We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Speyside gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cross at Kingussie
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Speyside gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent the last night of a Highlands and Islands jaunt here and it made a memorable finale.

The spacious room, with a small balcony, over looking the pleasantly burbling burn, was delightful and had the most comfortable bed of the fortnight. The floor show by the burn from the resident grey wagtails and dippers was most welcome, as was the farewell salute from a passing golden eagle.

The restaurant was pleasantly peaceful and relaxed (I welcome the lack of imposition of someone else's musical tastes, nor would I presume to impose mine on others). The food was of a high standard with interesting combinations of ingredients (we both had seafood for starter and main). The wine list is interesting and varied, containing both some old favourites of mine and some welcome new faces, with prices not extortionate for a restaurant of this standard.

The standard of cooking continued into breakfast, if the eggs Bendict or eggs royalé we had are anything to go by.

We would most definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooks the burn and has a small balcony, which we thoroughly enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenLinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    40
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
128
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

A converted tweed mill in Kingussie, a short drive from outdoor action in Cairngorms. A truly impressive restaurant which would please the most discerning urbanite food connoisseur. The tasting menu with the chosen wines was wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerMcElroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
218 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This restaurant with rooms is a former tweed mill just a few minutes walk from the main street and about 15 minutes from the station. I stayed three nights having dinner on two of them. If dinner was the standout, everything else was also of the highest quality, and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. We wanted to get away from city life for a while and just relax. Well I could not have found a better place. Nestled in a small glen next to a river it gives the impression you are miles from anything. And yet you are only a 10 min walk from Kingussie and a range of shops restaurants and pubs. The room (6- a riverside king) was spacious and very well appointed with a large very modern bathroom with walk in shower and bath. The whole place is spotless and testament to a staff that take very good care of the place. The owners are very nice and always happy to help, yet they are unobtrusive and leave you to yourself if you wish. We are a young couple and the place can seem a little too quiet at times. However that is not the worse negative to have! If you want to stay in this area we highly recommend you stay at The Cross.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Cumnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I am tempted not to write this review in case this wonderful place gets too busy. It is a beautiful, peaceful, comfortable restaurant with rooms and what rooms. They are so well decorated and furnished, actually to the standards enjoyed in 5 star hotels. We lay in bed with the window open listening to the burn trickle past and the birds singing. The tasting menu was a delight with goats cheese snow being a new one on me and I've eaten in a lot of places. The tasting menu was available without extra cost on the D,B&B rate which is very generous. They have a chef who is a true professional and who will have a career that will gain him great accolades. A Heavenly Escape and we're going back in May.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside room for atmosphere and there is one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stytamorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had dinner here at the weekend!it was amazing to say the very least! Excellent food, beautiful restaurant and a truly magical experience! The chef is (young chef of the year!!2012) fantastic and the owners are fantastic hosts.Hats off too you all and thank you for a wonderful experience! I will for sure come back and bring some friends!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for three nights in a lovely room overlooking the river.we had the tasting menu each night and it was wonderful and varied from night to night.the little amuse bouche on the wooden board was amazing and delicious all thee taste bits made with

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
20.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
20.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
16.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross at Kingussie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross at Kingussie

Property: The Cross at Kingussie
Address: The Cross Tweedmill Brae Ardbroilach Road, Kingussie PH21 1LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross at Kingussie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary five star restaurant with eight comfortable bedrooms set in a converted tweed mill and situated in 4 acres of riverside grounds within Cairngorm National Park. AA three-rosette award winning dinners feature the highest quality fresh, local, and seasonal produce, all complimented by a 300 bin wine list and around 40 specialist malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cross at Kingussie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Kingussie
The Cross Hotel Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing