We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dinner poor overcooked with raw broccoli!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columba House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“dinner poor overcooked with raw broccoli!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband recently retired his gift from his work colleagues was a Groupon voucher value 242 pounds to spend two nights at this hotel we arrived Friday 9th may 2014 and after an appalling evening meal which I could not eat dry scampi appeared to be reformed not as stated scampi tails my husbands broccoli was raw. We left today should have left tommorow on leaving we got no apology from the owner just a safe journey home !!!!!! Well he made a good profit from my husbands retirement gift !!!! But hey the room was clean !!!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A C, Owner at Columba House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking time out to review your stay, as a dog travelling family, it’s unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectations, having reviewed your complaint I feel it necessary to put our point across.
We cook our vegetables al dente, which is common practice in any food establishment, which may not have been your preference but could have easily been prevented and rectified had you stated you preferred a softer well-cooked vegetable.
As for the Scampi was not to your liking, my wife offered you a replacement or any other dish from the menu and a free glass of wine or drink of your choice on three occasions.
You promptly got up and left the restaurant, your husband returned and requested breakfast to be served in the room for the following morning,( as we do not allow pets in the main hotel, lounge area or restaurant), which was delivered to your room.
A lot of loud abusive shouting at the dog occurred, which left my wife quite shocked and comments made by other guests at that time of the morning. You politely thanked my wife for the service and went on about your days excursion’s
You returned from your day out and suddenly appeared at the front desk, while I was busy dealing with check-ins.
To quote “We are leaving now, we have done what we came here to do, thank you” gave me your key, I must say I was left quiet dismayed at your hurried exit. You also left without settling your bill.
It appeared to us that what should have been a relaxing weekend for yourselves was hindered by traveling with your well-loved family dog, which can come with its challenges, which in turn would have limited you from having a full weekend getaway experience.
It’s unfortunate that on this occasion our hotel was not the correct choice for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    76
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
226
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stumbled upon the Columba House Hotel in the dead of Winter (January this year). Apologies for the late review! Couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome. An incredibly romantic hotel in a historical setting complete with four poster bed & huge tub. Very clean. Lovely garden & views all round. The food was clearly made with real care. Delicious! The owners are doing a fine job of restoring this historical beauty to an even better glory. If you go, leave a room for my partner & I. We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A brilliantly run, intimate and romantic hotel. Room was perfect, the food was top class and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Provided an unforgettable experience, would definitely recommend it for any other couples wanting to get away for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for two nights with a Groupon voucher at this beautiful hotel. The owner of the hotel, Mark, came out to greet us. A very welcoming and wonderful start to a very enjoyable stay. We were shown round the hotel, before being shown to our room by Mark. Our room was not in the main building, but only a few steps away, with private parking. We stayed in the room named the Courtyard. It was a small room, but it had a four-poster bed in a recess. The room was spotless and very comfortable with two chairs. It had a large TV. The bathroom had both a bath and shower, with the shower being in the bath. There was a hairdryer supplied, but I took my own, so cannot comment on the power. A tray was supplied in the room with kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.

The deal was for breakfast each morning and dinner on the first evening. We loved the ambience of the dinning room, which overlooks the well kept extensive gardens with mature trees, plants flowers and a duck pond. There is also a large patio area with picnic tables, so you can dine alfresco. We dined at the hotel on the first evening and had wonderful food, so much so, we dined there again on the second evening of our stay. The choice at breakfast is vast, something for everyone. The staff are particularly attentive. The detail and service, second to none. The owner, who is also a chief, visited all the guests at their table to ensure they were satisfied. There is a ‘real’ fire in the resident’s sitting room. I think the room would benefit from some cosy table lamps. I know the owners have worked hard to upgrade this hotel and they are making a wonderful job of what they have so far completed. It is such a pity this beautiful building cannot be seen from the main road, as I am sure it would entice have many more visitors. The public road leading to the private driveway does not do the hotel any justice.

The hotel is perfectly situated to explore the many beautiful areas around the Cairngorms. The funicular railway, which takes you to the Ski Centre is about 21 miles away, as are the Ospreys at Loch Garten, with many more walks and attractions.

We were made to feel very welcome at this hotel and Mark came out to the car to shake hands and bid us farewell. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed recently just one night with my husband and 2 large dogs (deerhounds) in the "Paddock" one of the coach house rooms. It was warm and certainly large enough for the two of us and two big dogs, and it was really useful to have our own door to the outside. We were particularly grateful that we could let the dogs run free in the fenced/walled garden - they had a ball! Breakfast was good, but we were disappointed by our evening meal - the freshly-prepared dishes (soup of the moment and rib eye steak with garlic sauce) lacked seasoning, although the brie wedges starter and braised steak were both good. Although Mark and Yolanda were very attentive during our stay, there really was not much chance to give them feedback on the food - Mark walked past asking if all was OK but clearly was not expecting any negative comment. A pause at the table and a question like "how are you finding your soup/steak?" would have allowed an honest and constructive reply.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElmaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

have stayed here quite a few times over the years, its the first time we have been since the hotel changed ownership. Enjoyed our stay, room décor is a wee bit tired, but will still go back, it didn't detract from our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were met in the car park by Mark the owner and given a warm welcome. Spent a couple of nights in March with our small dog in one of the coach houses. Room was extremely comfortable, warm and cosy on a dry but very cold and windy weekend. The huge bath was superbly relaxing after a long days walking. Dining service and Food at the hotel was EXCELLENT! Dining room overlooked the hotel garden which is beautiful with ducks waddling around and rabbits hopping about. During our stay we walked up the Gynack hill and on the way down went around the loch side trail, took around 4 hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ClydebankLanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
16.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Property: Columba House Hotel
Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing