We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columba House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A brilliantly run, intimate and romantic hotel. Room was perfect, the food was top class and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Provided an unforgettable experience, would definitely recommend it for any other couples wanting to get away for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Columba House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for two nights with a Groupon voucher at this beautiful hotel. The owner of the hotel, Mark, came out to greet us. A very welcoming and wonderful start to a very enjoyable stay. We were shown round the hotel, before being shown to our room by Mark. Our room was not in the main building, but only a few steps away, with private parking. We stayed in the room named the Courtyard. It was a small room, but it had a four-poster bed in a recess. The room was spotless and very comfortable with two chairs. It had a large TV. The bathroom had both a bath and shower, with the shower being in the bath. There was a hairdryer supplied, but I took my own, so cannot comment on the power. A tray was supplied in the room with kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.

The deal was for breakfast each morning and dinner on the first evening. We loved the ambience of the dinning room, which overlooks the well kept extensive gardens with mature trees, plants flowers and a duck pond. There is also a large patio area with picnic tables, so you can dine alfresco. We dined at the hotel on the first evening and had wonderful food, so much so, we dined there again on the second evening of our stay. The choice at breakfast is vast, something for everyone. The staff are particularly attentive. The detail and service, second to none. The owner, who is also a chief, visited all the guests at their table to ensure they were satisfied. There is a ‘real’ fire in the resident’s sitting room. I think the room would benefit from some cosy table lamps. I know the owners have worked hard to upgrade this hotel and they are making a wonderful job of what they have so far completed. It is such a pity this beautiful building cannot be seen from the main road, as I am sure it would entice have many more visitors. The public road leading to the private driveway does not do the hotel any justice.

The hotel is perfectly situated to explore the many beautiful areas around the Cairngorms. The funicular railway, which takes you to the Ski Centre is about 21 miles away, as are the Ospreys at Loch Garten, with many more walks and attractions.

We were made to feel very welcome at this hotel and Mark came out to the car to shake hands and bid us farewell. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freddybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed recently just one night with my husband and 2 large dogs (deerhounds) in the "Paddock" one of the coach house rooms. It was warm and certainly large enough for the two of us and two big dogs, and it was really useful to have our own door to the outside. We were particularly grateful that we could let the dogs run free in the fenced/walled garden - they had a ball! Breakfast was good, but we were disappointed by our evening meal - the freshly-prepared dishes (soup of the moment and rib eye steak with garlic sauce) lacked seasoning, although the brie wedges starter and braised steak were both good. Although Mark and Yolanda were very attentive during our stay, there really was not much chance to give them feedback on the food - Mark walked past asking if all was OK but clearly was not expecting any negative comment. A pause at the table and a question like "how are you finding your soup/steak?" would have allowed an honest and constructive reply.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElmaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

have stayed here quite a few times over the years, its the first time we have been since the hotel changed ownership. Enjoyed our stay, room décor is a wee bit tired, but will still go back, it didn't detract from our stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were met in the car park by Mark the owner and given a warm welcome. Spent a couple of nights in March with our small dog in one of the coach houses. Room was extremely comfortable, warm and cosy on a dry but very cold and windy weekend. The huge bath was superbly relaxing after a long days walking. Dining service and Food at the hotel was EXCELLENT! Dining room overlooked the hotel garden which is beautiful with ducks waddling around and rabbits hopping about. During our stay we walked up the Gynack hill and on the way down went around the loch side trail, took around 4 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ClydebankLanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent two nights here and from the welcome to the morning we left we felt like more friends that guests, the welcome from Mark and his wife was wonderful. The hotel is a real gem in the highlands and if you want the personal touch with the professional service at a fair price this is for you.

The location is great for the cairngorm mountains and the surrounding areas

What we must recommend is the food it is a small menu but when you taste the food you will understand everything is cooked fresh to your liking it was amazing.

We will be back think you

Room Tip: The rooms with the baths are a real welcome when you have been climbing mountains to help recover th...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Found this on a compter deal site, and what a hidden gem. Lovely and quiet with beautiful gardens. Rooms are spotless and spacious. Food is great and staff could not be more helpful. We will definately be back and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Remember and state when booking if you cannot manage the stairs
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnes c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
209 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
11.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: £54 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing