We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersGold level
Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice comfy hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Stayed in room nr 9 for 2 nights.
The room was very comfortable and the bathroom hade a nice jacuzzy.
The room was spotless clean and the staff very helpfull and friendly.
We hade dinner in the restaurant the first evening and the food tasted exelent.
The breakfast was a little bit poor.
But all in all a good stay.

Go and visit Glennfidich destillery its a very proffessional tour.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    41
    28
    19
    21
See reviews for
27
76
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed one night at Scot House Hotel while traveling around Scotland. We were greeted by the pleasant staff who had been holding a parcel for me for a couple of weeks - it was my birthday!
Our room overlooked the street and was very large, but very hot. It was unseasonally hot in Scotland and nowhere seems to cope with the heat. The room remained quite hot for most of the night.
The room was very nicely appointed with tea/coffee making facilities, but there was a strange arrangement that you had to go out the bedroom door through to the bathroom area. It was a private bathroom but small and also quite hot.
We chose to have a meal in the hotel - not a really good option. The food was pretty average and the waitress appeared fairly nervous whilst serving us.
Breakfast the next morning was OK but also served by the same nervous waitress.
Overall the hotel met our needs, maybe a revamp of the meals served in the restaurant would take the hotel up another notch.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller3204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The staff gave the impression they resented giving any kind of service and a waitress verged on being offensive. The food was quite appalling, served on stone cold plates our steak and ale pie (said to be home made but clearly not) was mostly gristle and virtually inedible. The manager was fairly reasonable when the shortcomings of his establishment was pointed out. He did apologise and made a small gesture in compensation for a terrible meal. I think judging from the speed the receptionist drove his car out of the car park maybe he had been confronted by the manager!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingussie hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
US
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2009

While there are no overwhelming complaints, the overall experience was less than optimal. The room was large but decorated in a very outdated chintz, the bed was creaky and old, and the carpet had a musty smell. Still, the bathtub was a large jucuzzi tub, which was a nice touch. Hopefully they will update the room to match the bathroom.
The restaurant is a much worse story. They have no wait staff, with the food served by the concierge, who also doubles as the bartender. As you can imagine, the service suffers quite a bit. The steak had already turned and had a strange smell to it, and the appetizer of shrimp cocktail was actually a cup full of mayonnaise and ketchup. Definitely skip the restaurant.
The hotel has no view to speak of, but it is close to town and convenient. The price was reasonable, but if given another chance, I would have spent a little more for something more updated.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel9208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Our only regret about the Scot House was only staying for one night. The staff was friendly, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant, and the room was large and bright. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, just wish it had been longer.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Went here for a last min one night in January, thought it was a lovely hotel with real charm and Scottish feel about it. Colin and Helen the owners were great hosts and really made us feel welcome, ended up having a good banter and drink round the bar till quite late with them, so that was really nice. Thought it was a great location and lovely place, the scenery is amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to this area, you won't get a friendlier place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Absolutely excellent. Have stayed their previously, and on this occassion took my wife to accompany me on a business trip. Superb value for money, well furnished rooms and public areas, with a warm welcome.

Local facilities are 'quiet' at this time of year, but was a charming place to stop over away from the bustle of Inverness. Just off the main Inverness road, which takes you through some spectacular scenery, easy to find. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Liked — Comfort, value, friendliness.
  • Disliked — There's nothing NOT to like !
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoulSurvyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scot Hotel Kingussie
The Scot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing