from a bottle of chilled Prosecco and strawberries on our wedding day to coming to the Registry Office with us to take photo's and after to a local beauty spot, as we were on our own. The B&B itself is wonderful, we had a beautiful large room with king sized bed, en-suite bathroom with Victorian free-standing bath and the breakfasts were the best we've had! The pancakes with fresh fruit and greek yoghurt is highly recommended! The area is stunningly beautiful and there were so many spectacular local places to visit - it was the honeymoon we dreamed of! They recommended a wonderful restaurant just across the road for dinner and every day was an absolute pleasure. We can't wait to return for our anniversary holiday next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tomatin room - large, king size bed, overlooking the front garden, en-suite bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: Arden House Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing