We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint BnB”
Review of Osprey Hotel

Osprey Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osprey Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint BnB”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Spent one night in the Osprey Hotel over the August Bank Holiday. The proprietor Sue was very welcoming and her cooked breakfast was fantastic. The en-suite shower was very powerful. Not the most modern looking of rooms but fulfilled our requirements. Sue even recommended a local pub to us for dinner which was only a few minutes walk from the BnB. Would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend it to friends and family

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Sue is a very friendly owner, she made us very welcome.
The rooms were a bit cluttered but with character and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I recently stayed at the Osprey during a visit to Kingussie for a conference - it was very refreshing to be hosted in individual establishments instead of the usual bland conference centres. The Osprey was a perfect choice. Clean comfortable room’s situated close to the station and major facilities within Kingussie.
The food was great, with plenty to go around, and a bit of variety each day. The proprietor was most accommodating lending us additional items to help us enjoy our stay and allowing us to arrive at 7.15am and keep bags locked away until 9pm on departure day to allow us to use the Caledonian Express Sleeper Train.
Whilst we didn’t pay for the hotel as this was part of the overall conference package I saw the tarif and certainly haven't seen any thing comparable showing such great value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. The room was a bit small but well-appointed and clean. The bed was comfortable. Sue, the owner, made a large Scottish breakfast, so large we asked her to cut the portions in half for us. We spent three very enjoyable nights there. The location was great for day trips around the northern Highlands.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales/Cymru
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We spent three nights at the Osprey in a comfortable and well appointed room. The location was quiet but within easy walking distance of the railway station and the rest of the town.

Breakfast, served in a light and pleasant dining room, was outstanding. The porridge was the best I tasted in Scotland and the Scottish breakfast, cooked by the owner on her Aga, was absolutely excellent.

All the staff were unfailingly courteous, friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Osprey to anyone looking for a small hotel of character, offering a warm welcome and providing bed and breakfast at a very reasonable rate.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RigantonaPowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.3 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Hotel

Property: Osprey Hotel
Address: Ruthven Road, Kingussie PH21 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Osprey Hotel Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing