We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Country Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columba House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Country Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stopped here on a whim the first time. Saw the website and thought we'd give it a go. We arrived smelling to high heaven from mountain biking the same day but Mark met us at the door and got us settled into the Spey suite in double quick time so we could refresh and enjoy our stay. We had a fantastic meal in the Garden restaurant and had a brief chat with the Chef (Mark again) about the possibilities of holding a wedding reception at the Hotel. He was n't sure at the time as he hadn't carried out a reception at the Columba House but he would get back to us as soon as he could.
We left the next day thoroughly thankful and well rested. Before we'd got home Mark had emailed us with potential ideas for the reception! The ideas were brilliant and exceptionally well priced.
We had our wedding reception at the Hotel in May this year and will be ever thankful to Mark and Yolanda for their help and service. I can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Even the most expensive room is cheap for the standard you will receive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveatlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    75
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
225
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A lovely peaceful charming hotel....clean comfortable rooms....dinner was lovely and the staff are wonderful. Mark and Yolanda are both welcoming and friendly. Beautiful gardens, it was lovely looking at the bunnies and birds while having dinner. Breakfast was also delicious and set us up for our walk around the Highland Wildlife park. Good luck with all your future plans Mark.....we wish you and Yolanda well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Mark and Yolanda provide a warm welcome to a quiet, secluded retreat. The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. We spent 5 days in their penthouse, which is a very comfortable suite with lovely big windows opening to lovely views. The en suite shower cum bath is very welcoming after a long day trekking. The room is spacious with light beaming through skylight windows. The super king size bed is really comfortable. The restaurant overlooks the very large garden area, guests can sit or stroll around in the summer. My partner and I especially enjoyed watching the hotel's "regulars" i.e. the wild ducks and rabbits frolicking around, while we had our meals. All in all, it is a very delightful and tranquil place that offers peace and relaxation. We regret we couldn't stay longer...sigh!

Room Tip: It is well worth paying extra for the Penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I had a night, dinner bed and breakfast. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was first class. We will certainly be going back there to stay again.Mark and Yolanda are both lovely and friendly.

Brian and Shirley,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has a peaceful setting, yet convenient and easy to find.
The owners and staff are very friendly. Everything was clean and comfortable.
We really enjoyed our dinner, it was totally delicious and in a lovely dining room overlooking the garden. We only stayed two nights but could have happily stayed longer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHARMEDFEE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights I'm May partly using a Christmas voucher and paying for a second night we stayed in the four poster room it was lovely setting with beautiful views of the garden and nearby mountains old fashioned shutters on Windows but we chose to wake up to the sun streaming through happily it did .Mark and Yolanda are both lovely and very attentive our evening meal was delicious we had a fantastic time and was great base for exploring Sizemore and cairngorm looking forward to return trip and hopefully penthouse

Room Tip: Spey suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARMEDFEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went for a weekend using a Groupon voucher and couldn't fault it. Four poster bedroom was very clean and spacious with a lovely en suite with separate corner bath and shower. All staff made us feel very welcome and were very courteous. The meals were excellent. The garden and the weather was lovely. We were there at Easter weekend and we even got chocolate eggs so everything was thought out for the guests. Free With Fi available in the guest lounge which was great. The hotel is in an ideallyic location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
16.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Property: Columba House Hotel
Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing