We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columba House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value and great service”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay in a lovely room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent as was dinner. Great location for exploring the area. All in all true highland hospitality, very comfortable, and good food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    81
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
25
236
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We loved the location and the historic building and lovely garden atop a small hill with very old stone walls. The room we had was modest in size, but with some very nice touches including in-room coffee/tea service and plenty of pillows. Everything was very clean and there was plenty of storage space. The hosts were very kind and accommodating, and provided a wonderful historic ambiance in the main building with lounge and restaurant. Wi-fi was better in the lounge. We would definitely return if in the area and will recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS_StL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Found this Hotel on the internet and was not disappointed. Old buildings comfortably equipped with excellent hospitality and staff. Breakfast excellent and dinner very good with good selection of dishes. Beautiful garden, but weather not warm enough to enjoy. Perfect location for exploring such a beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186534James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I much enjoyed my week of leisure in August 2014. The owners and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. They were all very helpful and accommodating. The location of the hotel is fantastic, a little elevated, very quiet and surrounded by trees but still only a few steps away from the High Street. There was a nice choice of breakfast cereals, fruit, yogurt and preserves, the cooked breakfast was lovely with many options to choose from. The food served at dinner was excellent and nicely presented, the variety was good and there was something for every taste. I cannot comment on the bar menu as I did not have time to sample this during my stay.
My bedroom/suite was in the main building, it was lovely and comfortably sized with a nice view of the garden, the bunnies and the birds. It was clean and adequately furnished. Wi-Fi is free of charge which is lovely, unfortunately, it is only available in the reception area and in the lounge but not in the bedrooms which may be cumbersome for a business traveller wanting to work in the comfort of his own room. But I understand that this will be worked on and, actually, I grew to appreciate being disconnected electronically from the world for a short while. An iPad is provided for the guests' use in Reception and the staff is very helpful to collect information on the area. Overall a very positive and a lasting experience and definitely a hotel which I will visit again. Thank you for taking such good care of me!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muireall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Columba house and were greeted by the South African couple who bought over this hotel a year ago. In my opinion their personal involvement with the guests, and the hospitality is the big reason to go there. The guy has been a head chef and it's evident in the food that gets served. Had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was really good. The rooms are nice, beds are really big and comfy. The bathrooms need an upgrade for certain and the wifi is available only in the lounge near the reception but all in all a pleasant stay. Good value for money

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anupmasuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights mid August 2014, during a road trip from London (which included Snowdonia, then Kingussie, then the Orkneys, back to Loch Lomond, then Yokshire then finally back to London) so we were able to compare various similarly priced hotels in a short period of time. We both got a very warm welcome from Yolanda the owner (with Mark her husband) who showed us around the main hotel building, before taking us to our room, which was in a lovely courtyard (old steading conversions) with each room having its own front door (which really makes it feel nice) and then into the rooms, which were perfectly appointed, clean, TV, Tea/Coffee, bath/shower,toiletries etc,. indeed, we had a 4 poster bed, with a tied back mosquito net over it, just in case you want to have all the windows open in the mossie season etc! We ate in the hotel both nights, as the food was lovely, very well presented and varied and the atmosphere in the restaurant was really good too, the buzz of good, happy conversation, some background music (not too loud!) and everyone we met in the hotel agreed that they were really enjoying staying there, everyone loved the food and the staff were always welcoming, chatty, smiling and happy to help in any way. We found Mark and Yolanda to be perfect hoteliers, who managed to actually be interested in chatting to their guests too , which cant be easy when you have so many! We love the atmosphere here, not stuffy, but with enough
attention to detail to make you feel like a guest, which suited us perfectly. We have already agreed that we will certainly go back to this hotel again, and since they have only been running it for 1 year so far, then I am sure it will go from strength strength. We have absolutely nothing to complain about with this hotel, everything was just great and we will return very happily!!!!

Room Tip: We love being in the detached homesteads, as they felt like your own little home/room, but we did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in the penthouse on Friday 8th August. Mark greeted us at the reception and showed us the downstairs public rooms, interesting in the conversation he meitioned that "everyone these days is an hotel inspector or a chef".

Were shown to the upstairs room, spacious, clean and well appointed, but then at £135 for the night we felt it should be. Some little niggles, hole in the bathroom wall plasterboard, ill fitting bath panel and no attempt at toileteries. At this tariff we expected these as a standard. The dinner was well cooked and presented, although the menus were slightly hard to read due to the heavy watermark on the paper.

Overnight all was quiet, the shower makes a very alarming noise when used, and down to breakfast. Again well prepared and presented. When we came to checkout my wife joined the queue along with another 4 residents, seems that no one wasout their beds to take the cash, and when the owner, Mark did arrive, he was clearly hung over and had not prepared the accounts the evening before. Since most residents were in their rooms by 10pm, one would have assumed that the accounts for those departing in the morning would be ready. Needeless to say Mark was not in a chatty mood in the morning so we left after paying and kept our gripes to ourself.

We assumed that at £135 a night breakfast would be included, not an additional £20, and we would have assumed that the great show of hospitality and professionalism at the time of checking in would have been carried out during all the visit.

We were dissapointed with the overall feeling we were left with, but perhaps Mark had developed a cold overnight which accounted for the lack of professionalism in the morning.

If you go to stay here, make sure you know what you are getting for in the deal, and what will be added on as an extra. Needless to say we will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A C, Chef Patron & Hotelier at Columba House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Helen & Alasdair Macqueen,
Thank you for reviewing us, having looked at your comments we accept this more as a constructive review and can only use them as positives, realising that some guests like a bit more extra attention than usual, and others prefer a little less, we will now use this as a model to try identify these group of guests.
Since we took on this hotel just over a year ago we have gone from strength to strength, faced numerous challenges that are new to us and we are always trying to find ways to improve our product and our service. Thank you for pointing out your niggles, these I can attend to and we are also in the process of changing the rooms as time goes.
We do supply hand wash, hair body wash and hand cream.
While we always try to maintain the full experience, there are times it may go amiss due to this being the busiest time of the year, and can only apologise if you felt a wee bit neglected on checkout. All our rooms are advertised on all our partner sites as ROOM ONLY rate and you would have received that information on your BOOKING.COM confirmation when making your booking.
You would also have had the option on adding breakfast on to your reservation when making your booking. On Check-IN you were asked if you would like to have breakfast as you were on a room only rate and you accepted. Breakfast is an additional charge.
While you may think nobody was about after having your breakfast, while other guests are being served, I can assure you there is a lot more going on in the background than you can ever imagine, We are a period highland hotel and we encourage our guests to take time to slow down a bit and relax and savour the highland tranquillity and pace.
Thank you for the positive reviews on your restaurant dining and breakfasts experience in the GARDEN RESTAURANT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
16.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
199 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Property: Columba House Hotel
Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing