We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cross at Kingussie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We arrived at The Cross after a long drive and we were made to feel very welcome by the owners with tea and homemade biscuits on arrival. Our room was larger than we expected with a separate seating area, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.

We particularly enjoyed dinner in the restaurant - the food was brilliant.

Keep and eye out for the red squirrel and deer roaming around outside!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

This really is a gem of a place to stay. The lovely old building has been tastefully modernised and is warm and welcoming as are the hosts Derek and Celia. The rooms are very comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean with a lovely large bathroom. Their chef, Ross Sutherland won Young Highland Cook of the Year in 2012, and thoroughly deserved the title. His cooking is imaginative, and very, very flavoursome. The ingredients are of the highest quality and presentation is stunning. The combination of excellent rooms, hospitality, and the highest quality cooking make this a very special place to spend time.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the brook have a lovely view of it as it rushes past the mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed recently for 3 days walking and visiting the highland wildlife park and really enjoyed our stay. We were made very welcome by the owners and all staff. Our room was comfortable (although the bed did not have a very comfy mattress and was quite hard with no give ), clean and warm with a lovely view over the river, red squirrels and roe deer from the window. Shower worked fine but was difficult to turn off so often left with sound of dripping water from the bathroom. Our room was above the kitchen so we did get some noise from below. On the whole the Cross is good but just didn't quite live up to its billing. We found it expensive but not luxurious and with a few niggles, (see above and the internet access is limited) - and quirks eg why have a pretend electric log burner in the lounge?. However a wonderful area to visit and if you can accept a few minor details you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beermill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We knew The Cross had a great reputation for food and it was well - deserved. We have never eaten so well in Scotland.

Red squirrels in the garden, lovely big bathrooms and showers, sleeping to the sound of the stream, it was a real treat.

Room Tip: The one with French doors opening onto the balcony was great, you could watch the squirrels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glen-affric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We spent one night in The Cross on Valentines Day 2013. Our room (number 6) was lovely. It faced the river and the sound of the water flowing was relaxing. The room was well laid out and we had plenty of space. The television had a slot for DVDs and it's possible to borrow from a selection of these from a cupboard in the lounge. We arrived mid afternoon and were made very welcome. The lounge was a bit chilly at this time, as was the room. The room, however, did heat up once the heater had been switched on.

It was a 5 course tasting menu for the evening meal and this was very good indeed. The only choices were at the main and dessert courses. The other courses (amuse bouche, starters) were set. The standard of cooking was very good indeed and the portion size perfect for a 5 course menu. The wine list was very extensive.

Breakfast was excellent. Lovely coffee and beautifully cooked bacon etc.

It's not cheap but it's well worth a visit.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank izzydundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Myself and my partner visited the cross just for a weekend away, as the hotel has always had a good reputation and we have been meaning to visit for a few years.

The hotel was cosy and the owners and staff very welcoming. Although the current owners have only been in Kingussie a few months it is obvious that they are extremely knowlegable about the hospitality business and I have no doubt that the hotel will go from strength to strength!

The only slight negativity I would say about the place, is that the bathroom we had was on the small side, but I am also aware that over the winter some of the bathrooms are to be updated and as everything was perfectly functional this wasn't an issue.

We ate at the hotel on both nights of our stay and found the food exceptional on both occasions. The young head chef, Ross Sutherland, is definantly a man to watch as his food is both flavoursome and original.

I wish the staff all the best for the future, we will be back!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank easylifeInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This was for the last two nights of our honeymoon. The hotel is very cosy, an old tweed mill next to a river. It's very peaceful, the food was great and the staff very helpful.

The room was clean, tastefully decorated, warm and comfortable.

The breakfast options were great, with a scottish breakfast that was amongst the best I've had. The evening we had dinner, we opted for the 5 course taster menu which was very good, well worth the £50 per person.

There is a great choice of wine too, and the staff are on hand to advise what to have.

The residents lonuge was very cosy, to the extent that my wife now wants us to own an old mill - hmmmm!

The only slight gripe I had was that the bathroom wasn;t brilliant. The shower was either hot bu no pressure, or pressure but no heat. The lamps eiher side of the mirror were also dusty, and looked like they hadn't been cleaned for a while.

Overall a good couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.3 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
316 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross at Kingussie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross at Kingussie

Address: The Cross Tweedmill Brae Ardbroilach Road, Kingussie PH21 1LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: £107 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross at Kingussie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary five star restaurant with eight comfortable bedrooms set in a converted tweed mill and situated in 4 acres of riverside grounds within Cairngorm National Park. AA three-rosette award winning dinners feature the highest quality fresh, local, and seasonal produce, all complimented by a 300 bin wine list and around 40 specialist malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cross at Kingussie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Kingussie
The Cross Hotel Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing