We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for exploring the Cairngorms”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spindrift Cottage

Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Private deck overlooking the quiet large tree lined garden and visiting wildlife. Lounge with patio doors opening onto a deck with patio furniture & BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Private deck overlooking the quiet large tree lined garden and visiting wildlife.
Lounge with patio doors opening onto a deck with patio furniture & BBQ
Open plan kitchen with high ceiling and wooden beams
Double bedroom with ensuite
Twin  Room with bathroom
Main bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Table tennis room
Large tree lined garden surrounded by hills
View of the courtyard garden
Driveway up to the cottage
Highland Cattle at the driveway entrance
Ruthven Barracks (adjacent) is floodlit at night
Loch Morlich and the Cairngorms nearby 20 minute drive
Tromie River, just l mile away, paddle or swim
Kingussie 1 mile (14 minutes walk) Kingussie Paths Network
Bird Reserve of Insh Marshes  1 mile
Loch an Eilein 10 miles
Ptarmigan Restaurant Cairngorm Mountain summer and winter
Skiing Cairngorm 30 minutes drive
Mountain Railway at Cairngorm Mountain 30 minute drive
Husky rally every January at Loch Morlich 20 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark D
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect base for exploring the Cairngorms”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Second stay in Spindrift and it won't be the last. Lovely location outside of Kingussie overlooking the Insh Marshes and the ruins of Ruthven barracks. Spindrift has everything and is so warm and cosy for a winter break. Completely soundproof too! Friendly owners are very handy if you need anything but completely unobtrusive if you don't. Welcome wine, home made loaf and marmalade was a really nice touch and delicious too. Great walks and cycling straight from the door or a short drive away. Great bike storage next to the cottage and the owners have single speed bikes you can use if you've not brought your own. Village facilities are spot on for anything you might have forgotten. Aviemore only a short drive away and the ski centre too. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen M
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This is an excellent cottage which has everything that you could need. The children loved the birds and table tennis which they played every night. The free use of the washing machine and products for this and the dishwasher were much appreciated and the wifi invaluable. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Self catering accommodation second to none...!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We've lost count of the number of times we've stayed with Julie & John either at the B&B or in one of their two self catering lets. Every single time it has been exemplory and I cannot state enough how brilliant their hospitality, facilities, location and overall amazing ability to think of everything enables us to have the best ever holiday experience when staying in the Cairngorms. In fact I wish there were a Julie & Johns everywhere we visited :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david h
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

myself and my wife stayed in the spindrift cottage in the first week of september, we hadn't stayed in the highlands before and where looking forward to it, and we certainly weren't disappointed we had a great welcome from the cottage owners and and where given a quick run round as to were every thing was and it was just like home from home right down to the washing machine, we had done a quick shop for the basics before we got there but we didn't need to have done that because all the basics had already been provided right down to a home made loaf of bread and a bottle of wine,every thing was spotlessly clean and we where even given some advice were to visit, overall a great place to stay,would definitely stay again and would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleaness and provided provisions
Liked least: cool wether
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G
Habrough, Immingham United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic cottage, fantastic location.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Spindrift cottage has everything you could possibly want for a weeks holiday. It is equipped with all modern appliances, the decorations and furniture are excellent and it is warm and cosy. Julie provides all bed linen, towels, cloths, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid and washing powder. We were made to feel welcome and the wine, milk, tea, coffee, sugar and home made bread were a lovely surprise.
The location is perfect for exploring The Cairngorm National Park and in particular The Strathspey area. The village of Kingussie is just up the road and has all amenities.
We had an excellent week and can't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy modern feel.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uniq
Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well designed clean cottage. Excellent.”
Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This review concerns Sundowner Cottage, a mirror image of Spindrift Cottage to which it is attached. This is a purpose built holiday cottage, which means that the layout is tailored to the holiday maker's needs. The cottage is immaculate and well equipped, a benefit of having the owners on site and doing the cleaning themselves. Julie and John are very welcoming and attentive to your needs. We felt at home very quickly, and enjoyed the availability of walking routes of all levels in the area, from forest strolls to mountain walks. We cooked all of our own meals and found everything we needed in the kitchen, all of a good quality.

All in all an excellent holiday cottage that we felt very happy with as soon as we walked in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition and layout of the cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacpoy
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, best self catering accomodation we've stayed in!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A warm & friendly welcome from John & Julie. Accomodation immaculately clean with comfortable quality furniture. A patio with garden furniture meant a comfortable outdoor area for the good weather.
Gardens are well kept with bird feeders so enjoyed watching a large variety of birds from comfort of cottage. John also has bird boxes with cameras relayed to TV. We loved watching babies being fed and whilst we were there all chicks fledged. Fabulous.
Easy access to Aviemore, Cairngorms and Loch Garten where we saw Osprey chicks at RSPB site.
Wonderful week. Will definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing