We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic hotel but pricey.”
Review of Osprey Hotel

Osprey Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osprey Hotel
Ranked #19 of 23 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just stayed here for 1 nights. Hosts were the best thing about the stay. At £70 a night its expensive for having a very small tv and no access to WiFi. The twin room I stayed in, in my opinion is in need of up dating. The paper on the bathroom was peeling and the grout/silicon around the bath needs done. A power shower head is there but shower lacked pressure. No actual parking for hotel apart from 3 spaces on the main road and you've got to park at the other hotel over the road. Best thing about the hotel is sue.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nil84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suebrownlie, Owner at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hello and thank you for your comments which I have taken on board and would like to respond to!

Parking is not a problem in Kingussie and the Duke of Gordon Hotel across the road kindly lets us use their facilities. There is also a free car park a minutes walk away.

Water pressure I agree with but I don't think it is too bad. The bath grouting does need attention and this will be rectified when I get a quiet spell as it takes a while to dry and the rooms are more or less always occupied.

We do have free Wifi and I wish you had asked me during your stay. Thank you for your time taken to write this review - it is appreciated! Should u return I'll make sure there is a big TV in the room ! Best wishes. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is the friendliest hotel I have ever been to. Sue will do anything possible to make your stay enjoyable. It is very dog friendly, with 2 mastiiffs , sometimes we have problems with where we stay. Sue welcomed them and now they have new friends in Kingussie and we must not forget Phoebe, the resident basset hound, lovely dog and of course now friends with mine. The hotel is clean, beds comfortable and well the breakfast is plentiful to say the least, hungry until teatime you will not be. The surrounding area is lovely and plenty to see and do. We used this hotel for 3 nights on the way to the Orkney Islands and 1 night on the return from the Orkney Islands.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actionnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suebrownlie, Owner at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hello again! Thank you for your review ! Hutch and Keira - you were first class guests and your humans were not too bad either! Phoebe is hoping you come back next year ! Take care. Sue x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Nice bright, warm, clean rooms. Lovely breakfast of pretty much anything you fancy whenever you fancy it. Dog friendly and no extra charge which is sensible. Very welcoming landlady and landlord. Rooms well equipped with tea and coffee, local information, toiletries. Also do evening meals and lunches if required.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexLargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

A very unusual hotel. Our bikes got to stay inside in the hall!
Massive room. Decor a little faded, but still very comfortable and very nice to have a sofa. Good attention to detail with nice touches in the room.
The owners handled a difficult situation with some noisy dogs belonging to some other guests really well and we appreciated being kept informed.
Breakfast was good and very much served with a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jumpingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for one night while up in area for weekend. Room was comfortable and clean as was the rest of the hotel, breakfast was very good and plenty of it. Would certainly stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Osprey Hotel for one night, waiting for our new car to be ready for picking up from the garage next doors. We had not planned to stay over in Kingussie so this was very much a last minute booking and Sue was extremely accommodating and helpful, making us, our lively toddler and dog very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The best and most comfortable B & B in the area. Sue the owner, and Rosie and Phoebe the dogs, make every stay a joy! This is home from home, with someone else doing the work! Agree with all the reviews about the food and accommodation, always come away a few pounds heavier!! Couldn't imagine staying anywhere else whether it is overnight or a week!! We always come back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judecupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 23 in Kingussie
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 4 in Kingussie
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Hotel

Address: Ruthven Road, Kingussie PH21 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Osprey Hotel Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing